We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: Unhelpful staff and bathroom really in bedroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Rexburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Rexburg to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Rexburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 South Yellowstone Hwy, Rexburg, ID 83440   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rexburg
Highland, Utah, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warning: Unhelpful staff and bathroom really in bedroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed at other Marriott properties, so felt safe in booking this hotel. Upon arriving we had booked two rooms for 5 individuals. Two dads with two daughters and one son. The staff didn't say anything to us upon arrival about our rooms only being one king bed per room even though all five of us where standing in front of them. When we noticed the error we inquired about changing and they mentioned they had one room with two beds but could not change our reservation since we booked through a outside website, we needing need to call the website to make the change. The staff was RUDE and unhelpful! This is the first time I have ever encountered this and I stay in allot of hotels for business and family travel.

Now for the bathroom: The bathroom almost sits inside the bedroom, and anytime anyone goes the bathroom and someone else is in the room, then can hear you doing all your business. ( I recommend turning on the TV - this is hard to do in the middle of the night and early morning hours)

Hotel was clean, the breakfast was average, the policy or staff/ manager needs to be changed!

Room Tip: Make sure when booking you book the exact room needed, because staff will not make any changes to ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    53
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
75
30
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First the positive aspects: Every staff person I encountered was professional, courteous, friendly and helpful. The staff is a huge plus and almost enough to overcome the other and varied disappointments we experienced. The property is fairly new and the entry area makes a nice impression; very modern and sleek. The King Suite in which we stayed was generally spacious, though a bit oddly configured. More on this later. The Marriott is located just off highway 20 for easy access to Idaho Falls. It's a short drive up to the BYU Idaho campus in Rexburg. The room was quiet and seemed very well insulated. The ice maker is across from the room in which we stayed and we could not hear it inside our room. The room had a refrigerator and microwave, which we always appreciate. The King bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was fine and fairly typical of free hotel breakfasts, except for the fact that, on the two mornings we were there at least, there was little if any fruit available. One morning we were told the coffee maker was broken and no coffee was available. No big deal, but a bit of surprise and inconvenience.

Now for the challenges: Starting with room configuration, the closet door is obstructed by the bed table. To get into the closet, one needs to move the table to the other side of the room. We were told the King Suites do not have luggage valets and Housekeeping seemed unable or disinclined to provide us with one. Luggage, therefore, sits on a slatted frame on top of the a/c unit, obstructing the air flow. It was 90+ degrees during the days of our visit, This is a poor design, particularly given that the facility is only 3 years old. The closet is far too small to stow two medium size suitcases. I can't help but wonder if the engineer, designer or architect was trying something new or different. It didn't work.

Perhaps the greatest disappointment was that, upon arriving in our room (101), we found carpet stains from one end of the floor to the next. I can only describe the number of stains as many, not few. I called the front desk and someone from housekeeping came immediately to clean the carpets. The young man that came was prompt, cheerful and did a great job. When he was done all the stains were gone.

Later that evening I got out an extra blanket to use and found a large stain on it. It looked pretty gross to be honest. This added to the stained carpet and some dusty fixtures (the top of the mini frig had a thick layer of dust) made us somewhat concerned about the overall cleanliness of the room. Given our room rate ($169 per night w/o tax), I think it's fair to expect closer attention to this most important detail.

Our first evening we went out to patio with the idea of sitting around the fire pit with some friends also staying at the hotel. It got pretty chilly both nights we were there and we would definitely have taken advantage of this amenity had it been operational. We were told by a staff member that the fire pit hadn't worked as long as she had been there. This was a minor, though added, disappointment.

Overall, I would recommend this property to someone going to, or around, Rexburg who wants/needs to stay close by. I will most likely look at other properties next time and take a pass on staying at the Spring Hill Suites in Rexburg. Though all the issues were minor, and perhaps even out-of-the ordinary (it's possible that our experience was not typical, as I hope is the case), cumulatively the disappointments outweigh the pluses for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here on our way to Yellowstone. Our room was roomy and the beds were very comfortable. The linen and towels were soft and fluffy. There was a large closet and the toilet/sink were separated from the tub/shower. The water is soft, wasn't use to the soapy feeling when rinsing off. There was a small double sleeper sofa, mini fridge and microwave. My turn off was the long red hair I found on the shower wall, the reddish colored build-up on the clear shower curtain and the crusty pink splotches on the extra linen packed away in the closet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The beds are comfy. The most expensive room rates in Rexburg ID for a regular room. There were ants in the room and no coffee available in the lobby. Breakfast is available but food selections ran low. Not a bad choice but there are better choices available in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on our way to Yellowstone. It was clean and quiet. The air conditioner will not make the room cold if you are hot natured but I was very comfortable. Breakfast is included and is pretty good (regular hotel buffet style). The staff was friendly and efficient. I recommend this hotel mostly for couples but a family can stay with a little extra effort as the couch must be used as a foldout bed. There was a sink/shower room and a sink/toilet room which were separate and could be closed by a sliding door to the sitting area and sleeping area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms. Decent continental breakfast. Loved the toilet and sink in a desperate room from the shower and sink. Nice work desk. Large rooms with WiFi and frige. Would recommend to others. Only downside is the noisy ac/heater unit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Full Time Business Traveler: The Springhill in Rexburg is the standard Springhill building. Nicely maintained grounds, sufficient parking, lobby is nicely maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are standard Springhill layouts. All amenities were in good condition, no visible signs of wear in the room, room was a bit 'roomier' than the standard Springhill. The TV had the mid level number of channels available but there was a good overall selection. It has the standard separate rooms for the shower/vanity and the toilet. Water pressure for the shower was decent. Internet connection was decent.
If you have stayed at a Springhill Suites before and like the layout and offerings of this brand, you will be very happy with the Rexburg location. I recommend this location as comfortable and very satisfactory.
Side note, I'm a Platinum member of Marriott Rewards. Normally I am allowed a late checkout without hesitation. This location could not allow it due to how housekeeping works. This isn't something that I consider a negative as a late checkout is a luxury afforded me on a per case basis. But if you are in need of a late checkout I would call well prior to arrival to request this.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Rexburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Rexburg

Address: 1177 South Yellowstone Hwy, Rexburg, ID 83440
Location: United States > Idaho > Rexburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rexburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Rexburg 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, where you have the space you need to get things done or unwind and just be comfortable. Our stylish and smartly designed suites are 25 percent larger than a comparably priced hotel room, giving you room to succeed. Let us show you why we're the best in the business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Rexburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Rexburg Hotel Rexburg
SpringHill Suites By Marriott Rexburg Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Rexburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.