We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Starbucks with a pamphlet stand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Valley Visitor Center

Sun Valley Visitor Center
491 Sun Valley Rod, Ketchum, ID 83340
(208) 726-3423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Attractions in Ketchum
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful Starbucks with a pamphlet stand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We broke a six month latte fast with a wonderful grande nonfat latte. The staff was great and this place is gorgeous and very unique. The visitor center is "self-service"..... it is a wall with pamphlets. If you are looking for coffee, however, it is a nice Starbucks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ketchum, Idaho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I spent one week traveling through Yellowstone National Park, Grand Tetons, and Sun Valley Idaho, driving through UT, MT, WY and ID. We both fell in love with Ketchum, Idaho as a vacation destination when we stayed in a time share for 3 full days. The beauty of being there in late summer and early fall speaks for itself, but one attraction was also that it is somewhat 'inconvenient' to get to, which for us meant less people. It is not just a winter ski resort town, but during the summer there seem to be enough activities to keep everyone busy, as well as numerous rivers, creeks, national parks, trails and other nature spots to just hike in and enjoy.

The gondolas run all year and we took a ride up to the middle of the mountain and then continued in open ski lift to the top. The views were breath taking and we were lucky with beautiful weather.

Horseback riding was also enjoyed and there are local places for this, without too much travel. Each day there are enough things to explore and quaint shops, restaurants and coffee shops.

An hour drive to Stanley, ID (population 63!) led us to more beautiful scenery, friendly people and great little spots for lunch and coffee.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I'm not sure if every person working at the visitor center is this way, but we had the best experience there. Our helper was very nice and had all the answers to our questions. She even gave us more tips on where to go, what to visit and how to get there. Very impressed!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Great architecture in the middle of Ketchum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Beyond my favorite cup of espresso, and the comfort available to visitors looking through the visitor center brochures, this building is sensational. The unique updating of a log cabin concept into a total contemporary and extrordinary environment sets a tone for our dear Ketchum by creating a central place to relax, enjoy friends and uplift the spirit. The vaulting logs reaching to the skies are just brilliant. Kudos to the great talent of the architect, to Starbucks and to Ketchum for a great vision and relevant combination of Starbucks with the visitor center.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful, but not so Knowledgable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The woman working at the visitor's center was really friendly and completely willing to spend time with us, but really seemed lacking in some basic knowledge about the area which is a little strange for someone working at the visitor's center. There is a history tour that only happens on Friday nights and since we weren't going to be there to actually go on that tour, I pulled the brochure and asked her where some of the places on that tour were so that we could just go see them ourselves. She didn't know many of the places on that list. But she could not have been friendlier or more willing to help.

The visitor center itself is a cool building with logs on the exterior (not in the way you are used to seeing log buildings). There is a Starbucks inside that seemed pretty busy. There is also a mini-Hemingway tribute room inside an old safe in the building which was really nice. There seemed to be many places for people to sit down and relax.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Valley Visitor Center also viewed

Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
 
Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
Ketchum, Sun Valley-Ketchum
 

Been to Sun Valley Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Valley Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.