We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep but don't eat” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 East First Avenue, Post Falls, ID 83854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Montana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sleep but don't eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were seeking a pet-friendly place to stay. We needed 3 rooms. People were friendly & the rooms were spacious and very nice. We had riverfront rooms. We were also attracted by their promise of a free breakfast in their restaurant. Problem #1: All 5 of us decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. It was terrible! All the dinners were incredibly bad. (How difficult is it to cook steaks medium-rare?) Without exception they were all overcooked and cold. Even the baked potatoes were ice cold. Problem #2: We discovered that our room was $20 more expensive than the other 2 rooms of our other family members. All 3 rooms were adjacent to each other & identical. When we inquired about this at checkout, we were told the extra charge was because we had signed-up for the "free" breakfast. When we told the front desk about the incredibly bad dinner we had in their restaurant, thus had decided to eat breakfast somewhere else, they did not express surprise and did not refund our extra room charge. Problem #3: No AAA or AARP discount.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    45
    22
    18
See reviews for
93
55
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Idaho
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Ended up here after bidding on a hotel room for the holiay weekend. I used to live in the area, but I had never stayed at this hotel before.

The front desk person was very friendly and fast. Explained everything to me that I needed to know when I got there. From exactly where my room is, how to use the outer door, and even the price of breakfast in the hotel if I chose to eat there.

The hotel rooms were accessed from the inside of the hotel for all of the rooms. But if you were on the main floor and you ended up with a parking lot view instead of a river view, you also had a private door that lead from your room to the parking lot. So you could park your car in front of your room and walk right in.

The room was very clean and the decor' was elegant. The toiletries are Bath and Body Works so you can't get much better there (at least in my opinion). The pool was tucked away in the basement so that everyone and their dog wasn't walking past looking in and it overlooked the river. Very relaxing.

The only complaint that I might have is that the pillows were too soft, but that is personal preference. It was balanced out by the wonderfully deep bathtub.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days. The staff was great. Very helpful. After a long 8 hour drive, we got in after 11pm and was welcomed by a friendly female front desk girl. She went above and beyond helping us. My husband is in a wheel chair and we are seniors. She gave us a room close to the lobby and offered help with our luggage. Never have we been treated so well and we travel quite often by car due to my husband's handicap.
We got a room with a view. Very breath taking. Our mattresses were very comfortable. Had the best sleep every night.
We highly recommend the restaurant. The food was excellent along with the service. Apple onion soup is a must have.
Wil be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Rooms were clean and pleasant, front desk staff was quite helpful. We booked through one of the blind bidding sites and got two rooms for less than any other site wanted for a single room. We were disappointed there wasn't a free breakfast but the server comped our 4 teenagers' buffets as we were hotel guests, so breakfast was quite reasonable. We were glad to find such a nice property at a reasonable price within a short drive of Silverwood Theme Park.

Room Tip: If you book through a third party site, call ahead to ensure you have the layout you need... we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Clean hotel, clean room. We had a basic king room. Easy access to parking lot.

Pool area is very nice, large whirlpool/hottub, pool is good size.

Lounge is large and relaxing.

No continental breakfast. You pay for breakfast in restraunt, the buffet looked a little chaotic with lots of people, I ordered the oatmeal which was good. Good service.

Make sure to walk down the path to the marina, keep walking past the marina to your own private beach. No one was there except for us, a hidden gem. Very beautiful area.

Wonderful stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Ask for patio room not a deck as the decks are tiny. A short distance to Couer D'Alene (7 minutes). Rooms are fine for the price and the one we had overlooked the River. Worth a few extra dollars to have the view and the patio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we were going to Silverwood Theme Park. It was about 40 minutes from the theme park, which wasn't bad. They offered a good hotel/theme park package for us. The hotel and location is really nice and close to a lot of food options. The pool area and pool are good size, but it was really hot in there. The breakfast was yummy - yogurt, cereal with milk, pastries, breads, pancakes, eggs, sausage, potatoes, coffee, juice. The rooms were good size and the bathroom was roomy and had a huge/deep bathtub. The small problems we had while staying is they didn't dump our garbage for two days, didn't replenish our coffee and didn't really "clean" the bathroom or room. Other than that it was good and I would stay again.

Room Tip: If going to Silverwood ask about package room/park deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Address: 414 East First Avenue, Post Falls, ID 83854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Post Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Templin's Hotel on the River is located directly on the Spokane River is nestled among the majestic mountains surrounding the quaint city of Post Falls, Idaho. Our hotel is a short 10 minute drive from Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. Our 163 guest rooms and suites feature king or queen beds and all the comforts of home including Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers, irons and hairdryers. Resort amenities include a fitness center and indoor pool, tennis and volleyball courts, a private beach and unlimited mountain and river views. For full service dining with unsurpassed river views guests can enjoy sumptuous breakfast, lunch and dinner choices. Our guests can also choose the new signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet served daily at Mallards Restaurant. Mallards Lounge features flat screen viewing for your favorite sports or entertainment. Templin's Marina thrives as a scenic and exciting community with an identity tied to boats. 176 Covered boat slips lay just feet from Templin's River Grill. Enjoy live music and a huckleberry barbeque buffet every Thursday evening 5:00 - 9:00 P.M. June through Labor Day. Cruise the Spokane River on a pontoon boat available for rent by the hour, half day or full day at our full-service marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Templin`s Hotel Post Falls
Red Lion Templins Hotel
Red Lion Post Falls
Post Falls Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;