We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hot Springs Inn to your Saves list
Riverside Hot Springs Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   255 East Portneuf Avenue, P.O. Box 127, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We are fre
The quent lava visitors as we have lived relatively close a few times. We decided to be thrifty on this visit and spend less than money than you spend at one of the nicer hotels. I would say the best part about this hotel is the staff and the breakfast. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.
The rooms and the private hot pools did not really impress. The beds were too saggy for my liking and the private pools did not compare to the real thing at the large pools.
This place does have a lot of potential and could be a great historical hotel that adds another great place to visit in Lava Hot Springs, Idaho.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    12
    15
    11
See reviews for
18
51
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is exactly what it advertises itself to be, a historical property with different types of rooms and PRIVATE mineral baths. My husband and I loved it. The staff was overly friendly and helpful without being intrusive and annoying. It is an older hotel and it states that. The reviews that were so negative actually prompted our stay. We will be back. The food was excellent we had steaks in the restaurant and the chef came table side to see if they were cooked to our liking, the weekend breakfasts were AWESOME. It was quiet and leisurely and that is what we were looking for. We also loved that the private tubs had sign up sheets so we could book our quiet time and not interfere with others. Stay here if you are looking for a quiet weekend away with you and your hubbie or wife.

Room Tip: Be sure to read the descriptions on the rooms. Some of them have private bathrooms and some have sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midvale, Utah, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

These guys saved our weekend. Last room in town! Greeted by the chef @ 10 at night wondering if we wanted him to cook something for dinner before he left. A nice welcome smile from the nice check in lady and a nice thick towel and Robe for a half an hour in a private mineral tub, right before we discover that they have a bar in the basement near the tubs.The bar tender Jill rocks!! They have a lovely Prime Rib dinner on Saturday nights that is to die for. It was like home away from home with classy and cozy dining then a couple of beers and good company to boot. Thanks Riverside Hot Springs Inn.... We WILL be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my first time staying at this little hotel, and I have to say that I won't stay anywhere else! The staff ensured that I was completely taken care of, from the towels in my room to the amazing meal that I had in the restaurant. The private hot soaking mineral pools are to die for! I slept like a rock after my soak. I was very pleasantly surprised at their Continental Breakfast. They have a Pastry Chef on staff that makes all the pastries! So Good!! I loved the Chocolate Croissants!
If you are looking for a historic (100 years old), romantic, and charming place to stay, stay at The Riverside!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is the third time my wife and I have come to stay at the Riverside Inn in Lava Hot Springs. The private hot tubs, the great food in the Portneuf Grill, and the amazing staff make this an amazing get away each time. I cannot recommend the Riverside enough.

Room Tip: 312 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The food and menu was excellent. The hotel is in need of a complete update. It's a quaint old building, but the beds are HORRIBLE! The bed was so uncomfortable that I slept on the floor. Old linens, lousy towels, and the soaking rooms aren't very nice either. A lousy way to experience this great hot springs town for the first time. Can't tell you where is better, every place looks old and outdated.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms would be ideal - place is old and worn out. Loud heater, old blankets, old beds, ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lava Hot Springs hotels

VT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff graciously welcomed us without a reservation after the original booking had ants, etc.
We rented the apartment for 2 nights. There is so much potential here to be tapped.
3 of the major appliances were broken and signs warning about their use needed to be replaced. The heating system was noisy but served the purpose of drowning out noises associated with historic buildings in need of rescuing . Plastic, out of season flowers in dining room aren't an asset.
Food was OK. At breakfast I asked about an egg white omelet . Cook doesn't like to do them. Had coffee. Excuse me, I'm the guest.
Front desk personnel were friendly and welcoming . They went out of their way when we had questions about the area.
Hopefully the owners can carry out their planned renovations. Their inn is one of the assets in Lava Hot Springs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hot Springs Inn

Address: 255 East Portneuf Avenue, P.O. Box 127, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hot Springs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The full service Riverside Hot Springs Inn is a historical hotel located in downtown Lava Hot Springs. The Inn features 18 unique guest rooms, meeting facilities, on-site hot mineral soaking facilities and massage therapy. A full service restaurant and lounge are on-site and open nightly for dinner and weekends for breakfast. The Riverside features 24 hour staffing and service. The Inn is located within 2 blocks of the Foundation hot mineral soaking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hot Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.