We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I stay when in SV..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
180 South Main Street, PO Box 2172, Ketchum, ID 83340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ketchum
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The only place I stay when in SV..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Park your car and walk or bike to everything..Clean.Quiet.Comfy..And the staff is friendly and helpful too..I've been going to Sunvalley for about fifteen years and it was the 1st[and only]place I stayed..After a night of fun at all the nearby bar/ restaurants,you have the Kneadery a block away for the best breakfast in town..A lot of times you'll spot a celeb or 2 hav'n breakfast there..

Room Tip: The suites are sweet..But all the rooms are nice,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your sweet review,your compliments and loyalty are greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    54
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
83
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, WA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early August, in a lovely, newly redecorated large room with a small balcony at the front of the hotel. The clerk at the front desk was very welcoming and informative about downtown Ketchum. The lobby is quite small, but there are a few charming features on the first floor: the duck decoys that float in the indoor swimming pool, and the wonderful covered parking that shades cars from the sun. There are also lockers for snow skis and nice coin-operated laundry facilities.

Our room was well-lit, and had a handy alcove with bar sink, a 4-cup coffeemaker, a mini fridge and a microwave. There were also two bench-like areas for suitcases – much nicer than the fold-out racks. The king bed was superbly comfortable, accented with a Pendleton-style fleece blanket. The furniture was Western rustic, and quite handsome; lighting was excellent. The oversized showerhead in the bathroom was a luxe touch.

Breakfast is not included, but Ketchum has a number of good choices within walking distance. And, the hotel gives out coupons for $5 off per person at the café next door. It has delicious breakfast wraps and bowls; try the one with smoked trout, scrambled eggs and red onions. Scrumptious!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! You have stated it quite well and I am sure future guests will be able to imagine their stay with us by your wonderful descriptions. We are very appreciative of your generous compliments and hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this facility on August 26. Joseph at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Check-in was quick and easy. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated. Our tiny balcony was a perfect spot for a glass of wine while recovering from a long day on the road. Wireless internet connection was easy. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are very pleased you had a wonderful experience with us and a comfortable stay. I am happy to pass on your nice compliment to Joseph,and both he and I appreciate it as well. We hope to be that perfect spot for you once again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I had checked into the Tamarak Lodge as it had the highest rating from TA. My gut was shakey when I got there; checked in, went to room, immediately returned key and left. Fortunately there were openings here. Very quiet, comfortable, computer available, great location. This hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for making a choice in staying with us,we are really glad you had a better experience and had a comfortable stay! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My office hosted a two-day board meeting at this hotel. We rented the conference room and 26 sleeping rooms. We had several miscommunications with the front desk staff which resulted in the entire event being cancelled (by them) and rescheduled (by us). Three sleeping rooms were rescheduled for the night before the reservation, then marked as no-shows, so that when three of us arrived we had no reservations. The manager was incredibly rude and demanded to speak to several people in our party to accuse us of deceiving her. She refused to apologize for her desk staff misunderstanding what we had tried to tell them, even when we apologized for being unclear. Unbelievably bad customer service. We will never return. I found a much nicer place down the road and we will go there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
On behalf of our entire team and myself,I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a great experience for our guests. In the planning of the meeting,it was implemented by the Executive Assistant of the Foundation,then cancelled by one of your Board Members letting us know he would let us know when it would be rescheduled. The day after this,you called and stepped in to reschedule it,which I helped do.You had not known why he had cancelled it. In the planning of this meeting we had at least four different people give us plans,changes,and demands. We tried to accommodate the different needs of these different individuals who were all doing so for the same one day meeting. In regards to the three sleeping rooms for you and two other staff members,these rooms were held awaiting your arrival even though your arrival date was unclear. As the Communication Director, you offered for me to visit with the other 2 staff members you arrived with,and I obliged. I did not demand to speak to them,and I listened as you had them tell me their story.
We provided a great meeting space with an excellent review by you on the catering of the event by our on site restuarant,Wrap City Cafe. Your companies guests,(which we had 10 reservations of Board members,and 5 of staff members,most of who reserved online with no communication that they were coming as a group for a meeting with us), complimented our comfortable and clean guest rooms and were pleased with how we accommodated their extra needs and requests during their stay.
We appreciated the Foundation having their board meeting with us,and we apologize once again for any miscommunications that occured.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Kentwood completely messed up our reservations and then instead of calling us to correct it they just cancelled it so when we arrived they just shrugged and said "sorry." They said they didn't have our number, but they had called us when we were making the reservation, so that couldn't have been true. We were disappointed in their organization, lack of follow through and that they didn't even accept the blame when I had them recorded on my voicemail! We ended up finding the last room in Ketchum at Pennay's condos. We were so glad! For the same price we had a much bigger, nicer room with a full kitchen, more ammenities and easy access to biking trails, the ski lodge, and the river for fly fishing. AND just 3 blocks from downtown Ketchum. We're sure glad they saved us because Kentwood really could have messed up our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are sorry for the confusion and we do care. That's why we tried to call; as a courtesy to our guests. We had a new employee who did not list your phone number,once she called in the beginning,as we found out when we tried to contact you on the dates of your arrival. We were concerned and so we held the reservation for a day &1/2 after the arrival day came and went with out any contact,I don't know how many hotels that would do that if they didn't care. At that point we didn't hold it any longer. As far as 15 other guests that had a same experience? I think this is questionable. As future guests can see on travel sites, we have been listed #1 in the area,with exceptional reviews. Once again we're sorry,and we are glad to hear Pennay's condo's was able to take care of you and you enjoyed your stay in the Sun Valley area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is our 6th visit to Sun Valley. Previously we've stayed at the townhouse rentals of Sun Valley Lodge and Elkhorn Resort.
My wife found this property on Trip Advisor and was quite impressed with the rave reviews..... we decided to give it a try.
WOW were we impressed!!!
This is, by far, the best stay we've ever had in Sun Valley. During our 6 day visit, we were always treated like honored guests by everyone we met on the staff. The property is exquisitely maintained and impeccably clean with a LOT of attention to detail. It's central location, within walking distance to everything in Ketchum, was a BIG plus for us over the resorts.
After a few days here at Kentwood, we truly felt like we were home.... most everyone greeted us by name and constantly queried us, asking if there was anything more that they could do for us.
We will be back to Sun Valley soon.... and there is not one shred of doubt where we will be staying next time.... it's KENTWOOD for us!!!

Erik L.
Olivenhain, CA

Room Tip: Some rooms have mountain views..... ours was SPECTACULAR!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am so impressed with your rave review! Thank you! I hope this makes quiet the impression on our future guests and they too will stay with us. It is an honor to have you and our guest's stay with us,we are very grateful! We enjoyed you while you stayed with us and are glad to know that we made you feel special. We hope to see you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge

Address: 180 South Main Street, PO Box 2172, Ketchum, ID 83340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley-Ketchum > Ketchum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Location! Steps away from dining, dancing, theatre, shopping in the heart of Ketchum, Sun Valley's place to be. All rooms are Non-smoking,spacious,and comfortable with Deluxe pillow top beds and triple sheeting. Upgraded with NEW 42" LCD TVs in all rooms and WIFI is free. Fireplaces, balconies, in-room spas, kitchen suites with an extended area complete with kitchen amenities are available. Honeymoon suite has a red heart-shaped jacuzzi spa, fireplace, double headed shower & bidet! We offer our guests a $5.00 Value at the Wrap City Cafe onsite restaurant,with qualifying rates. Pets, bikes, skis, snowboards are Not allowed in the rooms. We do have free ski lockers to help accommodate. Some covered parking is available. Mt. Views are spectacular, being only 7 blocks away from Mt. Baldy for your enjoyment. Free Local bus thru town,River Run Ski Plaza at Mt. Baldy&Dollar Mtn.We are certified in Best Western's Ultra Clean program, and have been awarded by Best Western Int. 3 Best of the Best Awards. This past year we have earned Chairman's Awards, signifying being in the top 5% of all Best Westerns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kentwood Hotel Ketchum
Best Western Ketchum
Ketchum Best Western
Best Western Kentwood Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge Ketchum, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.