We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Dance Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kooskia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Dance Lodge
Save
You added River Dance Lodge to your Saves list
7743 Highway 12, Syringa, Kooskia, ID 83539   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here three nights with an all-inclusive package that included great meals and fun activities. The whitewater rafting (run by Row Adventures) on the Lochsa was AMAZING! All the staff at the lodge were really helpful, they always had time to answer questions. Bryce was super and made a bunch of good recommendations for hiking in the area, even marking the spots (accurately!) on our map. The location of the River Dance Lodge is so beautiful, you can easily walk to access the river, as well as countless great spots within an easy drive. And of course our cabin was perfect, including our own hot tub right on our deck.Staying here was a big part of a wonderful vacation to celebrate our 20th anniversary, and we would love to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Owner at River Dance Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are appreciative of your support and very happy you loved your stay with us. It's hard to believe this is our tenth year of operations at River Dance Lodge and it's folks like you that make it all worth while. Bryce is a great guide and I'm glad he pointed out some good hiking spots of which there are so many in the area. With the Selway-Bitterroot Wilderness area just a few miles away, there are so many options to be immersed in nature. Thank you again and we hope to see you next season! -Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
28
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The large cabin was just perfect for our group of five, and could have fit several more people easily. The gas Franklin stove made the whole cabin cozy in no time, as the weather was cold for the first two days we were there. The hot tub was clean and enjoyed by all after a day of rafting on the Lochsa River. The staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful!
The Syringa Cafe served very good food for both breakfast and dinner, and they were more than willing to make any accomodations if we had asked. They also provided the food for ROW that the guides prepared for the rafters. It was delicious as well.
There was a charcoal bbq in the front of the cabin which could be used to grill, and also a fire pit for toasting marshmallows. The Lodge provided wood and charcoal if needed. The microwave, fridge, and coffee maker, and sink were helpful for snacks for our group, and could be used for larger meal prep if desired. We liked going to the Cafe though.
We would all recommend this location for a stay in the area or while rafting with ROW on the Lochsa River.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Owner at River Dance Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're all so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We've worked hard to make the cabins feel warm and cozy and happy you enjoyed the gas fireplace and hot tub! We're fortunate to be located along the Clearwater River and that you got to enjoy rafting on the wild Lochsa, one of the best whitewater trips in the world. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kooskia, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are happy to say- always happy to oblige any request when you voice it, and we only want most to give our guests the best experience they can have in this beautiful valley! We are looking forward to a lovely spring and summer and have a great deal of fun ideas to share! Stop by whenever you are passing through!

Thanks!

Room Tip: If you want the utmost in isolation- ask for Naturalist, but the most picturesque, Lewis n' Clar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Food was terrible, there was no choice at all not even for kids. What we did get was luke warm and of poor quality, I expected a lot more for the price charged. Very poor value for money. I could not recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: choose further back from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Recently returned from a four night stay at the River Dance Lodge, where we had a two bedroom cabin and the Serenity Package. Loved the beautiful cabin (very clean and comfortable). Sat outside every evening under the stars on our deck. Everyone loved the cabin's hot tub. Meals were delicious and they accomodated my vegetarian diet readily. Hint to those travelling with children: ask when you get there for kid-friendly menu items, these will be readily accomodated.
Went "floating" down the Clearwater river on tubes, swam at nearby pristine beaches, (bring your water shoes - lots of river rocks), and enjoyed a 3 hour long trail ride.
A great, memorable vacation!
Really enjoyed the break from our cell phones, too!
Great staff team, very pleasant, helpful and always smiling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We loved the remote, no "coverage" setting and awesome cabins. We needed a place to disconnect from the world and connect as a family spread across the west with few chances to just relax. The river made the trip great for the young folks with a great tube run about 3 miles up the road. (The Lodge is across the highway from the river and the best hangouts require a short drive) The setting was beautiful overlooking the Clearwater just on the other side of Highway 12 and even though it was hot during the the cabins cooled down quickly at night. Jodi came by to make sure we were well taken care of (and we were) Bryce, Daneil and Heather did a great job making us feel right at home at all hours of the day. We loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great but for a small group get the ones furthest from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My family and I traveled from Orlando, FL to visit the River Dance Lodge. We had a fantastic vacation! Everything was top notch - the hospitality, the love of the outdoors that Daniel and Bryce shared with us on our outings, the food. The staff was so friendly and accomodating. We visited with our kids (ages 6 and 8) who enjoyed every moment. Both my son and I were celebrating our birthdays, and Jodi made wonderful cakes for us. This is one of the only vacations that I was able to completely disengage from the outside world and relax... thanks to the lack of cell service. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Dance Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Dance Lodge

Address: 7743 Highway 12, Syringa, Kooskia, ID 83539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Kooskia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kooskia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Clearwater River, the River Dance Lodge is Idaho's adventure hotel and resort. Enjoy rustic luxury and take advantage of guided fly-fishing, whitewater rafting, kayaking, horseback tours and hiking adventures. Each log cabin has a private hot tub and is decorated with creative and tasteful furnishings and local artwork. Mediterranean cuisine is available at an onsite restaurant, the Syringa Cafe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Dance Hotel Kooskia
River Dance Lodge Idaho/Kooskia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Dance Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.