We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds, pleasant surroundings, a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River to your Saves list
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 East First Avenue, Post Falls, ID 83854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
sask.canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, pleasant surroundings, a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Our experience at this accom was pleasant and comfortable. We were here in high season (August). Staff were good at front desk in locating a fridge for our room on our first visit, and moving us to a room with a fridge on our second visit. We booked the
rooms several months in advance and were a little perturbed that the room we requested did not have the fridge. On both occassions the rooms were riverview and were tastefully decorated. The beds were so comfortable and the pillows were great. Our first room was a walk out balcony which was small but a very nice view of the spokane river. The other room was ground level and the balcony was a walk out with a lovely view of the river. We preferred the balcony on the ground level however this particular room smelled of smoke. The whole ground level did smell of smoke . We did request a smoke free room. But for two nites we endured. The complimentary Bath and Body soaps, etc was an excellent touch. Then again I happend to like their products. The location is good that it is in a quiet residential area and a nice walk down to the river and recreation area. The grounds are pleasant and open for walking and kids to play. Not a large concrete paved slab! Easy access to freeway, a good location for shopping, restaurants, recreation, etc. Did not frequent the exercise room, restaurant. Overall we would stay again. The staff members we really appreciated were Rhonda (Booking), and Tammy as we had a little extra charge on the bill which got corrected by her (she is in catering,etc, but made time to help Us).

  • Liked — Location and comfortable beds.
  • Disliked — The smoke odor on ground level
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    89
    49
    22
    18
See reviews for
97
58
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

This hotel is located just off of the freeway, easy access to shopping either in Idaho or Washington. It is situated right on the river and you can rent a boat from the hotel. The rooms are "Renovated" Some new stuff and some very old stuff. Our room smelled very bad and the housekeeping staff was very slow and lacking in their cleaning skills. We asked for a cot for our son and were told to throw blankets on the floor. Our room faced the parking lot and had a door to the outside. I proved to be very noisy as people were parking right outside of the window and arming car alarms at all hours. The air conditioner was very loud. And yes the TV is small as I read in all the other reviews. Will I stay there again? Probably not. Definately would not pay more than what I bid for it on Priceline.

  • Liked — The River beside the hotel
  • Disliked — Too many to list
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

The Red Lion Templins Hotel was a very nice experience. We booked on the Pet Friendly Hotels website because we were travelling with our Yellow Lab. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to see the extensive grounds that surround this hotel. Lots of room to throw the ball and have a run. The other side of the hotel faces the river and that was great too, since our dog is a water dog. The room was very comfortable and had been recently renovated. The beds were so soft they almost swallowed us up. It was great! We would have liked a small fridge in our room, but they are not available. We did have one of those coolers that you can plug in, and that made it good for storing the dog food and other things that needed to stay cool.

We had our breakfast at the Mallard Restaurant and watched the riverboat cruising and also some fishermen catching their day's supper.

The staff was efficient and friendly. Even though we signed an agreement to pay $20 for the dog, they did not charge us for her stay.

I would recommend this little gem and would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

We just returned from a stay at the Red Lion and would definately stay there again! We were planning a trip to Silverwood and after trying to find an affordable hotel room and finding that the area is a bit expensive, I decided to try priceline. So, I didn't pick the Red Lion and wasn't sure what we were in for. We arrived late,
around 10:30 pm and checkin was slow. There was only one person at the desk and she was desperately trying to help a guest who was having trouble with the movie in thier room. When we finally did get checked in she said that they either had a second floor room or a room with a door to the parking lot (it also has an interior
room). We took the ground level room and the outside door proved to be very handy! With four suitcases and two very tired children, it would have taken us an hour to get everything and everyone up to the second floor. Once we are in the room we are pleasantly suprised at how clean and nice the room is. Nice furniture, granite and tile bath, big fluffy towels. Then we turned in, ahhh the comfort! The beds were SO comfortable! The best on our whole trip! The night was quiet and peaceful, no room noise or hallway noise. I don't see how it could have been any better.

  • Liked — The rooms were beautifully decorated and the beds were SO comfortable!
  • Disliked — The tv is very small and the room size is average. It could be closer to restaurants/shops.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use Priceline, we saved $40 off of the internet rate.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

We checked in 15 minutes early and the room wasn't ready, but the front desk clerk was not very accomodating, asking us to leave and come back later, rather than waiting in the lobby. The maid was obviously in a hurry as there was used dental floss in the garbage can, a wet washcloth left in the bathroom and hair in the bathtub upon arrival. The beds were not made properly after the first night.

The physical accomodations were above average for the area despite a very small TV.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

My parents and I stayed here last summer. We got an old room that had not been renovated. It was the filthiest room I've ever seen. The carpets were so stained and dirty that we didn't even want to walk on them barefoot. The room hadn't been cleaned very well, either.

I was having trouble with the internet, so I called the front desk. They had no idea what to do but said they'd "work on it." I waited and waited, and nothing happened, and the front desk people didn't call to let me know what was going on. So I finally used my cell phone to make a long-distance call to the WiFi's tech support and fixed the situation (the internet hadn't been working, but the 3rd party provider hadn't realized it). Problem solved, at MY expense instead of at the hotel's.

Suddenly a man barged into our (locked) room. Turns out he was a maintenance man who had a key, and the front desk had told him we had some sort of phone problem, but he didn't even knock--he just entered. The front desk didn't bother to call to tell us he was coming. It was late at night and we were almost asleep. Scary!

I hear that they've cleaned up the place and gotten rid of the icky carpet, but they never should have rented out those dirty rooms. It shows a real lack of integrity to rent a dirty room at the same price as a renovated room. As a single traveler, I'd never risk staying here and having someone barge in. Just too scary.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

The Red Lion Templins in Post Falls is NOT a resort and should not be classified as such. Their main clientele are conventioneers. Scattered in between this noisy crowd, vacationers try to relax (ha!) while listening to loud conversations, drunken arguments, and people coughing through paper thin walls. We stayed for a week this June in a river view room, for which we paid a premium. Only a very few rooms have refrigerators and we were told these were reserved for corporate travelers. The staff were courteous and friendly but could not make up for the constant slamming of room doors, loud conversations in the hallway (many on cell phones) and obnoxious conventioneers from Buck Knife who sabotaged our vacation with their obscene language, rude behavior and the constant banging of doors into the wee hours. We reported this to the front desk but nothing was done about this rude behavior. A cell phone policy is called for - in hallways and the restaurant. The indoor pool is pathetic; the room is unventilated with a stifling smell of chlorine, making a relaxing daily swim impossible. The Red Lion Templins should stick to the convention business entirely because vacationers will come away disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Address: 414 East First Avenue, Post Falls, ID 83854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Post Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Templin's Hotel on the River is located directly on the Spokane River is nestled among the majestic mountains surrounding the quaint city of Post Falls, Idaho. Our hotel is a short 10 minute drive from Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. Our 163 guest rooms and suites feature king or queen beds and all the comforts of home including Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers, irons and hairdryers. Resort amenities include a fitness center and indoor pool, tennis and volleyball courts, a private beach and unlimited mountain and river views. For full service dining with unsurpassed river views guests can enjoy sumptuous breakfast, lunch and dinner choices. Our guests can also choose the new signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet served daily at Mallards Restaurant. Mallards Lounge features flat screen viewing for your favorite sports or entertainment. Templin's Marina thrives as a scenic and exciting community with an identity tied to boats. 176 Covered boat slips lay just feet from Templin's River Grill. Enjoy live music and a huckleberry barbeque buffet every Thursday evening 5:00 - 9:00 P.M. June through Labor Day. Cruise the Spokane River on a pontoon boat available for rent by the hour, half day or full day at our full-service marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Templin`s Hotel Post Falls
Red Lion Templins Hotel
Red Lion Post Falls
Post Falls Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.