We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a gorgeous view...just a little pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River to your Saves list
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 East First Avenue, Post Falls, ID 83854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Oregon City, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a gorgeous view...just a little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and had no complaints except for the $125/night price that was a wedding rate. It was clean comfortable and the onsite lounge was really nice. Overall I would recommend to shop around but would recommend for those willing to spend a little more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are very excited you enjoyed you visit with us! Thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    89
    49
    22
    18
See reviews for
97
58
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calif
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went to this Red Lion because of a professional seminar; normally, I would not stay in tiny Post Falls. However, it was an easy drive from Spokane Airport, is located on the scenic Spokane River, and the rooms have been recently renovated. In addition, every single staff person I encountered was friendly and helpful, particularly Kaila, who helped me change rooms because of some noisy neighbors.
In recent years, I have stayed at some fine hotels, yet I thought their rooms were quite nice, with a comfortable bed, attractive decor and a large clean bathroom.
The seminar room had a lovely view of the river (unusual, in my experience), and was well stocked with coffee and snacks.
I had several dinner items in Mallards Restaurant, as well as the breakfast buffet; both were very good and reasonably priced. I believe there are also plans to refresh the decor of Mallards.

Room Tip: Serendipidous, depending on how considerate-or not-your neighbors are,, because of the thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The reviews are correct in saying this place is tired. It really is. On the outside anyway. Not so bad inside.
My wife and I arrived late In the afternoon. Lobby was fine. Looked newer than the hotel. Check in staff were very nice and helpful. When we walked into our room we were very pleased. We had a room with a river view. Good choice. The room was fresh, clean, and adequate in size. Bed was comfortable and the linens were not thread bare. Bathroom was fine. The AC worked quite well. You could hear people walking in the hall above us. Sign of the time and way it was built.
This is a big property. The view of the river is unique. Just too bad the outside is so run down.
We ate breakfast in the dinning room. Comfortable, decent food, and very good staff attention.
We would stay there again.
For dinner we went to the White House. About 5 blocks away. Highly recommend it. Mediterranean. Lots of garlic. A must go to restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. We value our guests opinion and are working to make improvements to our hotel. Guest service is our #1 priority and we are happy to hear we did not let you down on this. We appreciate you choosing Red Lion and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Comfortable beds, and clean rooms. Nice river view. Pool could have been in better condition, and hot tub foamed up so bad you couldn't sit in it. very nice lounge to relax in, and Jeff is a awesome bartender.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I were travelling to Idaho to go to SIlverwood Amusement park and booked this hotel sight un seen. At first glance I wasn't sure, even told my husband we should try something else before booking in. The outside wasn't that special - Well I am SO GLAD I stayed.

We paid the extra $9 a night to be upgraded to a waterfront view - Well worth it!
The rooms and hotel were very clean!
The restaurant was amazing - great food for great prices, breakfast buffet was well worht the money $9.95 for adults (kids eat FREE) and the veiw was absolutely stunning.

What was even better was that this hotel had a private beach on the river with boat rentals on site as well as bar and snack shack. It also had horseshoes and a volley ball court. The river and beach were the best part - also the river was 84-86 degrees and the beach was perfect!!

I will continue to come back to this hotel every year we come!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had another great stay. I have stayed at five red lions now and love them all. This one was no exception. Kate at the front desk was very helpful. The roaring start at this red lion was the best we have had yet as we were able to order off the menu. We had French toast and a spicy skillet and they were fantastic! Would definitely recommend the breakfast as this red lion!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and that our breakfast topped it all. Please come back and visit us soon. We appreciate you and your time to provide such great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Where to begin? When we first checked in, we had to switch rooms right away. Dirty kleenex in the sheets and on the floor. The second room was ok. Still had garbage under the beds. The fan in the bathroom was broken so smoke alarm went off when someone would shower. The toilet looked like it had never been cleaned. Never will stay there again. Blah!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay. I apologize for the issues you had, as that is not what we expect our guest experience to be. I would also like to apologize for the condition of your room and that you were moved to a different room.
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will most certainly look into your issue with our housekeeping department. We look forward to providing you excellent service as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Address: 414 East First Avenue, Post Falls, ID 83854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Post Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Templin's Hotel on the River is located directly on the Spokane River is nestled among the majestic mountains surrounding the quaint city of Post Falls, Idaho. Our hotel is a short 10 minute drive from Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. Our 163 guest rooms and suites feature king or queen beds and all the comforts of home including Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers, irons and hairdryers. Resort amenities include a fitness center and indoor pool, tennis and volleyball courts, a private beach and unlimited mountain and river views. For full service dining with unsurpassed river views guests can enjoy sumptuous breakfast, lunch and dinner choices. Our guests can also choose the new signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet served daily at Mallards Restaurant. Mallards Lounge features flat screen viewing for your favorite sports or entertainment. Templin's Marina thrives as a scenic and exciting community with an identity tied to boats. 176 Covered boat slips lay just feet from Templin's River Grill. Enjoy live music and a huckleberry barbeque buffet every Thursday evening 5:00 - 9:00 P.M. June through Labor Day. Cruise the Spokane River on a pontoon boat available for rent by the hour, half day or full day at our full-service marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Templin`s Hotel Post Falls
Red Lion Templins Hotel
Red Lion Post Falls
Post Falls Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.