We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Wine Selection, Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Valley Wine Company

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Valley Wine Company
360 Leadville Ave, Ketchum, ID 83340
1 206 726 2442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 69 Restaurants in Ketchum
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Huge Wine Selection, Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine. Our wives were shopping so my buddy and I headed to "the wine shop" for a drink. Mid-Sunday afternoon during ski season so the place was empty. We each had a glass of wine, seated in the deep and comfortable leather furniture around the fireplace, with views of Bald Mountain just above the roof-line of the neighboring building. It's not always that peaceful, but always good regardless of how many customers are in the room. Wines by the glass can be sampled so you really can get just the right taste you’re wanting. Snacks and food is always well prepared and tasty. Drink in or purchase from the wide selection for take home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good Selection of Wine with Cozy Fireplace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have had mixed experiences going to the Wine Company over the past several years. A few years back we stopped going because the owner/proprietor was clearly favoring his local friends (ie, telling us they were out of appetizers and then producing a full array for friends arriving later). We decided to give it a try again this year and the service was a bit better. Still good selection of wine and an improved (and available!) appetizer menu. My husband consistently finds wines to purchase at competitive price from Wine Spectator's Top 100 list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love the SV Wine Company. Light lunch selections are standard and tasty.Wines by the glass or hundreds of bottles to choose from to enjoy for a small corkage charge. Wonderful fireplace and private deck. Service is always excellent. Atmosphere is always fun and very enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A charming find ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

When we were too late to have lunch at the Kneadery, they suggested the S.V. Wine Company, where we found lots of wine ... and lots of charm. The manager was extremely helpful and friendly. The lunch suggestions were perfect and we ended up splitting a pizza and salad accompanied by lovely wine. I'd definitely recommend stopping by here any time of the day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Always an entertaining and tasty interlude at one of our favorite spots in the Valley. Easy to find a great wine to go with your panini.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Valley Wine Company also viewed

Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
 
Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
 

Been to Sun Valley Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Valley Wine Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.