We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fifth stay and we've never been disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
180 South Main Street, PO Box 2172, Ketchum, ID 83340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Ketchum
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Our fifth stay and we've never been disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This October was our fifth trip to participate in the "Trailing of the Sheep" festival and parade. We have always found the Kentwood Lodge fresh and clean with cheerful staff. Park your car, and restaurants and shops are within a short walk. We don't usually stay at Best Westerns in the U.S., and this is one of the few exceptions. The staff and management obviously take pride in their property and it shows!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWKentwood, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad you had such a great time participating in the "Trailing of the Sheep"festival and parade. It has been listed as a top 100 event to come to. Congratulations to the festival and in your participation! It is wonderful that the parade goes right in front of the hotel,we do have a special location and I am glad that it makes it convenient for your stay,that's what we like to hear. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    46
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
64
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This was a charming property right on the main drag and log cabin/bear themed throughout. It looked like it had recently been recarpeted. The front desk clerk was vey welcoming and we had a 'snack pack' gift as we were Platinum card holders.
We had a side room so it wasn't too noisy and there was a small balcony with two chairs which was a pleasant place to sit and write my diary with mountain views. There was a nice lounge area and free internet access. There was a pool and spa right near reception.
The room was a nice size with the usual amenities including a fridge, microwave and a wet bar with a lovely granite style top. The bathroom had a panelled bath with a fixed shower head, loo and basin. The lighting was good throughout.
There is no breakfast which makes it less good value than some BWs but there are loads of restaurants to cater for all budgets closeby. We went to Sun Valley Resort as a treat as that's where I really wanted to stay. However on reflection we were glad we stayed in town as it was delightful and a lovely place to stroll and shop and eat. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWKentwood, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Thank you for your great response about our property. Your comments are very helpful to other possible guests looking to reserve at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your "snack pak" a small way to say thank you to our amazing Best Western Rewards Platinum members.We are also glad you were able to enjoy the amenities we offer our guests. We recently passed; with flying colors, an "Ultra Kleen" Inspection by Best Western Int. This is one way we keep our property in tip top shape for our guests. We hope to see you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
440 helpful votes 440 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We had a good stay at the Kentwood Lodge. Room was comfortable and nicely sized, with king bed, refrigerator, and microwave. Parking was good, right out in front of hotel. Check in was speedy (we were only ones).

A restaurant, WrapCity, is attached to hotel. Hotel recommended it for breakfast. For some reason, I just couldn't see eating at a wrap place for breakfast. We went to Cristina's, a local favorite. It was a good choice and a little more special than Wrap City.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWKentwood, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us! Thank you for your insightful review. We are glad you enjoyed your room. We had replaced our beds which are deluxe pillow topped and bedding to triple sheeting for the comfort of our guests this last year.
I'm sorry you didn't give Wrap City a try,they are a local must,and quite good. Wraps aren't the only menu item,which you can have wrapped in a tortilla or in a bowl with many egg combinations for breakfast. Oatmeal,granola's,bagels,muffins,fresh fruit are also a few other breakfast options. Christina's is special and we are glad you enjoyed them. It is very nice that they are just a short walking distance from the hotel too. Thank you for being our guests and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I are in sales so we travel a lot, about 70%. We have stayed in Best Westerns before and have always been satisfied so that's what this experience was a surprise. We checked in a day early and were told we would need to switch rooms, no problem. I mentioned that I had a meeting at 11 and one at 12:30 so we could switch at 10:00 or 2. The woman at the front desk was less then helpful. She told us to pack up everything and bring our stuff back downstairs before we left. She didn't leave a note for the am staff to explain the situation, (in case a room opened up before we left we could just move into it, etc..). She seemed disturbed that we were taking her off of surfing the internet and wasn't about to step an inch out of her way to help us. The first am we woke up to a smell of fumes in the room (at 6am), it was in the halls as well. There was no one at the front desk, then when someone finally showed up, he said"yeah, it's probably diesel (I know the smell of diesel and it wasn't diesel) and he said, those guys do that all the time". I would have liked knowing what I was breathing for over an hour. Also, no sorry for the inconvenience. The third am we woke at 2:00 to our fire alarm chirping from low battery. The same guy came to fix it, on the way out we get a "oh ya, sorry". This was the worst case of customer service I have ever experienced at a hotel. There are other, better options in Ketchum for a better price, we suggest, for the sake of your lungs and sleep, you go there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWKentwood, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
We truly care about our guest's and want everyone to enjoy their stays. We welcome constructive criticism,as it helps us get better. We apologize once again for your inconveniences. I thank your husband for his compliment to Paul, our head Maintenance employee who responded to your 2am call. Our Executive Housekeeper helped facilitate your move and we are glad you had a better stay for the next three nights you stayed with us. To help ease your discomfort we offered your husband a free night stay in an upgraded room or an amount off your stay. He didn't care and we then adjusted the amount off your stay. We apologize once again and appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff, very clean, good beds for a good night's sleep. It doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWKentwood, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you for your direct and very appreciative review. "You have hit the nail on the head",as they would say. We thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Montana
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

As the other reviewers have noted, this is the best that Ketchum has to offer. The reservation was handled on line and when we arrived, we were warmly and professionally greeted by the front desk person. A second person came to the desk as well and was warm, polite and very professional. The parking under the building was wonderful - we parked and did not move until we left the next morning. Our reservation was exactly as we had made it and they already had our keys made up for us, which was thoughtful and saved time in check in.
Please note that this hotel does not include breakfast - for the price, they should have detailed our car, but to be fair, this is a destination spot and their prices are right in line with if not slightly better than the others.
We asked for a dinner recommendation and it was spot on.
The room itself was fine - nothing notable, not exceptional and nothing to think other than a positive thought and we would return again..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWKentwood, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We try to have exceptional customer care,and we are glad you noticed. It was nice to hear you enjoyed some of the amenities we have to offer our guests. We appreciate you as our guest and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I was very impressed with the Kentwood Lodge. From the moment I arrived, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent - nothing fancy, but very clean and cozy. As an added bonus, my third-floor room had a great view of Bald Mountain! There is some limited covered parking (free), and the hotel is within walking distance of all of the restaurants and shops in downtown Ketchum.

While not strictly a "ski lodge", the Kentwood is a great place for skiers/snowboarders to stay (especially if on a budget). The hotel has lockers for your ski equipment - just ask the front desk staff for a locker key when you check in. The Kentwood is on the city's free bus line and is a quick five-minute ride from the River Run Lodge (base of the ski area). Just be sure to grab a bus map/schedule when you check in... the bus routes can be a bit confusing, and the pickup times are limited. The Kentwood has an indoor pool and whirlpool, which is great for relaxing after a day on the slopes. There's also a fitness center and free wireless internet. Breakfast is not included - but your room key gets you 10% off at the breakfast shop located next to the hotel (and the food there is very good!)

I can't say enough about my stay at the Kentwood. I was truly impressed with the service, the room, and the hotel in general. I'll definitely stay there the next time I go to Sun Valley!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWKentwood, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and in taking the time to do so! I am just as impressed with your review as you are with us. Your comments are very helpful to our future guests,and we appreciate your details. We hope to extend exceptional customer care to our guests,and it's fabulous you noticed. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge

Address: 180 South Main Street, PO Box 2172, Ketchum, ID 83340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley-Ketchum > Ketchum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Location! Steps away from dining, dancing, theatre, shopping in the heart of Ketchum, Sun Valley's place to be. All rooms are non-smoking,spacious,and comfortable with Deluxe pillow top beds and triple sheeting. Upgraded with NEW 42" LCD TVs in all rooms and NEW WIFI system. Fireplaces, balconies, in-room spas, kitchen suites with an extended area complete with kitchen amenities are available. Honeymoon suite has a red heart-shaped jacuzzi spa, fireplace, double headed shower & bidet! We offer our guests a $5.00 value at the Wrap City Cafe onsite restaurant,with qualifying rates. Pets, bikes, skis, snowboards are not allowed in the rooms. We do have free ski lockers to help accommodate. Some covered parking is available. Mt. views are spectacular, being only 7 blocks away from Mt. Baldy for your enjoyment. We are certified in Best Western's Ultra Clean program, and have been awarded by Best Western Int. 3 Best of the Best Awards. This past year we have earned Chairman's Awards, signifying being in the top 5% of all Best Westerns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kentwood Hotel Ketchum
Best Western Ketchum
Ketchum Best Western
Best Western Kentwood Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge Ketchum, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.