We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mack's Inn ain't what it used to be, or is it?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mack's Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macks Inn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mack's Inn Resort
Save
You added Mack's Inn Resort to your Saves list
4292 N. U.S. Hwy. 20, Macks Inn, ID 83433   |  
Hotel amenities
Herriman, Utah, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mack's Inn ain't what it used to be, or is it?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed just one night at Mack's Inn's Cabin 30. We stayed there 10 years ago and it was fine. Now, it is even more dated and in some ways dangerous. A sloped floor caused my wife to trip and twist her knee. No microwave...what year is it? An ancient refrigerator (not frost free) with no door handle. The front door would only open part way, bare wires throughout the cabin. I should have been warned when I was asked to sign a waver, freeing the facility and management of any liability due to injury or death while staying there and also signing that I would have to pay extra for any damage to the cabin. You've got to be kidding. The beds and bedding were comfortable and clean. The towels were comfortable and clean in the kitchen and bathroom. 10 years ago there were walking and biking trails along the river. Now there are no trespassing signs and private property signs surrounding the cabins. My wife and I have agreed to not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    9
    7
    25
See reviews for
28
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

While this place is near some of the famous stretches of Henrys Fork, I would never stay here again. Everything in our room was dirty and the only place we had to sit was the Murphy bed. I would avoid at any cost.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The inn is right on the river and a good location for access to river activities. Our room accommodated 4 adults, easily. With a small kitchenette it was comfortable for our 1 night stay and a very good price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pay the extra money and stay somewhere else. The only good thing was the staff was very friendly.The cabin was ancient. You could see daylight through the walls. The carpet was so nasty,you didn't want to take your shoes off.They had the nerve to say no smoking or pets,when it was pretty obvious there had been plenty of smoking and pets in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

For those writing negative reviews perhaps you should look up the word rustic. We had a total of 23 people renting four cabins. We all will come back. The cabins are just what they say rustic. We love rustic. Great fishing right on the Henry's Fork of the Snake River. Only 50 yards from our cabin to the river. FYI Robin's Roost is just down the road and is a nice full grocery store. Can sleep up to 10 in cabin 41. Bring your own pots/pans and coffee maker. Mesa Falls scenic drive is well worth it. Also check out Big Springs. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here as a child. It wasn’t great then and nothing has changed. They still have the same bedspread I think. The only thing it had going for it that it was clean. You can hear people in the next room talking. The ceiling was falling down and it did smell. No TV and no air conditioning. But wait it gets better, at night I was woken up a man snoring and it wasn’t my husband. The wall are truly paper thin. Stay here if you don’t want to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, UT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place was a dump and definately not worth the price. The rooms and the building we stayed in are old and smelly. We were afraid to sit on the couch because it was so old and dirty.
The whole place could use a coat of paint, and there is no lawn to speak of. There was no landscaping done - it is all dirt everywhere you look; even by the river. We expected a pretty, grassy, pleasant place to sit by the river and a nice, clean place for the huge amount of money we paid. No phone, No TV, and no internet connections. One bathroom the size of a small closet. We were terribly dissapointed with this place and would not recommend it to anyone.
We found out that we could have stayed at the new Old Faithful lodge for $10.00 a night less and it is a beautiful new building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mack's Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mack's Inn Resort

Address: 4292 N. U.S. Hwy. 20, Macks Inn, ID 83433
Location: United States > Idaho > Macks Inn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Macks Inn
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Mack's Inn Resort Macks Inn, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mack's Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.