We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for the size of the meal.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Steaks and Spirits

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mill Steaks and Spirits
324 N 3rd Street, McCall, ID 83638
208.634.7683
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 57 Restaurants in McCall
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive for the size of the meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I paid $32 for a very small piece of halibut with unexciting sides. The service and atmosphere were fine but the quality of the food was lacking for the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    12
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Meadows, Idaho
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH THE MONEY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have been here twice now. The prime rib is good, not great, and certainly NOT worth the price! Unbelievably expensive and the service is poor. The bar is fun with the ski chairs, but not worth coming here for dinner. Go to Steamers if you are looking for a special occasion dinner in this price range. This place will only disappoint. Pretty sure I will never come here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst food and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is supposed to be a good place to eat. I was sick from food poisoning all night after eating there. The salad was wilted and brown, the bread was very plain and the crab legs were obviously bad. Won't got there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food was mouth watering and the drinks were in excellent taste. It is pretty expensive but worth it for a special occasion dinner getaway. I will be coming back when the occasion calls. :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Special Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We saw that prime rib was a specialty and decided that would be this year's Anniversary Dinner. We weren't disappointed, either.

The atmosphere is a cross between the rustic you'd expect for this area - complete with old snowshoes, skis, and ice tongs - and one of our old favorite prime rib houses.

We were warmly greeted and promptly seated. Our drink order was quickly taken as we perused the menu. The prime rib was perfect and the horseradish sauce was not so strong as to cauterize the sinuses. We even splurged and shared bread pudding with a great rum sauce.

It was obvious from the others around us that The Mill is a favorite for locals and tourists, young and more mature, and a draw for week day diners. I highly recommend it and certainly would return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Steaks and Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Mill Steaks and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Steaks and Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.