We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Knob Hill Inn to your Saves list
Knob Hill Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   960 North Main Street, PO Box 1327, Ketchum, ID 83340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
1 review
“The BEST Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The rooms are large, well appointed, and modern with very comfortable beds and large bathrooms. The lobby is inviting, warm and comfortable. The hot tub area is fantastic. The breakfast is great and the dinner restaurant is top notch. Everything is kept very clean. And most of all everyone that works there is extra happy and nice - willing to do anything and everything for you, from driving you anywhere and picking you up with smile, to helping you with your ski equipment needs, on and on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Ernest Hemingway's grave site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    11
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
80
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Idaho
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here twice over slack. Manager, front desk and kitchen employees were first rate. I was not expecting housekeeping and was surprised by them hanging up my coat and generally tiding up after me like I was living with my Mom. Nice continental type breakfast with great bread spread from Big Wood Breads, fresh fruits, yogurts, etc and warm meat/egg offerings. All very high quality. Like the single serve Starbucks coffee in the rooms. One little negative is that it is kind of hard to control the heat in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The hotel and guest rooms are very modern , clean and luxurious. Huge breakfast is included in room rate and was fabulous! Very close to downtown, but it was a little chilly so someone from the front desk dropped us off and picked us up after enjoying downtown Ketchum. We were there for the trailing of the sheep festival and this was a perfect location to enjoy the parade. Would love to visit this hotel again soon. Rooms are huge, and this is a nice place to relax for a while. They also have a beautiful restaurant. We didn't get a chance to try it, but it looked like a lot of locals enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have stayed many times in the Sun Valley/Ketchum area but had yet to stay with the folks at the Knob Hill Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful and more than willing to come get us from dinner with a free shuttle service they offer. We were taken on a quick tour of the hotel which included the pool/hot tub area. We used the pool area later and it was very relaxing as there were not many folks staying at the hotel during the slack time in Ketchum (we could imagine it getting a bit crowded during busier times). The room met our basic hotel criteria: clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was quite large, and the room neatly appointed. What we didn't realize was that breakfast came with the room which turned out to be a real treat. There are iPads in the breakfast area which was a nice surprise versus the standard newspaper. The breakfast was really good, granola made in house as well as egg dish and coffee cups to go. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Knob Hill on a recommendation from Sun Valley local friends and were not disappointed. The staff can't be beat anywhere! In fact we enjoyed it so much that we're spending 6 nights there over Thanksgiving. There is so much to like about it---besides the staff, the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is exceptional (thanks to "chef Fernando), the shuttle service to Ketchum restaurants (an outstanding extra in our opinion), They really understand how to treat guests!

Room Tip: We liked looking North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many fine places around the country but our experience at Knob Hill was what all the others were aspiring too. Beautiful views, tasteful decoration, convenient location, and amazingly helpful staff. The continental breakfast was so good that we skipped breakfast at the Kneadery and Cristina's (both amazing and regulars for us) and just stayed in. We loved the wood fireplaces throughout the building and the pool/hot tub indoor/outdoor setup. Never been served by a more helpful staff, this is our new go to place in Sun Valley!

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have great views of Galena Summit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed all that we have to offer! Our breakfast is considered a continental, but as you mention it is so much more than that and is a highlight for our guests! We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Thanks,

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from a quick "escape" to Sun Valley. Our stay at the Knob Hill Inn was outstanding. Gracious staff anticipated our needs - even though they were in their slack time. The room had a fireplace - all ready to light - and was very well appointed and amazingly clean. Robes, slippers, sparkling barware...very cozy. Appreciated Marie and Michael who supplied endless information and found great restaurants for us. We were disappointed that the in-house restaurant was closed for a break, but did not lack for good food in Ketchum and the breakfast had tremendous variety and both hot and cold. Very relaxing and quiet stay.

Room Tip: We loved the fireplace suite and because it was a "slack" time, rates were lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnobHillInn, General Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks for your recent stay! Slack time is a great time to visit because the prices are lower but our offerings and services stay the same! Plus it feels like your own private resort! Not to mention there are deals all over town at the shops and restaurants!
Come and see us again soon!

Thanks,

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Inn

Address: 960 North Main Street, PO Box 1327, Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley-Ketchum > Ketchum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knob Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience personalized service, and a warm and inviting European charm at the Knob Hill Inn, Sun Valley's premier boutique hotel. Generously sized guestrooms offer spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. And guests have preferred seating at The Grill at Knob Hill, Sun Valley's popular hot spot with ample seating for dining and socializing. Every stay includes: - Complimentary signature continental breakfast daily - 42" flat screen high-definition televisions in every room - Complimentary WiFi - Complimentary in-town shuttle serviceWithin walking distance to downtown Ketchum and close to all the amenities Sun Valley resort has to offer, the Knob Hill Inn is located in a peaceful setting with views of world-famous Bald Mountain, the majestic Smokey and Boulder Mountain ranges. You can also take advantage of our indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Whether you're looking to discover memorable summer fun for your Sun Valley, Idaho vacation, or experience our winter wonderland at America's first destination ski resort, the Knob Hill Inn Sun Valley is your choice for the perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Knob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knob Hill Hotel Ketchum
Knob Hill Inn Ketchum, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knob Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.