We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Meal Preceding Payette Lake Stroll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steamers Steak and Seafood Restaurant

Steamers Steak and Seafood Restaurant
308 East Lake Street, McCall, ID 83638
208-634-1411
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in McCall
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal Preceding Payette Lake Stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

One might easily pass it by as it is not flashy, but it was recommended by the clerk at our motel, so we made it a point to go there. Very friendly wait staff. Quiet, despite being nearly all tables being occupied. I chose the Shrimp & Crab Stuffed Halibut while my wife selected the Wild Sockeye Salmon Filet, and we were both delighted with our meals. Great looking dessert possibilities, but we were more than satisfied with our main course, so declined. In fact, to work off at least a tiny portion of the calories consumed, we walked across the street to where there is a public beach, park and walking path overlooking Payette Lake. Wonderful meal and beautiful scenery following. Strongly recommend visiting McCall, Lake Payette and, without question, Steamers Steak and Seafood Restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Casual and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Casual and relaxed best describes Steamers. The food was very good to boot! And, it's right near Ice Cream Alley for dessert!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing food - and don't forget the mousse cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner here. My husband had the trout and I had the Idaho plate with trout and lamb. Both of us had the mashed Idaho potatoes. The vegetables were roasted carrots and summer squash - carrots were fine, but the squash was mushy. We had the chocolate mousse cake for dessert - it is definitely enough for 2 and tasted incredible!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“May be the best restaurant in McCall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Steamers has a wide ranging menu, though vegetarians offerings are limited. The range of salads is typical, but the appetizers have something almost anyone would enjoy. The meat and seafood offerings were tempting. Our group went for roast pork, tuna tartare, a pear walnut salad, and a steak. Everyone was satisfied. This is not a particularly child-oriented place, though children are welcome. The four people in our group relaxed completely in this easy going environment. Staff were efficient and cheerful. They seemed genuinely happy with their jobs, even though the restaurant was busy. We have eaten here several times and the food is consistently good, ample, and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy dining in downtown McCall, Idaho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I were very happy to come across this delicious restaurant with lots of dining options. The waitress was helpful, courteous, and was always there to top off our waters without being overbearing. The salads were fresh and plentiful and the food was very good. Loved eating at the restaurant and then following it up with a walk by the lake since the restaurant is located right downtown. Looking forward to our next visit to McCall and dining at Steamers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamers Steak and Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Steamers Steak and Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamers Steak and Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.