We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, many activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Payette Lake

Payette Lake
McCall, ID
208 634 0700
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in McCall
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 5,330-acre lake near the resort town of McCall.
McCall, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, many activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

McCall is a beautiful place to visit, the lake is serene with room for all types of activities. Boating, sailing, jet-skiing, fishing, canoeing, swimming you can do it all in McCall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McCall, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“High Mountain Boating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Although it can get busy on summer weekends, Payette Lake more often than not is a pristine high mountain lake perfect for watersports enthusiasts.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“payette lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just a beautiful lake in a beautiful setting. Nice docks for boats and a beach for swimming. Beautiful trees surround the lake and the sunsets are spectacular

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We drove all the way around it there is a scenic loop around. The views are amazing and was glad we took the time to do it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We drove the entire way around the lake and it was just beautiful. We took in the park drive all the way to the end. There were a lot of people walking or jogging along the paths. Many with their children so it is a very family orientated park. It was late in the season, end of Sept., so we didn't see the animals that we were told we might encounter. We did however see a small herd of deer, about 7 in all. It was a very enjoyable slow drive and look forward to going again in the next year or two. If you go be sure to look for their "monster" in the lake. It is said there is one there. One person said an unmanned sub went down and never found the bottom of the lake so who knows there could be a cousin to "Nestie" down there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Payette Lake also viewed

 

Been to Payette Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Payette Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.