We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearwater Tower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Lewiston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Lewiston to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Lewiston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 21st Street, Lewiston, ID 83501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Lewiston
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clearwater Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was the host hotel for our dog show. We stayed in the Clearwater Tower room, bottom floor facing the parking lot. The room was large, nicely furnished. Check in was great, fast service with a smile. There is no free breakfast, but they do have room service at a reasonalble price.
My only complaint was the internet service which was hard to log onto, would time out, kick me off or just wouldnt log on at all.

Room Tip: Clearwater Tower rooms are way larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Valued Guest,

We love being the host for the dog show! It's always brightens everyone's mood to see some furry friends! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your spacious room.

We have tried a breakfast buffet trial in the summer months last year, the majority of the guests asked to go back to the order off the menu style breakfast. We apologize if this was a discomfort to you. We are currently working on our internet issue with our service provider!

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to complete a survey on your property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    70
    39
    27
    18
See reviews for
61
45
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Red Lion in Lewiston, Idaho was excellent to stay at! They were the host hotel for the Palouse Hills and Lewis-Clark Kennel Club shows. The staff were friendly and very accomodating. This was my second stay at this hotel and I would highly recommend it for anyone travelling through this area (especially with pets).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete a customer service survey on our property! Your generous comments are appreciated, we look forward to your next trip through the LC Valley!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I don't mind spending almost $200 a night on a hotel, but I do mind spending that on want I got here! This was nothing more than a 2 star hotel in a small town in ID. I could see paying that price in Dallas, TX or Seattle, WA, but NOT Lewiston, ID! We stayed here for Mom's Weekend for WSU, which is about 30min away. It's a busy weekend, so we knew it would be hard to find a place to stay, but to price gauge like that was ridiculous! They didn't even clean our room the first day! We had to call to get clean towels and rash rags and then the person that delivered them stood there like he was expecting a tip! Normally I would tip when something is delivered to my room, but not when it was something that I shouldn't have had to call for in the first place. There was no continental breakfast for this price and I had powdered creamer in my room and they. Don't don't even put bottled water in their vending machines.....they keep it behind the front desk and charge $1.00 a bottle. We ate breakfast the last morning we were there in Meriwether's. There was nothing sour about the sour dough toast I ordered and it was stale to boot. My bacon was cooked nicely per my request, but it was the saltiest bacon I have ever eaten. The waitress seemed irritated and was rude, and the "Idaho hash browns" as listed on the menu we disgusting! We won't be staying here again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a customer service survey on our property. We apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, they have been addressed accordingly. We had recently run a trial complimentary breakfast and had gone back to our order off the menu style breakfast as the majority of guests requested. We do not run the vending machines; we simply house them as a service to our guests. We do have water available at our front desk since it is not offered by the vending companies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the recommendation of a family member I switched my hotel property to the Red Lion Hotel Lewiston Idaho from one I had previously booked. The move was for a variety of reasons a good one, the hotel staff was pleasant on arrival and even called my room once I was checked in to see if everything was satisfactory. The real yardstick of how good or bad company performs is how they handle unexpected problems, in my case, there was a slight internet connection issue whom I had the pleasure of dealing directly with the General Manger (Ron Anderson) with. Not only was the issue corrected Ron went up and above to make sure the remainder my stay was without any other issues and saw to it personally. I travel extensively around the country and stay at many hotels but if any trip takes me back to Lewiston the Red Lion is where I’m staying. The rooms are nice and the food is very good as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am thrilled to read a few things in your comments, that you were referred by a trusted family member, the food was great and our staff went above and beyond to make every detail perfect for you!

I can not tell you how much I enjoy reading comments like this. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review about our property and staff. I do hope you let all your friends and family know about you experiances with us and continue to stay with us on your trips through the LC Valley!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamiah, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were moving from Western Washington to North Central Idaho and unfortunately, our moving van's transmission failed after coming down the Lewiston (Idaho) Grade. It was late and had already been a grueling, long, slow journey of 10 hours and we still had 100 miles to go. I spoke with the moving van company and they could not send a technician nor a replacedment van out until the next morning. We were exhausted, hungry and traveling with a German Shepherd and two Australian Shepherds, so when the moving company suggest that they would put us up for a night all I could think of was what safe, comfortable and clean hotel would be willing to take our crew which included 3 dogs without their crates?! Fortuntely, I could see the Red Lion Hotel sign from the Highway and gave them a call, knowing the the Red Lion had a good reputation. The clerk that answered the phone was so professional, helpful and understanding! I explained our unexpected problems and that my family and I (and our 3 dogs!) needed a room. The clerk immediately secured a room for us, found 3 large dog crates that we could use and when I asked about local restaurants, gave me a wide and varied list of eating establishments that would likely still be open at this late hour. When we got there, the desk clerk was just as nice and professional, quickly located a couple of carts to help us bring their provided dog crates (already waiting for us) and our luggage to our room. The dog crates were very clean and sturdy and large enough for each of our dogs, the room was very clean, comfortable and inviting and we were soon comfortably settled in our rooms and able to locate a nice restaurant to have a belated dinner. We had a great nights sleep and the check out was handled by the day desk clerk just as quickly and professionally as the help that we received the night before. Thank you Red Lion, for a good ending to a difficult day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoonah, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night while passing through on Business. The hotel was clean and nice but the matress was wore out. If you sleep on the outside edge like I do you roll right off the bed. Wholly mackeral. Makes for a rough 1 nighter! Probably wouldn't return due to the matress condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent accommodations with our property! We appreciate your feedback and are currently looking into new matresses!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'll list the issues we had:
1. They gave away the room we had reserved so ended up with a "lesser" accomodation.
2. The "indoor pool" is actually across the parking lot at health club.
3. The beds are uncomfortable (to soft and sagging in the middle of our King bed)
4. I took 2 cold showers during my stay.
5. The heating/cooling system is not regulated by a thermometer so you end up getting hot, then cold, then hot as you try to adjust it and find a balance.
6. The heating cooling system is also noisy.
7. The location was loud with ambulance/fire trucks passing during the night.

Our friends stayed at the Quality Inn and it was MUCH nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmanager, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on our establishment, I know how busy life can be!

After reading your comments, I understand how frustrating these issues would be and without our guests bringing them to our attention.

Our outdoor is closed due to the cold weather, but we do have an indoor pool that is located across the parking lot - our shuttle would be more than happy to take you to and from to avoid the breeze.

I do apologize for the water temperature, we called Guardian Heating and Water as soon as we were aware of the issue and it was fixed right away. I was not aware of the heating and cooling dial, but I will look up the room number and have maintenance take care of it immediately! I appreciate you bringing these things to our attention so we can get them corrected for the next guest.

We do hope you choose us again during your next trip through the Valley.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Lewiston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Lewiston

Address: 621 21st Street, Lewiston, ID 83501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Lewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Lewiston 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Highways 12 and 95 on the confluence of the Clearwater and Snake Rivers, the Red Lion Hotel Lewiston is only minutes from the Nez Perce County Airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The nearby Clearwater and Snake Rivers offer a wide variety of recreational opportunities including fishing and boating. Take a walk, run or cycle on our many miles of trails along the Snake River. World-class golf courses are also nearby and Hell's Canyon is just a short distance away via jet boat tour.Our 183 spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the amenities you have come to expect from a first-class hotel including oversized bathrooms, Red Lion's signature Sealypillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable television with HBO, complimentary newspaper and valet and room service. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave and refrigerator and offer sweeping views of the Lewis/Clark Valley, Clearwater River and the famous Snake River.On-site amenities include a full service fitness center, whirlpool and seasonal outdoor pool. For your dining pleasure, our Meriwether's Bar & Grill features Northwest and traditional American Cuisine. M.J. Barleyhopper's Microbrewery and Pub offers over 60 beers and our very own award-winning hand crafted ales. The atmosphere at the Exchange Lounge is perfect for a quiet conversation while enjoying fine wine, microbrews, cognac, spirits and premium food service.With more than 13,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Lewiston is also able to accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, Lewiston's Red Lion Hotel is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Lewiston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewiston Red Lion
Red Lion Lewiston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.