We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, a bit remote.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Dance Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kooskia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Dance Lodge
Save
You added River Dance Lodge to your Saves list
7743 Highway 12, Syringa, Kooskia, ID 83539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, a bit remote.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

My wife, children and I stayed for 3 nights during a corporate retreat. Overall the trip was great. Friendly staff. It is remote, which adds to its beauty, but if multiple parties are coming from different directions, there is quite a bit of driving after arriving at airports (closest is 2 hours plus). Fly fishing was good, as was the gentle (2/5 difficulty) river rafting. There is plenty of outdoor activities, but limited in children focused things. Its suited best for the very young child (infant) or early to late teen (self-sufficient). There was a very tasty Mediterranean menu. Despite being Idaho there wasn't an American steak or baked potatoe on the menu. We all ate great meals however. The biggest improvement that is needed if you are going on business or need to keep in touch is decent internet connectivity. There is only one older computer in the diner. Wireless is limited to about 100 feet from the diner so you can't access it from your cabins. The setting is nice, right across from the river, but also all cabins are just a few yards from the main road, so there is some road noise. The cabins are newer and well appointed, the landscaping has been started, but needs to be completed. Overall its a good 7 of 10, and a perfect overnight stop.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — its pretty much a road-side lodging with river access
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
28
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

I am in a business with 10 offices spread around the country. We have an annual meeting, usually at a unique location. I was able to talk the group into meeting here. Our schedule is to meet in the mornings and then "play" in the afternoons.

In short, we hit a home run. EVERYONE loved the experience, from the New Englanders to the Californians, to the Southerners.

The lodge was MOST accomodating to us and our schedule, customizng our stay with meals, meeting area, and activities. Never once did we hear, "I am sorry, but that is our policy". They are wonderful in figuring out how to make everything work.

Of course the accomodations were great. The food was spectacular. And the rafting, fishing, hiking, blackberry picking, riding, and relaxing were superb.

Ya think we liked it? Yes, we would highly recommend for a company function....or, of course, private vacation as well. This is the best.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDA, ID
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We ( a group of 8 women) spent 2 nights enjoying the outdoors and amenities at River Dance Lodge. We loved the hot tub, the cafe - for quality libation, the view and the clean cabins on the banks of the Clearwater River. Many outdoor sights in the region, including Historical places, hot springs, hiking, fishing, hunting etc.... whitewater rafting is the BEST in the season.

WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Place, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Fabulous rates, amazingly friendly, accommodating and helpful staff. The cabins are beautiful and so is the location. The fall colors were well worth the drive. And, they take pets! How could it get any better? Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The friendly staff really made a difference.
  • Disliked — We stayed late in the season and the cafe was closed (darn!) but we were directed to another great place up the road.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Beautiful massive cabins in the bluff over the Clearwater, great cooking, and very good natured staff, perched right on the edge of the Selway-Bitterroot wilderness

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Id
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stop here, at the cafe, every time we head to the Selway River.
The food--especially the huckleberry treats-- is delicious, the staff is wonderful, and the scenery is spectacular. On our most recent visit, we had dinner (refreshing, satisfying salads...perfect for hot weather) and afterwards discovered we had a flat tire. Staff members Vincent and Eric very graciously helped us put on the spare. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

If you want to get away from noise and pollution and hassles, this is for you!!! The food is fabulous , the river clear and cool, the wooded mountains peaceful, the rooms lovely, and the people friendly and fun. We swam, sat on the large porches watching flowers and birds, read books we brought and others from the little library, wined and dined, and each day relaxed more and more so that it was hard to leave.(Oh, the hot tubs help with the relaxation !)
There is something for everyone if you are willing to hang up the phone and quit playing computer games!!!
Back to nature without having to give up the luxuries-a perfect combination.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Dance Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Dance Lodge

Address: 7743 Highway 12, Syringa, Kooskia, ID 83539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Kooskia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kooskia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Clearwater River, the River Dance Lodge is Idaho's adventure hotel and resort. Enjoy rustic luxury and take advantage of guided fly-fishing, whitewater rafting, kayaking, horseback tours and hiking adventures. Each log cabin has a private hot tub and is decorated with creative and tasteful furnishings and local artwork. Mediterranean cuisine is available at an onsite restaurant, the Syringa Cafe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Dance Hotel Kooskia
River Dance Lodge Idaho/Kooskia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Dance Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.