We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it so much last year, we came back again this year - and, we will stay there again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Lewiston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Lewiston to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Lewiston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 21st Street, Lewiston, ID 83501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Lewiston
Southern Interior British Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it so much last year, we came back again this year - and, we will stay there again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

When we arrived, the front desk was having trouble with the printer - they were apologetic about the wait and when it was our turn to inquire about room availability - they had rooms and offered us a discount for being so patient!! Thank you Hope! We got rooms directly above where our bikes were parked (great); the pool is outside and has bar service where they deliver to the pool. We remembered how great the service was from last year and how much fun we had at the pool - again this year, it was so much fun. We ended up staying two nights and did a day trip to Joseph Oregon on the second day just so that we could enjoy the pool/bar service for another day!! We even had live music - felt like a resort in Mexico!! The breakfasts in the hotel were excellent; we ate in the pub both nights and the guys loved the steaks. Overall, the hotel provided excellent customer service - everyone was helpful and happy - we loved our stay and when we travel in the direction of Lewiston, we will definitely stay there again!! Thank you for making our vacation a great memory.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    75
    41
    27
    16
See reviews for
65
46
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Check in took almost half an hour because the two desk clerks were having trouble figuring out how to assign rooms with their printer down. IT issues are forgivable, but what wasn't was discovering that the king bed junior suite we had reserved was not available, and all they had were queen beds. When asked what the rate difference would be for the downgrade, they said they couldn't change anything since we booked through Expedia. The final check-in touch was that the desk clerk forgot to activate the room keys. So we paid too much to enjoy a dim cavelike room with an Internet connection that routinely dropped making VPN work impossible. Will definitely stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights to attend a baseball tournament. We arrived late, and due to a mix up our room had been given up and we got upgraded to a suite, which was a nice room, large with a separate sitting area. The onsite restaurant and bar looked good and while we didn't eat there, others from our group did and said the food was good. The pool area was nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel was clean upon arrival, room was clean, nice bed, pillows were ok...they say they have wireless internet............not true. I went to the front desk to see if I could get some assistance, they just nope, it doesn't work very well, nothing we can do. She said the best connection was at the front lobby...you still couldn't get a strong enough signal to connect up. The computer they provide in the lobby that was wired in was slower than you can guess...with interuptions in service. For this reason alone, if you need internet...stay else where.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

First the positives.

Enjoyed having a restaurant on the premises.
Rueben Sandwich, Salad Bar and soups were exceptional.
Appreciated group discount for river boat tour participants
Catered Baron of Roast Beef dinner again was exceptional, particularly the vegetables; hear many positive comments

Negatives
Most uncomfortable beds we have encountered in some 20 years of travel together.Much to soft to sit upon, sleep in, or anything else; still suffering from back aches
On arrival asked for toothbrush as promised on the card; was told to go to Albertsons.
Room paint choice was meant to be restful, but made the room very dark
Limited lighting, again made it very dark
A/C on auto ran all night, very noisy - had to use earplugs to block the noise
Block out curtains were too short, so light showed underneath
Hair dryer output very weak, took a long time to dry my short hair
Luckily had brought our own pillows, because those provided were very thin
CFL lighting in the bathroom took a long time to brighten so you could adequately see yourself in the mirror
Prices in restaurant and room service for breakfast were very high $13.99 for breakfast wrap with coffee; lost many customers in our group
to the adjacent McDonalds for $5.49.

Room Tip: Check for discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

The Red Lion came through with rooms for us on an extremely busy weekend (graduations) that had pretty much every hotel within 100 miles booked solid. My room (double queens) was in the main hotel area and was very clean and comfortable. The only drawback was a very noisy air conditioning system (mounted in the ceiling.) I didn't get an opportunity to eat at the attached restaurant but the menu looked quite good.

However, my colleague was less satisfied as he ended up in the Seaport rooms across the parking lot (co-located with some banquet rooms) where the noise level was very loud from people standing outside on the sidewalk and in the parking lot. He also commented the decor in this section is extremely dated and worn. If staying here I would insist on rooms in the main hotel area and not in the Seaport area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My Mom, me and our two dogs stayed here over the weekend. I got a great deal on price and found that if you joined their rewards program, the dogs stay for free - normally $20 charge.
Our room was spacious with two COMFY queen beds. There was a small recliner, computer desk & chair, small fridge, microwave and a mini coffee maker. The tv was large and sat on top of the dresser. I liked the entry way that offered plenty of room to put your suitcase and have a bit of privacy when someone was using the bathroom, which was large too with double sinks, marble counter and curved shower curtain rod - always a nice bonus.
There was plenty of light with free standing lamps on the desk, behind the recliner and on the nightstand. Our room faced the river, but also the freeway so you could hear the trucks downshifting through the night - but that was all. I never heard anyone walking upstairs or in the hallway so I actually slept through the night - what a bonus.
They have a restaurant and bar in the hotel and feature meeting rooms and offer catering as well. They are situated in an area that has a sports store, McDonalds, Skippers and Arbys, plus many other places within walking distance.
For the dogs, there is a large grassy area for longer walks and space to take care of business. Sadly, too many pet parents were not responsible enough to pick up after their animals. I'm always surprised by this - did you not understand what your dog is going to do when you take them out? A nice bonus would be for the hotel to provide bags for this use.
I too, was disappointed by the pool. It was closed and you could use the health club across the parking lot - but who wants to hike over there on a cold evening? And it was only open to 7pm.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlFletcher, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Fellow dog owners!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay when visiting us last! Being a large breed dog owner myself I know how difficult it is to find a decent, clean hotel to stay in that is dog friendly. Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave such a detailed positive message for us that we can pass onto the staff to let them know there efforts have not gone unnoticed.

Carl Fletcher
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Lewiston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Lewiston

Address: 621 21st Street, Lewiston, ID 83501
Location: United States > Idaho > Lewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Lewiston 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Highways 12 and 95 on the confluence of the Clearwater and Snake Rivers, the Red Lion Hotel Lewiston is only minutes from the Nez Perce County Airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The nearby Clearwater and Snake Rivers offer a wide variety of recreational opportunities including fishing and boating. Take a walk, run or cycle on our many miles of trails along the Snake River. World-class golf courses are also nearby and Hell's Canyon is just a short distance away via jet boat tour.Our 183 spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the amenities you have come to expect from a first-class hotel including oversized bathrooms, Red Lion's signature Sealypillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable television with HBO, complimentary newspaper and valet and room service. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave and refrigerator and offer sweeping views of the Lewis/Clark Valley, Clearwater River and the famous Snake River.On-site amenities include a full service fitness center, whirlpool and seasonal outdoor pool. For your dining pleasure, our Meriwether's Bar & Grill features Northwest and traditional American Cuisine. M.J. Barleyhopper's Microbrewery and Pub offers over 60 beers and our very own award-winning hand crafted ales. The atmosphere at the Exchange Lounge is perfect for a quiet conversation while enjoying fine wine, microbrews, cognac, spirits and premium food service.With more than 13,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Lewiston is also able to accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, Lewiston's Red Lion Hotel is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Lewiston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewiston Red Lion
Red Lion Lewiston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Lewiston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.