We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel McCall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McCall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel McCall
Save
You added Hotel McCall to your Saves list
1101 North 3rd Street, McCall, ID 83638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in McCall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently stayed here for a long weekend & everything was amazing! The hotel location is wonderful - right downtown and just a few steps from the lake - and the room was spacious, comfortable, and very nice. Huge GORGEOUS bathroom with a jetted tub. Even though it's been updated in recent years, there's still a lot of the older charm left in the building details. Apparently they were full both nights we were there but we didn't hear any evidence that there were other guests in adjacent rooms. We'll definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: We had a room that faced Lake Street but also had a partial view of the lake - absolutely perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself was gorgeous, and even though we didn't pay for a lake view, the view was wonderful. You really can't beat the location of this hotel, right in the center of town, within walking distance to everything! I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I took 10 people in for a Ski Trip to get to the “Best Snow in Idaho”. We stayed at the Hotel McCall, it had great accommodations and a friendly staff. The Restaurant ‘Rupert’s” was outstanding.
I’m going back!

Room Tip: Request the Executive suite for entertaining or gathering a group either before you go out or after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently booked the hotel to house many of our out of town wedding guests. Family and friends were all there. It was the perfect location, allowing folks to explore McCall and provided great access to area attractions. The rooms are cool and each seems a little unique. I like that it does not have that "chain" feeling. The staff was very helpful and was easy to work with. I know that many left with a great feeling and are looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: I did not use room service. The pool is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our room reservations were upgraded when we arrived to a spacious condo with overlooking the garden. The staff was cordial and accommodating. Since the hotel was not busy late in Sept as it was somewhat smokey due to forest fires the desk clerk suggested an upgrade at a very reasonable rate so we jumped on it for our two day stay. We loved the coffee shop a few doors away, for snacks and lunch. Enjoyed the lake view at the hotel restaurant dining on good pasta, fresh salad with a decent wine. The indoor saltwater infinity pool was perfect, long enough for laps.

Room Tip: Garden view condo or lake view rooms are quieter, especially during the high seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We reserved our hotel room over a week in advance and on arrival in the morning paid for our hotel room. Later that day when we returned to get the room key a different person at the check in counter had no record that we paid. In addition the person had no idea that room was ours and reserved. Luckily they had not rented our room out. The staff in the restaurant is apathetic and after several attempts at ordering we ended up going somewhere else for dinner, I could understand if the restaurant was busy but that was not the case. In addition the free breakfast amounted to nothing more than cold cereal and toast. We make several trips to McCall each year and this was our first and last experience at Hotel McCall. Check around as there are better options in McCall than this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Trying to accommodate your early arrival so you could go skiing with our tickets the desk clerk failed to pass over the information at the shift change that she had pre checked you in and given you the lift tickets. At no time would you not have had a king standard room which you had reserved. We have corrected the pass over problem and hopefully will not happen to anyone else during their check in process. The restaurant was extremely busy that Saturday night as their chef James Beard Foundation award had just been announced for Rupert's Chef, Gary Kuce. It could have been that the staff was in a wonderful "shock" as this award was only awarded to 2 restaurants in the state of Idaho out of 40,000 entries nation wide. As for the expanded continental breakfast on that morning we had fresh brewed Dawson Taylor coffee, bagels, English muffins, a variety of fresh fruits which I believe on Sunday had pineapple, sliced oranges, a melon, bananas, 3 kinds of juices, blueberry bread for toast, an assortment of pastries and an assortment of dry cereals. There also is a large selection of tea's and hot water for oatmeal or cider if needed. Your stay and ski package discounted the room by more than 30% and it had recently been refreshed with new paint, lamps and furniture. Our prices have not been raised since the recession started and being downtown across from the lake our value is the best in town. We continually check rates of other establishments in town and ours are the best value for location, ammenities, and price. Thank you for your review although we don't think it was entirely fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We made a reservation in September 2012 for the premium condo overlooking the festivities for Winter Carnival 2014 (2013 was booked already). We were contacted in February 2013 and told that we would not be allowed to keep the reservation since the same party has a monopoly to book that room year after year after year. We were told (quote) "we have never allowed someone to come in off the street and make a reservation for Winter Carnival two years in advance" (end-quote). No amount of arguing would make them change their minds and honor the reservation made by one of their employees, on-site. We had already invited out-of-state guests to join us for this special weekend. Terrible, horrible customer service and public relations. I will never stay there or recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny A, Manager at Hotel McCall, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
As we explained in several emails and phone calls the week-end you picked in Sept 2012 for Winter Carnival 2014 was the second week-end. The dates are deceiving for that month but Winter Carnival is always the last FULL week-end in Jan. which makes 3 of the week-end days in Jan. this next year. We do honor our guests from year to year but luckily we had guests that did not re-book their rooms for 2014 for the 1st week-end and we were able to move you to those rooms. The rooms we had reserved were the Executive Suite which sleeps 4 and has a beautiful view of the lake, fireplace and full kitchen with dining area. It actually would have been less expensive than the room you were trying to book. You notified us a week later that you did not want these rooms and would like to cancel. We work hand in hand with the McCall Chamber of Commerce to project the best destination resort area in Idaho so trying to undo a slight that you felt was certainly a high priority. Since you've never stayed with us I would hope that in the future you might give us a try and you could review us from an actual stay. Thank you for your calls, emails and letter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel McCall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel McCall

Address: 1101 North 3rd Street, McCall, ID 83638
Location: United States > Idaho > McCall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in McCall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel McCall is located downtown and on the shore of Payette Lake. A recent remodel has introduced a full service restaurant and bar. Indoor salt water pool . Individually decorated rooms with A/C. Limited meeting room space available. Homemade continental breakfast,complimentary glass of wine or beer at Rupert's. Plus milk and cookies for bedtime. Complimentary DVD library at front desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel McCall Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel McCall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.