We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1399 Bench Road, Pocatello, ID 83201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Pocatello)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Pocatello
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tired traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Rooms were clean and cool in the heat. Beds had a down mattress topper and were very comfortable. There is also good restaurant in-house for convenience. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and the prices are competitive.

Room Tip: Stay away from the freeway side as I think the noise could be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionInnPocatello, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our property. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please remember us next time you are in Pocatello! We would love to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    31
    24
    17
See reviews for
49
35
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Beautiful Hotel, Clean Room, Great Internet, Restaurant and Bar on site, Indoor Pool and Spa. Coffee in room.
No Frig or Micro...TV with great Cable listings.
My partner has some issues with walking and needed a room near the Bar and parking...No Problem with request.
No Free Breakfast but does have a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionInnPocatello, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our property. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Next time you stay, ask the Front Desk to have a fridge and microwave delivered to your room free of charge. They are both available upon request. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HENDERSON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

While this hotel offers a nice restaurant, giant swimming area, and comfortable rooms, don't plan on doing much work on the internet. The signals they say are all over, but very, very weak.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionInnPocatello, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for the nice review of our property. We will be the first to admit we have had issues in the past with our internet connection. But our guests (like you) spoke and we listened! We are in the process of switching providers and installing all new equipment for a stronger internet connection throughout the entire hotel. Please stay with us again; I can personally guarantee you will have a better experience with our internet. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was a perfect stop on our way to Montana. Nothing fancy but very comfortable and clean. Great value - they let me make a second reservation and honored a rate very close to what I paid on Expedia. They'll get our business again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We used our choice privilege points for this stay. This is a large conference facility and hotel. I requested a bottom floor hotel room because I walk with a cane. They gave us a room on the outside of the hotel that was just steps from our parking space! Nice room that included a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Large bathroom and the shower had great water pressure. Very comfortable king bed with nice bedding. The furnishings may have been a bit outdated, but they were more than comfortable!

Indoor pool was wonderful! Shallow end for the kids and deeper end for adults to enjoy lap swimming. They also had a beautiful waterfall with a metal bear sculpture at one side of the pool, however that entire area could definitely use some renovations. Note - It was very slippery around the pool for both my husband and I! Also in the pool area was a hot tub, sauna and gym. Surrounding the pool on all sides were hotel rooms, which is a nice feature for families and those who plan on getting good use out of those facilities!

Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a large hotel built around a huge indoor pool. The room was pleasant and the bed was comfortable. Our room entrance was on the outside of the building, so we had to walk a little way to get to the inside, the lobby, restaurant and the pool. This would be a problem if we were there in the dead of winter. The pool features a waterfall in one corner (with a bear sculpture). One section was deep and large enough to do laps with plenty of shallower space for children to play. My sister-in-law appreciated the available computer to access the Internet. I enjoyed the free wi-fi in rooms. We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. Only two tables occupied at any one time. Clearly this is not a local choice for taking Mother out for Mother's Day. The food choices were inventive. The execution was mixed. The prices were not the cheapest I've seen but were not overpriced as far as I could see for the quantity. Service in the restaurant and at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you visit in winter, ask for a room facing the inside for convenient access to pool and restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionInnPocatello, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our property. We are so glad to hear your stay was enjoyable. If you do visit us in the winter, please feel free to request a room on the inside of the hotel facing the pool. We will do our best to accommodate you.

As a side note, our restaurant may have been quiet on Mother's Day due to the fact we host a fantastic Mother's Day brunch in several of our banquet rooms. This year, we served over 250 local guests. Come try it next year; you will be blown away with the food selections and amazing tastes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Booked a night through Priceline for May 31. Called and spoke to Ashley twice prior to our arrival, first to confirm a non smoking King Room and she indicated no problem. I called again to confirm the room request and get the general manager's email address. I emailed Jason with some concerns about various negative comments posted on Tripadvisor and never heard back. Obviously nobody really cares! Upon our arrival, they booked us into a QUEEN ROOM non smoking, in spite of my two wasted telephone calls. We had stayed here a couple of years ago and nothing has really changed. The rooms are dated, relatively clean and service is average. If we would have paid the posted rate for this room, we would have been EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!

Room Tip: Probably want to find another hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionInnPocatello, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for your review of our property. Unfortunately, when you book through Priceline.com, you are guaranteed a room but not necessarily a room type. You did the right thing by calling us direct to request a specific room type. But unfortunately, there are some instances where we are unable to accommodate your request (such as sold out night, or unplanned maintenance issues).

I am terribly sorry to hear you feel our property does not care. We pride ourselves in our customer service and try to treat every guest with the best service possible. On that note, I did not receive an email concerning your stay. My email address is jball2025@ida.net. Please check your records to make sure you were given the correct email. If you have any further comments concerning your stay, please feel free to email me at that address.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Jason Ball
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 1399 Bench Road, Pocatello, ID 83201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Pocatello)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Pocatello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Pocatello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Pocatello
Holiday Inn Pocatello
Pocatello Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.