We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Gallo Giro

El Gallo Giro
482 West Main Street, Kuna, ID 83634
208-922-5169
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Kuna
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Kuna is a small town, but this Mexican restaurant is so good. We have been going there for a few years and have never been disappointed. The table side guacamole is delicious. The pollo chipotle, the mini chimichangas, and the chili verde are our favorites. Great service, great food. Worth the drive out there!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I enjoyed my whole evening at this Mexican restaurant. From the ambience, staff and the food. Every aspect of the evening will ensure that I will never forget this restaurant.

Food was the best Mexican food I have ever tasted!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best place for mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The food is the best in the area. Real authentic mexican food and nice, friendly staff. We ate at the bar because on a Friday night the place is crowded. The bar tender treated us as if he knew us and was very courteous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Id
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Kuna El Gallo Giro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Best restaurant in my 71 years of eating out. The owners or a manager are always present so service and food quality are always great. It just cannot be beaten and I have eaten mexican all over the country and in Mexico.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food, fun ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been going to this restaurant for many years. It has grown, is VERY BUSY, yet remains true to it's original "small family owned" beginnings. Often times, when restaurants expand, they loose quality for quantity. This is not the case at El Gallo Giro. Excellent "street tacos" only $1 each!! Also tried the Enchiladas Verde, excellent, Guacamole made table side...be sure to tip. This is the only job for this man. He goes from table to table the whole night! Delicious Horchata served in huge Margarita glasses. The bar is extremely busy used mostly by patrons waiting for tables. Overall, a great time and place for the whole family!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gallo Giro also viewed

 

Been to El Gallo Giro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gallo Giro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.