We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal For Large Families in McCall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 North Third Street, PO Box 4297, McCall, ID 83638 (Formerly The Western Mountain Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in McCall
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Deal For Large Families in McCall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We almost gave up on our trip to McCall when we couldn't find a hotel for under $100 a night that would take all 6 of us in one room and then I stumbled upon the America's Best Value Inn and honestly thanked God for it!

Not only did we get a room with 3 beds, but we got a decent breakfast, great service, and a pool to play in when it was too chilly out to go to the lake. It is all about expectations. We understood that this was a budget hotel and things weren't going to be the same as The Shore Lodge or other upscale area hotels.

The Good:
The service is excellent. We balked for a moment when we found out that there wasn't any elevator and our room was on the 2nd floor, but the staff was willing to help lug our stuff up stairs, and it really wasn't that hard.
They helped me with patience when I had trouble (user error) with the washing machine.
The place is a great value for a family. The family sized rooms are over the lobby and common areas, which alleviates the stress for trying to keep the little ones from running and jumping every second.
The tub was large and a jacuzzi.
The breakfast was helpful to have for our large family. I would like to see more healthy options – whole wheat bread options, more fruit, and non-dairy milk.

The Bad:
The place is older and is a bit worn. It could use some paint and such.
The beds were hard for us, but that is because we are used to memory foam.

Room Tip: If you need the 3 beds, they are ONLY on the 2nd floor, so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    15
    6
    11
See reviews for
19
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

From the previous reviews and a 4-ball rating, I expected a bit more. I'm not picky; I just like clean, well-maintained properties. Unfortunately, Am. Best Value fell a bit short. The areas where they fell below the very good rating were: no elevator so we had to schlep our luggage up the stairs, hallways looked worn, only 3 pillows on the bed and scratchy sheets, no fan in the bathroom that worked (the one there was dirty and gross-looking and had no effect on the humidity), only 2 bath towels in the bathroom, breakfast was OK but no one was there to keep it clean so there were spills and only 2 pieces of a strawberry left for fruit. Overall, it was an OK place to stay, but only average at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
My first order of business is to apologize for not exceeding your expectations, much less meeting them. As the General Manager I take full responsibility for your experience and will share your comments with the staff for training purposes. It is not lost on us that you have many places to choose to stay in McCall and your put your trust and confidence in us. You deserved better.

We pride ourselves in three key areas. Cleanliness, friendly service and a great breakfast. We realize these "key" areas are critical to our success. So I thank you for your feedback.

It is my hope if you are ever in the McCall area again you will give us a "second chance" to provide you with an experience you deserve. Should we be so fortunate to have that opportunity, please make it a point to contact me directly before your arrival and relate your previous experience to me so that I may personally monitor your comfort.

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill / General Manager
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - McCall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We needed a place to rest from Boise to Winchester and stumbled across the Western Mountain Lodge online. We booked a night and were greeted with warm and yummy chocolate chip cookies and a very friendly front desk staff. The walk around the town was great and not far from the hotel. The drive around the lake was nice as well - but lots of mosquitoes so bring repellant if you want to get out and walk around. Milkshakes at the place across the street were delicious. They suggested we book a room for the trip back, and good thing we did because the entire town was totally booked up when we got back in town later on the same week. Breakfast both mornings helped to kick start us each day and the pool and jacuzzi were well maintained and we went when there were no screaming kids. Room was nice with a couch, frig, microwave - everything was perfect. Even got to see a bear in the garbage early one morning. Overall a great place that even gave us the government discount - even better place with the great price. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Well "for sure" we like your comment! (humor).

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we did. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill / General Manager & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were up at McCall to ski Brundage and eat at the Blue Moon Yurt, and made no reservations to stay anywhere. Dropped into the Western because it is "downtown" and the manager was nothing less than amazingly gracious! Gave us a little upgrade to our room, was super friendly and humble, and just repeatedly let us know how he could be of any assistance. There was an expanded continental breakfast from 6-10 that was also nice. The room was fine, the heating unit was tremendous, and we walked everywhere we needed to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcogdill, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you found our service and our hotel met your expectations. We always strive to give an upgrade whenever we can, we are happy you noticed.

Please keep us in mind for your next trip to McCall.

Regards,

Tim Cogdill / General Manager
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I left my ring at the hotel and a worker found it and promptly gave it to the front desk. I called as soon as i realized it was lsot they sent it to me the next day. I was also impressed with their willingness to help out when my son asked them a million questions. The hot tub is so hot, so rear do you find this.
I will always stay at this hotel when I travel to McCall.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly to book a room for best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcogdill, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are very happy to have helped recover your ring. Guests leave us many things each month, but something as special as a ring makes us nervous to find (humor).

Please consider us for your accommodations the next time you are in McCall.

Sincerely,

Tim Cogdill / General Manager
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Had a great time at The Western Mountain Lodge. My wife and i booked the Mini Suite, and it was a perfect room. Very roomy for us, comfortable bed, and a very comforable little couch. Friend staff, great FREE morning breakfast. Very good location, just about a 5-10min walk downtown to the lake, local shops, and all the local watering holes!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to have met your expectations.

Please keep us in mind for your future travels!

Tim Cogdill & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The sheets didn't fit the bed and kept coming off during the night. The blanket had holes in it and the pillows were very small. It was a King sized bed, the pillows should have been king also. They messed up our reservation, but did credit us half price for the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWML, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. My first order of business is to apologize. It is obvious we performed poorly in providing you with the hospitality experience you deserve. We take all feedback as an opportunity to improve.

I have also used your feedback as an opportunity to train our customer service team that it is all or nothing when it comes to the guest experience. To that end I have directed the operations manager to credit back your entire stay. Had I been aware of the offer to discount the room, I would have ensured you received a full credit at the time of departure.

Due to your comments, along with our own observations we approached the ownership, and as a result I'm excited to share we have been approved for new blankets for all our queen beds.

Again, thank you for your comments. On behalf of the staff and myself, we sincerely apologize.

Tim Cogdill / General Manager & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 415 North Third Street, PO Box 4297, McCall, ID 83638 (Formerly The Western Mountain Lodge)
Location: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Formerly the Western Mountain Lodge) In the heart of McCall Idaho and the heartland of the west, Americas Best Value Inn & Suites offers all the beauty of the outdoors within the city limits. Nestled among the mountains and lakes, rivers and wide-open spaces, you will experience all the adventures of this year-round playground in Valley County. Start your day with our Deluxe Breakfast - with Biscuits & Gravy! We also serve Hard Boiled Eggs, Hot Waffles, Yogurt, Fresh Whole Fruit, and Assorted Bagels, Cereal, Muffins. You will love our breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Western Mountain Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites McCall, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.