We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing adventure + relaxing good times!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idaho River Adventures

Idaho River Adventures
19972 Homestead Loop, Lewiston, ID 83501
888-994-9490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Lewiston
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A trip on the Middle Fork of the Salmon is like no other. Situated in the largest Wilderness Area in the lower 48, the 105 mile long Middle Fork of the Salmon cuts the Frank Church-River of no Return Wilderness Area directly in half. You will see Native American cultural sites, remnants of early Euro-American homesteaders, and wildlife including bald eagles and osprey, mule deer, Rock Mountain bighorn sheep, river otter, and many others. The Middle Fork of the Salmon was one of the eight original river sections designated in 1968 under the Wild and Scenic Rivers Act and has been managed as a catch-and-release, blue Ribbon Trout fishery since 1973 making it the best dry-fly fishing Wilderness experiences in the World. You will not be disappointed with a trip down the Middle Fork of the Salmon.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing adventure + relaxing good times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Dustin and his crew are incredibly friendly and warm; they made our trip down the Middle Fork Salmon River the perfect end to a fun-filled summer. This was my wife's first river trip and each of her anxieties were quickly laid to rest by Dustin's experienced, fun-loving, and considerate staff. The food and equipment were first rate (and I'm a snob on both accounts)! The scenary was spectacular and there was plenty of time for birding, fishing, hiking, swimming, and simply watching the river and its abundant wildlife. I can't wait to paddle with IRA again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greatest fishing ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dustin and his entire crew put on a trip that is unbelievable. It is hard to believable you can get treated that well in a wilderness of such great magnitude. The Middle Fork of the Salmon River is an absolutely beautiful float. The water was down the first 25 miles so we had to "bush-pilot" in and that made the trip even more exciting. Three fantastic meals a day---all preceded by hors d'oeuvres---and anything you wanted to drink. The guides were excellent and catered to your every whim. The fishing was amazing. There was not one bad fishing spot on the entire 75 miles we floated. It was awesome!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Middle Fork of the Salmon River rafting with Idaho River Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had an incredible 6 day rafting trip down the Middle Fork of the Salmon River in Idaho with Idaho River Adventures. We have gone on a number of commercial river rafting adventures so we can highly recommend this river and this company. This river is in the largest Wilderness in the lower 48 states and when the water is high enough, the trip is over 100 miles. It is in a deep canyon that is so difficult to negotiate that when Lewis and Clark looked at it and realized they couldn't go down it. (The local native Shoshone had told them so, but they had to go look for themselves.) The trip starts at about 6000 ft. altitude and descends to about 3000 ft. so there is a lot of change in scenery from high mountain forests to high sage lands with Big Horn Sheep.

Idaho River Adventures is a new company and it tries harder. Dustin, the owner, is working over time to make sure communications are good before hand and accommodate everyone's needs.The guides were outstanding and made sure everyone was safe but also had a chance for some excitement on the river in the oar boats, paddle raft, and inflatable kayaks. The food was outstanding and was coordinated by Scotty, a professional cook (he refused to be called a chef). We had some meals I had never had on a rafting trip including a perfectly cooked prime rib in a Dutch Oven with home made mashed potatoes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trip of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

“Rafting the Middle Fork is the trip of a lifetime.” I'd heard that time and time again and NOW I know what all the fuss is about! The Middle Fork of the Salmon is an amazing spot on this planet and Idaho River Adventures was the perfect outfitter for us. Their attention to detail was great: hearty gourmet meals, best french press coffee, roomy tents and comfy sleeping pads (I never knew there was such a thing) Dustin and his crew are super knowledgeable and well experienced - safety, fun and the wonder of this river are wrapped into each moment. In addition to fun rapids and gorgeous canyons, stopping along the way for petroglyphs, hot springs, fishing and waterfalls made perfect side trips. Even tho our guides had seen it all before, it was evident that they were equally as enchanted as we were. Abundant wildlife, stories of early Middle Fork pioneers and songs around the campfire with new found friends made this trip spectacular. I’d go back in a heartbeat!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great river, great company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We felt completely taken care of, safe and spoiled...and had a blast. went with my wife and kids and we all had a great time. The river and rapids are great fun, we think the best in the US, and Dustin really takes care of everything. He had a bus transportation get us from the boise airport, and take us back, and suggested hotels the night before and after. The guides were incredible and shared great hiking opportunities, great food and just plain old good company. This was without a doubt the best vacation ever.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Idaho River Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idaho River Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.