We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Lion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Lewiston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Lewiston to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Lewiston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 21st Street, Lewiston, ID 83501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Lewiston
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Red Lion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Good rooms, great staff, and very accommodating. Stayed there before and after a river trip with OARS which was great as we could leave our luggage at the hotel during the trip. Bar and restuarant was fine for the kids.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't stay in the rooms that face the hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Wow! Thank you for the generous comments! We strive to provide excellent service to all guests and your positive feedback is very rewarding! We are thrilled that we could cover your group’s needs!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip through the LC Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    70
    39
    27
    18
See reviews for
61
45
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We rolled into the hotel at 10 PM. I had a room reserved. A bellman raced me to the front desk so he could talk to the clerk for literally 5 minutes about a broke air conditioner in some poor sods room! When the clerk finally acknowledged my presence, she never looked at me once! Not once, just mumbled photo ID and credit card please. After about a minute of pecking away on her computer she handed me two magnetic keys and said I was in the annex across the parking lot. So which direction. She specifically pointed. It turned out to be the exact wrong direction. I get to the parking lot and notice about 300 yards away is the annex in the other direction. So, I drive over there, haul all our stuff up to the second floor room in a building without an elevator and presto! The keys don't work. I hike back across the lot and she gives me 3 keys to try this time. Presto! One works. I have managed a 100 unit full service hotel with bar and restaurant, I am 55, I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many hotels. None come close to the poor service and terrible accommodations of this one. As I sit here the next afternoon at 3:30 local time, there hasn't been hide nor hair of a maid service. I went to lunch today, got back to my room and guess what? Not one of the three keys worked! OK hike the half mile round trip across the 115 degree parking lot and the clerk on duty ignored me for a full minute as I stood RIGHT in FRONT of him! When he finally asked if he could help me, I told him none of the 3 keys worked. He promptly reloaded 3 new ones and told me they should work.

Do yourself a favor, Never Never Never stay at the Red Lion Lewiston!!! I sure as heck wont!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on our property. We apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, we are very disappointed and embarrassed for the service you were provided. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests. We are currently ranked #1 out of 50+ Red Lions, so this is a very rare thing for our property.
We assure you we will be looking into this immediately and addressing this issue with the staff. In regards to the keycards they can be deactivated when placed too close to cell phone or magnetic cards such as bank cards. We have tried many different brands of keycards and they all have this inconveniencing issue.
Again, we sincerely apologize for the less than perfect service you were provided. We do hope that you will return if you are in the Valley again and give us the opportunity to really wow you.
Kind regards,
Your Red Lion Lewiston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here one night to attend a concert at the Clearwater Casino. Only a short drive to the casino from the hotel (about 10 minutes). Booked the room through Trip Advisor and paid $119 for a room with king bed. Upon arrival, I was advised that my room was in the building across the parking lot. Fearing the worst, I was pleased to find that the room was actually a suite! Very spacious but dark. The ceilings were not high and there were large windows, but the lack of natural light was still obvious. There were no ceiling lights and only lamps on the nightstands and desk. Our room keys did not work, and we returned to the desk to get them re-coded. The newly coded cards worked, but the door handle did not open. Maintenance responded and demonstrated that you just have to be fast from the card swipe to the handle. He mentioned that they have parts on order so that opening the door does not take slight of hand.

When I inquired about a free breakfast, the clerk advised that it was free depending on how much you pay for the room. I told her how much I paid for the room, but when she checked the computer she said she could not verify the amount because the reservation went through Expedia.com and the don't disclose the rate. This is the first hotel that I have been in, in YEARS that did not offer a free breakfast. I have stayed in hotels where I paid significantly less than $119, and got a breakfast. The policy of this hotel is bad PR in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here the night before and the night after our rafting trip with Oregon River Expeditions. The location is central close to a sporting good store and plenty of free parking. Great pool and micro brewery next door. The hotel staff were great they even made us free copies of a list if everyone's emails when we returned despite the fact that they were busy checking people in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel was great. Very clean and super accommodating. Every employee that we came into contact with was over the top professional and extremely nice, especially the shuttle driver (forgot her name!) who drove us to the casino. The food at Meriwether's was really good for dinner, we had the Cougar burger (delicious) and the Alaskan Cod (also very good) and our server was wonderful. The breakfast was just ok and service was slow; save your money and use the free breakfast coupons for the breakfast buffet. We will be back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We followed other reviews and got a room in the back, top floor (812). It was nice and quiet at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Only stayed one night prior to going on a multiple-day raft trip. The hotel was great about allowing us rafters to leave our sensitive belongings with them until we got back to collect them. Also was able to leave our vehicles in their well-lit parking lot with no problems.
The room was clean & the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: Very friendly to rafters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
THANK YOU FOR BEING A LOYAL RED LION CUSTOMER! We loved your group! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to wow you! We strive to provide exceptional service and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice hotel near downtown. The rooms were clean and nice. The only issue we had was when we got there at 3pm they didn't have any rooms available even though we make our reservations in advance. They had a high school reunion going on that night so it was a little noisy in the bar and at 2am when all the drunks went to their rooms! Long wait for service in the bar earlier in the day as they only had one person working the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback as your business is valued. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to the food and beverage outlets.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Valley!

Kind regards,
Your Red Lion Lewiston Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Lewiston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Lewiston

Address: 621 21st Street, Lewiston, ID 83501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Lewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Lewiston 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Highways 12 and 95 on the confluence of the Clearwater and Snake Rivers, the Red Lion Hotel Lewiston is only minutes from the Nez Perce County Airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The nearby Clearwater and Snake Rivers offer a wide variety of recreational opportunities including fishing and boating. Take a walk, run or cycle on our many miles of trails along the Snake River. World-class golf courses are also nearby and Hell's Canyon is just a short distance away via jet boat tour.Our 183 spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the amenities you have come to expect from a first-class hotel including oversized bathrooms, Red Lion's signature Sealypillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable television with HBO, complimentary newspaper and valet and room service. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave and refrigerator and offer sweeping views of the Lewis/Clark Valley, Clearwater River and the famous Snake River.On-site amenities include a full service fitness center, whirlpool and seasonal outdoor pool. For your dining pleasure, our Meriwether's Bar & Grill features Northwest and traditional American Cuisine. M.J. Barleyhopper's Microbrewery and Pub offers over 60 beers and our very own award-winning hand crafted ales. The atmosphere at the Exchange Lounge is perfect for a quiet conversation while enjoying fine wine, microbrews, cognac, spirits and premium food service.With more than 13,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Lewiston is also able to accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, Lewiston's Red Lion Hotel is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Lewiston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewiston Red Lion
Red Lion Lewiston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.