We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terborght

Terborght
Oud Dorp 16-18, Huizingen 1654, Belgium
0032(0)2/380.10.10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Huizingen
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
flanders
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

1 star resto. werer dissapointed about the price-quality. food was okay but wines were much overpriced. Resto had also a toilet smell. to conclude : too expensive

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, sloppy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We know and appreciate Terborght. We had invited four friends, preselected a same menu for everybody - to faciltate the service -, and where ready to enjoy ourselfs. Unfortunately during the whole evening (4 hours) we had to remind the service to get water, serve the wines to the dishes, get explanations on the extras, return still water, when sparkling had been ordered, where not asked how the meat cooking was desired, and life with a service team that appearde stressed and unpersonal. Nevertheless food and extras were fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Well Deserved Michelin Star!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went here en famille for a Sunday Lunch, and had their Menu Terborght (82euro). All the food was just heaven in our mouths (no other way to describe it!) from the amuse bouche to the desserts. The courses were meticulously thought out, the presentation was beautiful and inventive, and the flavor combinations were stupendous. The place itself has relatively recently been done up and is a lovely setting. The service was very good except for a minor hiccup where we had a long wait in between the fish and the meat course, but because we weren't in a rush and every other aspect of this meal experience was brilliant we didn't count this hiccup as worth deducting from the brilliant rating.
The food is not cheap, but when you see the caliber of the food being delivered then there is no question: it is definitely worth the price! I would most definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially for special occasions!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great discovery dinner !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a 12 course dinner, great experience, top staff, very friendly. Nice renovated interiour (last time we went was about 2 years back). Very good food, original . Good quality , good quantity. Took the menu with accompanied wines, and discovered once more some very interesting wines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had an excellent multi-course lunch at Terborght. Although we paid only half of the normal price (we had a Groupon voucher) we were treated exactly as the other guests. We had four amuses, a starter, two entremets, a main course, two pre-dessert amuses, a dessert and coffee with mignardises. We loved every dish: the presentation, the flavours, the inventiveness of the chef. We followed the sommelier's advice regarding the wines and were not disappointed.
Service was good although one of the waitresses could have been friendlier. Maybe she just had a bad day ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terborght also viewed

Huizingen, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Terborght? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terborght, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.