We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar/restaurant by the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lower Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage
Save
You added Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage to your Saves list
Lower Bay, Lower Bay, Bequia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Exeter
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Nice bar/restaurant by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

As well as being a Guest House, Keegan's also has a nice bar/restaurant with pleasant staff and a friendly owner (Messenjah - or at least, that's the way it's spelled on his car). We drank there most nights for over 3 weeks and ate there a couple of times. During the winter they do evening meals which include a starter and dessert which is fine if you're hungry but there was too much for us. I preferred the lunch menu which was a bit lighter.

Beware the beer battered fish which, if you're British, is nothing like the battered fish you might be expecting. Think of a fish steak in pancake batter and you won't be far off it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dunstable UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, was planning to stay longer but we did not know about the annual Mount Gay Music Festival that was taking place that weekend and so the owner, Smitty (real name Messenger), could only accomodate us for the two nights. Friendly staff, reasonable food great location on the beach. A word of warning to those of you who, like me, seem to attract the mosquitos, you will be fed up of them after the first night unlees you can find some way of keeping them out of your room! We couldn't. We had the buffet one night, full breakfast twice and a fair amount to drink and our bill for the two nights came to £180. One nice touch was the free WIFI on offer. There are a couple of other bars in Lower Bay but not a lot else. A taxi to the "city" costs $25EC and it is rare for a dollar van to go down there so if you want to save money then you will need to walk up the very steep hill to the main road and catch one there. From Lower Bay you can take a short cut to the equally lovely Princess Margaret Beach next door. As far as eating goes I can recommend Mac's Pizzeria and the Porthole Restaurant both in Port Elizabeth. As for Bequia, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Keegan's is a local family owned and operated guest house where you are treated more like family than a guest. The rooms are simple but impeccably clean; the service genuinely warm, and you are all of 12 metres from the beach. If something does not work the first time, Smitty will put it right. Keegan's is NOT for you if you are looking for a gated community Caribbean vacation. It is for you if you are a traveler at heart who knows the real thing when you see it. Keegan's has recently reintroduced the MAP, where the price includes 2 good meals a day. This really does make it the best deal around. We have stayed at Keegan's over a 20 year period, and this recommendation comes from the heart.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

It's basic, but clean and with a great location, almost on the beach, it represents good value for money. It could improve on the service front food and drink wise, but there are alternatives only a few minutes walk away on both sides. Delightful staff and owners more than make up for any deficiencies.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Let me start by saying that the location of Keegan's was fantastic, the owners were extremely hospitable, and the rates were a tremendous value, which allowed for us to stay in Bequia twice as long as we had originally planned.

Don't expect the rooms to be luxurious, you get what you pay for. Our apartment was very basic and spartan, with only the barest of essentials. We were lucky we had the foresight to bring our own toiletries. My husband described our accommodations as "rustic".

Also, because the area is so hot and humid, which is no fault of Keegan's, the linens and towels never seemed completely dry and had a sour, mildew odor. I couldn't stand it, so I used my own pillow and blanket that I happened to have with me for airplane travel. My husband didn't mind it so much.

Sleep was the most difficult, however, because neighboring dogs kept us up all night. We had to endure 2 weeks of barking, howling, and whining every single evening into the wee hours. I never got a good nights rest, even though I brought earplugs with me.

It was really nice having a kitchen in our apartment, and the money we saved allowed us to do a lot of other activities on the island. It was also lovely being just steps away from a gorgeous beach with beautiful reefs to explore. Even so, I just couldn't stay here again. When I'm on vacation, I like being able to relax all the way, and that means being able to sleep in relative peace and in sheets that don't stink.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were really looking forward to staying at Keegan's -- the location on Lower Bay seemed very appealing and it is so reasonably priced but unfortunately, that was about all that we found appealing once we arrived. It is not the cleanest place (and we have stayed in quite a few places including small hotels and we are not terribly picky). It also is quite noisy--the Number 10 room is right next to the kitchen and there was kitchen noise and loud music all night, way past midnight. It did not get quiet until the early morning hours. Also, it says it has A/C and there are units in each bedroom but there is no glass in the windows and there are no screens either--just shutters that you can close but they do leave gaps, so the A/C doesn't work that well and noise and bugs can still come in. We had to leave this property earlier than we expected. Also, the night we arrived, there was a private party in the restaurant, so we couldn't eat there. The bedrooms do have a toilet and shower -- they are literally right in the same room with just a shower curtain around them. I wondered if the excellent reviews of other travelers were mostly because they had come to Keegan's during the high season and maybe the hotel isn't fully functioning during low season, we came in June. Unfortunately, while the location is fine, we do not recommend this hotel. On the other hand, Bequia is truly wonderful and it's totally worth visiting, even with the long trek that it requires.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Very reasonably priced hotel, right on the beach, great place to stay, I really enjoyed it, don't want to oversell it, but a great value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage

Address: Lower Bay, Lower Bay, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Lower Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lower Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keegan's on Lower Bay, Bequia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, right by the beach with a choice of Hotel rooms, apartments and a cottage. Situated on beautiful Lower Bay, a near mile long stretch of golden sand lapped by the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Swim before a leisurely breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the beach and sea. Enjoy our home cooked meals and the hospitality our family has been providing since 1978 in Lower Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keegan`s Beach Hotel Bequia
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage Bequia/Lower Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.