We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b+b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mousehole

The Mousehole
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whiston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mousehole
Save
You added The Mousehole to your Saves list
Cotton Lane | Cotton, Nr Alton Towers Staffordshire, Whiston ST10 3DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely b+b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Came here after a day at Alton Towers with some friends and GF, arrived fairly late to a very friendly chap (Keith?), he was helpful and chatty and showed us to our rooms which we were more than happy with - lovely comfy beds and good decor with a decent TV with freeview.
The breakfast was delightful too, well cooked with good food.
Would stay here again without any hesitation.
It is a bit out of the way so keep a designated driver off the beers if you go out for food etc, but as a plus point it was beautifully quiet overnight.

The only issue we had (and the same occurred in our friends room adjacent) was that the milk was off in our room (for the tea/coffee making)....really off too, not just turning !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in this B&B while visiting Alton Towers. We had been travelling for about 10 hours by the time we arrived, we were getting quite tired and it was already dark - hence we got lost. I rang the B&B and they gave us excellent directions - we were there in about 2 mins. We were unfortunate to get a puncture less than a mile from the accommodation and when we arrived the owner helped my boyfriend to change it, even though it was cold and dark outside. Once we got inside, I can honestly say - our room was top notch! The bed was very comfortable, the decor was fantastic, spacious room, fine size tv, fresh milk for the cuppa tea - none of the UHT rubbish you get nowadays in other hotels/ b&bs. There was no noise from passing traffic, room temperature was perfect. We had the most relaxing nights sleep after a very long day. Breakfast the following morning was just lovely and there was a good selection of cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit as well as the traditional English breakfast. If I was going back to the area or Alton Towers again, I would check in here again rather than staying in the Alton Towers hotels - its only about 2-3 mins drive from the theme park. We came away so refreshed. Thanks a million to both the owners - they are doing a fantastic job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

After reading some reviews i was a bit scared incase we got lost,but our sat nav found it and took us right to the door. We used the Mousehole after a hard day at Alton Towers, and really did have a great nights sleep. Woke very refreshed and in need of a good breakfast. We got one. Got to say the owners were very friendly and welcoming. Taking time to tell let us know the best places for an evening meal.
I love a good deal and for the price we got a great one. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A lovely little b&b, we were aprehensive as we drove down the road to find this place, but when we arrived knew we had made the right choice, it is a lovely little place to stay over and very convenient for Alton towers, we had a great nights sleep and breakfast was lovely, also the price was very reasonable, we will stay again if we ever need to stay Ipin the area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Driving down Cotton Lane you wonder when it will ever end, but situated about a mile down the lane you will find the wonderful Mousehole Home, I say home because that's how it makes you feel. In the most idillic part of the Staffordshire moorland and only 5 minutes drive from Alton Towers, its the perfect location for all, young or old. The hosts and owners Keith and Sandra make you very welcome and ensure your stay is perfect! The double en suite (blue room) was exceptionally clean and boasted original wooden beams dating back to the 17th century. Everything was so quaint and traditionally English, including the hearty breakfast. Excellent value for money. Will definately return. Thank you! Jamie and Family, Nottinghamshire

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed here for one night after a day trip to Alton Towers. The room was great value for money. Also very clean. The breakfast was fantastic- very fresh and plenty of it. A nice retreat after a busy day!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

booked this b and b at last minute for our friends wedding in Staffordshire.

the b and b was better then expected the room was very clean in a nice location next to Alton Towers.
the owners were more then friendly excellent breakfast would highly reconmend if trying to find a b n b next to alton towers

  • Liked — clean room and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiston
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter
Premier Inn Uttoxeter
#2 of 2 in Uttoxeter
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
8.5 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
3.3 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House
16.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mousehole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mousehole

Address: Cotton Lane | Cotton, Nr Alton Towers Staffordshire, Whiston ST10 3DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Whiston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mousehole bed and breakfast is a 17th Century Stone Cottage with original features including oak beams and lots of character. Set in the beautiful Staffordshire Moorlands near to Alton Towers, Our guest house is surrounded by the rural beauty of Cotton Dell with acres of woods, farmland and public footpaths for walkers. Established cycle paths only a short distance away. Cycle hire centre close by The b & b Guest House & self catering unit accommodation comprises of two double en-suite bedrooms newly refurbished with free WiFi, central heating, colour TV, Radio, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Hair Dryer. There are drying facilities available. With prior notice we will provide Vegetarian and Gluten Free foods also packed lunches if required. Full English breakfast Outside the B&B in the garden are several picnic area's available for use of guests, a safe car park and covered storage for cycles. The Mousehole bed and breakfast is only about two miles away from Alton Towers theme park, approx. 10 Miles from the market towns of Ashbourne and Leek (the antique treasures of the moorlands) and 15 miles from the "Potteries (A shopping paradise) Close to Alton Towers. Within a short distance we have the world famous Alton Towers theme park, good local pubs and restaurants, serving quality food and beers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mousehole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.