We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Not Like Kingsville” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsville Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lower Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsville Apartments
Save
You added Kingsville Apartments to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 41 BQ, Lower Bay, Bequia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Allentown, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did Not Like Kingsville”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I can't believe the previous reviews on this place. First of all, the place is old. Although it was clean, it was not free of bugs!!! I know it's an island, but I don't expect bugs crawling on the wall at night and falling on my head while I sleep. The sink broke the first day and it was so bad they had to move us to another apartment. The one maid was stingy on the towels. The owner of the apartments was not very nice. If you are looking for a one/two star place, this is it. I felt it was not worth the money.
The only nice thing I can say is that the beach is right across the street and is beautiful and secluded. I would not recommend this place to a friend or fellow traveler.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Owner was rude
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Bequia is a very special place. It was likely the time of year, but we were amazed at the lack of fellow tourists. Many days we had Lower Bay completely to ourselves, and it's a fantastic beach with fine sand, azure waters, and an excellent snorkling reef right from the beach. Kay King runs a very professional business at Kingsville and we were quite pleased with the cleanliness and upkeep of the cabins, and it is truly only a minute walk to the beach or less. Lower Bay also has a couple of great value and friendly restaurants - Da Reef and "Can't remember the name", right beside Kingsville. Friendship Rose trip to the Cays was a long haul but worth it for the gorgeous scenery at the Cays. St. Vincent was a worthwhile day trip as well - make sure you get Franklin as a guide (he is hired on demand by Richmond Vale) to take you to Trinity Falls - tough up and down hike but the lush rainforest surroundings, Franklin's warm company, and the truly beautiful falls are worth it. Back to Bequia - Fernando's is one of the best restaurants we've dined at, anywhere, including Italy, Paris, NYC, etc. Coco's has good food as well and a wonderful view over the harbour. One last tip - expect your luggage to arrive a day late if you fly from Barbados - it seems it's a routine now to sell out the passenger seats and leave most or all the luggage behind for the next day's plane due to weight constraints - plan for this and have all you need for the 1st day in Bequia in your hand luggage - the regular travellers there seem used to this custom. In summary, a wonderful relaxing and friendly island and we will be back, hopefully many times.

  • Liked — Clean and close to the beach, and the view of the mountains/mango tree from cabin #3's porch
  • Disliked — barking dog on and off, next door during the day
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

The Kingsville Apartments are situated two minutes walk from the lovely beach at Lower Bay. They are well maintained and very clean. The apartments are actually small bungalows, comprising a lounge with dining area and kitchenette, separate bedroom, bathroom and a small terrace. The bedroom has air-conditioning and TV. The bungalows of which I think there are seven are set in lovely gardens. There is also internet access in the office and a phone provided for restaurant reservations. Kay who runs Kingsville is very friendly and helpful. Nearby walkable restaurants, that we would recommend, are Fernando's Hideaway (excellent value and very good food) and Dawn's Place on the beach, where she serves excellent lobster and fish cakes. There are also lots of good restaurants nearby, including the Devils Table, where we had one of the best steaks ever, cooked in a rum and pepper sauce. This is a laid-back paradise. Accommodation on the island is limited. Our preference is definitely the Kingsville Apartments as they are comfortable, good value for money and in a perfect location.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

I was living and working in St Vincent for 9 months and i would go to Bequia often at weekends, staying at Kingsville Apts. It is so perfect, offering peace and tranquility with the fabulous Lower Bay literally 2 mins walk away. The apts are very well equiped, everything you would need - including the all important air conditioning - extremely clean and the staff are excellent. The location is perfect, with 2 restautants within a 10min stroll including a little grocery store. A 10min stroll in the other direction takes you to Princess Margaret Beach. I cannot recommend Kingsville highly enough, it is the ideal spot in the perfect location on a little bit of paradise. I also stayed at Kingsville's sister apt 'Casa Blanca' just up the street from Kingsville, again it was perfect, a 2 bed/2 bath ground flour apt literally 5yds from Lower Bay with air con, with a great size open plan living rm/kitchen - again just perfect. Taxis are never far away if you want to go into port Elizabeth, altho its a lovely 25min dander. If I could I'd be there right now; go for it!

  • Liked — location, air con, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Area could be better lit up at night
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

Excellent. We had a group of 8 so we booked the 2 2-bedroom villas and it was dirt cheap. All the kitchen/dining utensils are provided so if you are trying to see the Caribbean on a budget (good luck...) this is the place to go.
Kingsville is not technically beachfront, you have about a 30 second walk to stunning Lower Bay Beach.
Just far enough from town to keep you out of trouble, but perfectly located for getting to Port Elizabeth or Friendship Bay.
Amazing value for money.

  • Liked — The price.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

We spent 4 days in July at the Kingsville Apartments in Lower Bay. We had won an auction on skyauction and the room only cost $58US a night including all taxes. Too good to pass up. The cottages were very clean and bright. The grounds are clean and quiet. The beach is only a few yards away. We were there off-season and did not get any houskeeping although you can get fresh towels at the office.

Just down the beach within walking distance is Keegan's Bar, a little further is De Reef restaurant and in the same parking lot is Dawn's Creole Restaurant. Dawn's was closed the whole time. The only thing on the menu at the other 2 places was "fish or chicken, and chips". Go into town and eat along the walkway near the dock area. Tommy's Cantina has Mexican fare...the Port Hole., fish and chicken...I think we tried them all, if for nothing more than a rum punch.

DON'T MISS the turtle sanctuary near Spring. It's great. They have lots of turtles of all sizes. There's also a deserted beach (I think it's called Industry beach) on the way. Stop and picnic or take a swim.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

We spent 5 nights in the top floor of the Casa Blanca property. This is managed by Kingsville Apartments. Casa Blanca is a home which has two two-bedroom units for rent. We found the place to be very clean, reasonably priced and an excellent location. We also toured the lower floor unit and it was actually a little nicer than the upper floor. But both were great. We have posted lots of pictures and more information on our sunnytripreports web site.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsville Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsville Apartments

Address: P.O. Box 41 BQ, Lower Bay, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Lower Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingsville Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kingsville Apartments Bequia/Lower Bay
Kingsville Apartments Hotel Bequia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsville Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.