We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

The Wharf Inn
Wharf Road, Fenny Compton CV47 2FE, England
+44 1295 770332
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Wharf Inn gives a free main meal to birthday celebrants on production of Photo ID before the meal.

We found the deal on their website and thought it was a good idea. Our son fancied a steak and we decided to join him. Three 8oz rump steaks were ordered. "How do you like them cooked?" I was asked. "Are they good steaks?" I asked. "Very Good!" came the reply. "Then 'rare'", I said.

The steaks were so thin that they would defy any chef the ability to cook them 'rare' on a hot grill. Flavour was not bad but they were 'medium' at best. At least, one was free.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    38
    10
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went to The Wharf a year ago on a Saturday lunchtime and had a wonderful meal and great service. Oh how things change.... . I went with my 74 year old mum for lunch today and the prices have doubled (most main courses £7.99 or more). That wasn't the reason, however, that we walked out in disgust, within 5 minutes of sitting down. The person who served us behind the bar was all your worst customer service nightmares in one. I'm guessing she's the Manager/Owner/Landlady. She's in her 60s and had to drag herself away from her crossword to serve us. When I asked for 2 blackcurrant and sodas, she grunted "£3.00". I said "seriously? £1.50 each? 2 small cordials?? She shrugged and tutted and walked away whilst I was still talking, rolling her eyes at a customer sitting at the bar. Needless to say we won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Top Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely place lovely people, the reception was very welcoming the food in this case a nachos loaded sharer just delicious and just good value price served so quickly, lovely beer, and just for me the icing on the cake this pub provides regular live music, it also provides valuable service to the canal boating community, seems to have an outdoor area and indoor function room also, really happy with this place will go again particularly for the live music

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a fantastic meal of home grown pork The food was great the service fast and freindly and whole attitude is right In this pub we are not a number The pudding was super too

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An ideal canal side inn for food and drink, indoors in winter and a goodly sized canal side garden in the summer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Good no nonsense food for a sensible price. Excellent selection of real
Ale. Good alcoves suitable for large parties who want a bit of isolation.

There's also a small but well stocked shop, hairdresser and a very interesting selection of herbs, spices and tasty snacks for sale.

Live music in a Friday night so not a good night for a cosy Tete-a-Tete!

Good sized garden in the summer next to the canal so take baby reins for toddlers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Inn also viewed

Fenny Compton, Warwickshire
 
Napton-on-the-Hill, Warwickshire
Napton-on-the-Hill, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.