We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Rapids Lodge

Save Saved
You added Salmon Rapids Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salmon Rapids Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 South Main Street, Riggins, ID 83549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Checked in and was upgraded to corner suite!! A prime suite with separate bedroom ,living room ,and full kitchen. Views from every room to the Salmon River were lovely. Cookies and drinks in lobby. Breakfast was outstanding. Wish we could come again soon.

Room Tip: Join best western rewards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
59
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise,OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Heard this was a beautiful hotel so drove 180 miles one way,out of our way,to get there.We asked for a lower room with a patio so we could see the river from our room.We got the lower room but could barely see the river if we stretched our necks over all the bushes in front of the patio.But the biggest problem were the bugs.There were knats everywhere.We were told,by a card left in the room,to not use the screen door only when opening the doors to go our to the patio.We kept the glass door closed all the time except for the couple of times we went out on the patio.We couldnt stay out there due to the bugs.
But the worst was to come.We had 2 queen beds and when my husband pulled back his covers to get in bed that night,the sheets were covered with knats.We tried to brush them off but that did no good.I tthe front desk and they suggested changing the sheets which might have worked if not for the bugs flying in our hair and on the furniture also.
We shared the other bed and were woken up a couple of times during the night,because there were knats on our face.
The manager gave us $10 off the room the nest morning and explained there was nothing they can too about the knats as they are there for a couple of months at the end of the summer.I suggested cutting back the bushes in front of the patio not only to open the view but might help get rid of some of the bugs that were swarming the bushed.She said that would not work and I also suggested putting in lower watt lights over the hot tub which is only a few feet from patio.The bugs were loving those lights!
So the 360 mile round trip was a disppointment and probably will not be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A great place to stay in the middle of nowhere overlooking the confluence of two rivers. We paid the big bucks for a room with a river view. Well worth it. Fridge, wi-fi. Microwave in common room. Comfortable firm bed. Milk and cookies at 8pm. Ample breakfast in the morning--try the coffee cake. Hiking trail info will be found at rangers 1.2 miles south on right. Warning: avoid the month of June when bugs hatch.

Room Tip: The best River Views are from odd #s 219 and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. We did not stay on the river because it was an overnight, but would have if we had stayed longer. Wonderful lodge decor and feeling . Awesome, friendly staff, Beautiful patio overlooking the river. Warm cookies in the evening, what more could you ask for. Oh, great breakfast in the morning too.

Room Tip: Stay on the River side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for a 50th class reunion on September 14/15, 2012. With a river view room, we could see the picturesque old sawmill across the river, once the lifeblood of Riggins. No longer in operation it is still beautiful and adds ambiance. The hotel has an inviting lobby with a two story stone fireplace and comfortable chairs for gathering with friends. Add a variety of fresh-baked cookies from the hotel staff and what more could you ask for? Large rooms that are very clean are a given. The Staff is very friendly and ready to help with your needs. We have stayed here before and will again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Riggins pop less than 1000. Best Western worth every cent. Nice place in great location. Beautiful and reasonably priced, Nice restaurants within walking distance. Close to jet boats and white water rafting

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Rachel and the entire staff at the lodge were more than accomodating. They truly went above and beyond! The rooms were clean, large, comforatble and completely updated. The view and surrounding areas were breathtaking! I WILL stay here again and recommend the lodge to everyone I know.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salmon Rapids Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Rapids Lodge

Address: 1010 South Main Street, Riggins, ID 83549
Location: United States > Idaho > Riggins
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salmon Rapids Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay on the confluence of the majestic Salmon River’s at Salmon Rapids Lodge! You will feel right at home with all of our guestroom amenities including coffee maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, ironing board set, and flat screen television with premium satellite channels and ultra clean remote, upgraded bedding and new pillow top mattresses. Fresh baked cookies and ice cold milk will complete every evening during your stay! Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is available in your guestroom and throughout the lodge. Enjoy our large indoor pool, outdoor hot tub, exercise room, and gift shop at Salmon Rapids Lodge. Our Deluxe Continental Breakfast is included with your stay and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. Pets allowed for a small fee based on pet-friendly room availability. Contact our Group Coordinator for corporate retreat inquiries, on-site catering, wedding venue availability, and adventure vacation package specials. AAA – 3 Diamond hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Salmon Rapids Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Salmon Rapids Hotel Riggins
Best Western Riggins
Riggins Best Western
Salmon Rapids Lodge Riggins, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Rapids Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.