We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, ants, thread bare sheets, understaffed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Pocatello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Pocatello to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Pocatello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1555 Pocatello Creek Road, Pocatello, ID 83201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Pocatello
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
“Outdated, ants, thread bare sheets, understaffed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights over Thanksgiving holiday. Wished I had stayed at the Marriott , as usual. I'm sure this place has seen better days, but it was a disappointment on so many levels. Staff told us they weren't making money, so that is why housekeeping wasn't available unless you want them to wake you up at the crack of dawn. Then when you saw your newly made made bed the sheetes we're see through. We told them about it and they did it again the next day, the food for breakfast is the same every day and not much variety. My 4 year old granddaughter was the first to see a man passed out on the ground next to my car. He was inebriated and had gashed his head open. We called 911 and notified staff. He stumbled after several tries into the hotel. We found ants in the beds and elsewhere. They need a complete remodel or they should close.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavMalon, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pocatello, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you very much for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear about the difficulty you had in… We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in providing better service. We hope you will be staying with us again so we can prove our ability to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    25
    20
    14
See reviews for
40
25
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise,ID
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Room was dirty. Carpet was nasty, refrigerator was uncleaned and unusable. Hall smelled and was dingy. Charge each guest for breakfast and require you to submit an additional card so they can add a $40 incidental charge that they say will be reimbursed if not used. We'll see...

Dirtest hotel I have ever stayed in for this price range. We were also evacuated by Pocatello PD the morning we were checking out as a "suicidal gunman" was at large...

No apology from the hotel...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavMalon, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pocatello, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the cleanliness in your guest room and we will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Door from parking lot into building was never shut tight. Anyone could enter whether he/she had a room key or not.

Tables in breakfast area needed bussing. I asked the lady working the breakfast if she had more plates. She snapped that she was working on it. When she brought out the plates, she half-apologized by saying that she was the only one working. It was obvious that she did not have enough help to be able to keep the food containers filled, the tables bussed, etc.

We had to shut off the refrigerator in our room as it kept cycling on and off and was very noisy each time it kicked on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyen, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

There was a five dollar charge for breckfast but it was well worth the money. I will definitely stay here again on my way home. We had no issues with the room. Had two queens and they very comfortable to sleep on.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Id
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I were in town to visit our son at ISU. We found Redlion on a search engine. The photos on their website are photos of the actual hotel. Very nice for the price! The king sized bed was very comfortable. Our room was clean and properly stocked. I really liked the pool & hot tub area. We took advantage of the quick start breakfast and it was ok. I'm picky though, so the food may be better to you.
I will recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ths is the best hotel in the area and I have stayed in most off them. The best part of the stay was the lounge/resturant. The girl tending bar was friendly and gave excellent service. I will stay in this hotel everytime I,m in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I almost never write reviews because usually the stay is ok. This time, however, I am going to take my time to write one as this was by far the worst stay ever. I have stayed at one star hotels before and this one, though rated as three star, was way worse than any one star hotel I have ever stayed at. I am attaching a picture of the creature sitting on my pillow as I was getting ready for bed. We called the front desk who told us to come to pick up keys from different hotel room. We suggested they may want to come get rid of this bug while it is sitting on the pillow but they couldn't care less (someone else will get to enjoy his company).
We got offered free breakfast ($12 value) to make up for it. No apology, let alone dropping the charge for the hotel room. The room we switched had missing battery in the remote and wasn't very clean either -- so the poor hotel management is definitely a pattern here. We asked front desk person to have manager call us when he gets to work to sort this out, but have never received a call. I was worried all night long about the bug crawling on me, so I couldn't sleep. Avoid this hotel at all costs. You better off staying at Motel6.

Room Tip: No good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavMalon, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pocatello, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for your guest room situation and lack of follow through regarding it. It is always our intent to respond immediately to guest issues and I am sorry that we failed to do so. This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have. Again, thank you for addressing these concerns and I hope we have to opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Pocatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Pocatello

Address: 1555 Pocatello Creek Road, Pocatello, ID 83201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Pocatello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Pocatello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Pocatello 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Pocatello is conveniently located in the heart of Pocatello, Southeast Idaho's regional center for shopping, education, medical care and cultural activities. Golf, water sports, skiing, snowmobiling, casino gambling and bingo are just some of the activities to enjoy while in the area.Our 150 guest rooms and suites feature Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports, in-room coffee makers and hairdryers. Executive king rooms also feature microwaves and refrigerators. On-site you will also find an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center as well as the Pocatello Lounge, serving dinner. We now offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. Complimentary parking and airport transportation are provided.Southeastern Idaho's largest full-service convention hotel, the Red Lion Hotel Pocatello is also the perfect location for your next conference or special occasion. Our 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space can accommodate up to 1,000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Pocatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Pocatello
Pocatello Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Pocatello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.