We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumisu

Sumisu
309 E. Center, Pocatello, ID 83201
+1 208-232-5610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 135 Restaurants in Pocatello
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very good food. A very different kind of restaurant in Pocatello.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The food is good and they have lots of options. The service is good and the owner is very nice. The restaurant has recently expanding and has lots more room. If you like sushi check this place out.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pocatello
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“exclente japanese food! sumisu!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Hi, my wife and I decided to go back to Sumisu to try it out because we weren't happy with happy family sushi restaurant. So we went there hoping that they wouldn't make the same mistakes as the other Japanese restaurant did which was over greased tempura, cold food, inattentive waiters and so forth. So when we got there they seated us and recommended to try their sea food bisque which i recommend any body to eat it though it is spicy! they have great bento boxes we had the teriyaki shrimp with rice, and California roll and spicy tuna roll which was great they had wonderful tempura which in all of it was warm and ready to eat. There was a very tranquil feel there and had a unique look in their restaurant. so if anybody wants to try them i would recommended that you go there and give them a chance.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

The sushi here is better than most I've had in bigger cities. There are no crab wontons anywhere that even compare. Pocatello is very lucky.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I recently had dinner with my family at Sumisu and I really enjoyed myself. I had been there before it expanded and it was very crowded and service was not very attentive. So I decided to give it a second try after they expanded and it was absolutely amazing. My son really enjoys the Godzilla and is constantly asking to eat there. The service has really come a long way. The hostess was very prompt to seat us as soon as she could (they were very busy). The server was very attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu items. It was well worth the wait. One more thing I must mention are the bento boxes that they serve at lunch, you choose the meat you would like and then you get several more items with it for 7.50. What a deal!!! I would suggest SUMISU to anyone and everyone who loves great sushi. Even if you don't like sushi they have other fabulous items on the menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumisu also viewed

 

Been to Sumisu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumisu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.