We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Lodge

Save Saved
You added Shore Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shore Lodge
501 West Lake St, McCall, ID 83638 (Formerly Whitetail Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in McCall
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Somewhat Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My family returned to Shore Lodge as a Thanksgiving weekend getaway after our first delightful stay 3 years ago. We again found the food excellent, love the open-beam feel of the place, and of course the exquisite lake views are the centerpiece. These 5-star elements are much dampened by the inexperienced host staff--service throughout remained uneven, unenthusiastic and generally not what we expected at this price point. I reserved the Fireside Suite so we'd have the lake view to enjoy, along with our own fireplace. The rooms had been recently remodeled (why so dark now?), though not completely finished by the time of our visit. (Much of the facility is currently under construction). We were obliged to pay the full rate, even though the windows and balcony of our unit were still covered in construction plastic upon our arrival, and the fireplace was turned-off for several hours the second day, I assume due to construction. These issues should have been mitigated before we arrived. I insisted upon removal of the plastic so we could see the lake (why else did we drive 2 hours and pay $220/night?). The front desk staff balked, passed me from one person to another, then finally acknowledged with engineering that the plastic covering our deck and windows did not need to be there any longer--it had already been removed from all surrounding units. Once the front desk was on board, maintenance had the plastic down in 5 minutes. We spent much of our full day in the building with a fireplace that didn't turn on, and trying to synchronize with housekeeping, who finally cleaned the room (but not the shower) by about 4pm. I noticed breakfast dishes sat on the floor outside a neighboring door in the hallway until evening. All in all the experience underwhelmed. I expect we will look for a better value elsewhere for our next stay in McCall.

Room Tip: The rooms (when finished--see review) are very nice. Still, the lake view rooms are the reason to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, General Manager at Shore Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi Norm - thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, we truly value the feedback. We are sorry to hear that the construction caused some discomforts during your stay and we sincerely apologize for any inconsistencies in the staff's attention to the issue. We have been doing our best to notify about construction in advance, but of course we can always improve and will be sure to address your notes with the team. The remodel will be complete before the end of the year, and we hope you'll come back to see the updates and give us another chance to better your experience.

Thanks again,
Dan Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    27
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
60
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Shore Lodge was a GREAT place for Christmas Brunch last year and we plan to do it again! Wonderful food and atmosphere! Just can't beat it in McCall! Presentation was beyond expectations and very flavorful. Wait staff was right there for anything you wanted!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've heard great things about the new Shore Lodge and was looking forward to a quick trip up there on the weekend. According to their web site, there were plenty of rooms still available. I'm sure glad that I didn't book on-line and decided to call the reservation line to ask a couple questions about the rooms. I was told that the web site does not reflect what is available.

For a resort that is trying to be a 5-star equivalent, it looks like it's on its way based on others' reviews. But booking on-line should be a given and easily should reflect inventory. So be forewarned - if you're booking, call; don't reserve on-line!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, General Manager at Shore Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Kevin –

Thanks for taking the time to share your concerns with us; we truly value the feedback. As you may have found out, Shore Lodge is currently undergoing an incredible full-property room renovation that is affecting availability at a fluctuating rate. As we wrap construction in one wing and start it up in another, the inventory updates to our online system must be made manually and thus experience some brief delay time for guests seeking to book via the website. It’s likely that you were accessing the site during that time and we apologize for any confusion or inconvenience that the lapse may have caused. In normal circumstances, our website does reflect what is available and if that point was miscommunicated to you, we do apologize. Thanks again for your interest in Shore Lodge – we hope to see you here soon!

-Dan Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It starts during check in where the receptionist offers you a glass of wine and some cheese from there the service incredible experiences just keeps coming.

The bellman helped us park and unload the motorcycles and the car. The view from our beachfront room was amazing. The dining experience in the fine dining restaurant was superb. In the morning we borrowed bicycles and road into town for breakfast. The hotel also offers lots of free water toys to use on the beach and has a beautiful pool and hottub.

Our only mistake was allocating a single night in McCall. We immediately tried to reschedule the remaining 12 days of our road trip but quickly realized we just couldn't pull it off.

Plan your trip so you have plenty of time to enjoy McCall and the Shore Lodge in particular.

Room Tip: Spring for the walkout beach front room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Everything was perfect at this incredibly beautiful hotel/resort on one of the picturesque lakes in the country.
I went for a business conferance expecting the same old stuffy type hotel and was met by a warm and extremely beautiful mountain lodge overlooking a gorgeous lake.
The service, food, the room, the complete hotel was perfect!

Room Tip: The town is very charming, but there is really no need to leave the hotel. The food and service are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a suite overlooking the lake. The room was very nice with good TV reception and channels.Very clean and prompt service. Dining was not the best considering the price of the hotel. We were there in the off season and staff was limited. Our dinner was good but lunch poorly served and not worthy of praise. The fish and chips served at a later time was very good. The location is excellent , with accessto roads surrounding the lake and north to the small towns of interest.

Room Tip: North side rooms are best as they overlook the lake The second follr is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We didn't stay at the Shore Lodge but did have lunch there on the recommendation of a lady we had met earlier in the week. We went in to warm up with a hot cup of chocolate and ended up having our lunch there. We were not disappointed. The service was fantastic. It was off season so not many customers in the downstairs dining area but from what we could tell they too received fantastic service. Being allergic to some spices makes it hard for me to eat out. When I inquired about the fries the wait person returned informing me that there was some spices used so he told me the chef offered to make fries for me without any of the spices. They were cut special for me. What a wonderful chef. The hamburgers were perfect, cooked the way we like them. The Shore Lodge is an older building but has been refurbished with beautiful decor. It is right at the Payette Lake edge. There is seating outside for the days when it is not raining. There are docks for those who are boating on the lake and they have boat rentals right there as well. We didn't go into the main dining room as it was too early in the day. The lunch area was beautiful done with cloth table coverings, cloth napkins and lovely small potted plants. The entire staff from the moment we walked into the Lodge was friendly. Our waiter told us to visit the concierge for information on what there was to see and do in the area. She was more than willing to help us even though we were not staying at the lodge. I highly recommend Shore Lodge for a meal. We have already made plans to visit the lodge again when we have the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Lodge

Address: 501 West Lake St, McCall, ID 83638 (Formerly Whitetail Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the southern shore of Payette Lake, in McCall Idaho, four seasons of adventure awaits. A family favorite since 1948, Shore Lodge invites you to enjoy the spectacular views, friendly service and generous accommodations.Special amenities include three exceptional dining locations, a full service salon and spa, movie theater, fitness center, shop serving Starbucks coffee, pet friendly amenities, access to boat and water sport equipment rentals, transportation to skiing at Brundage Mountain, golf course, movie theater and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Shore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Hotel Mccall
Shore Lodge McCall, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.