We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Mother's Day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tamarack Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Ketchum
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“An Amazing Mother's Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family and I met some close friends and their kids over Mother's Day at the Tamarack Lodge. We had a wonderful time in the pool and hot tub with our kiddos! We brought our dogs which was a treat. The location of this hotel really can't be beat... a short walk to downtown and just on the road to the Sun Valley Lodge. Just to the north of the lodge was a grassy field for our kids and dogs to get the wiggles out. And, there were even friendly horses who would come by to say hi! Our room had a mini fridge and a micro which were totally helpful for feeding the fam! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you can get them the suites are amazing. Lots of space with good amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Kathryn,
Thank you very much for your great review of the Tamarack Lodge. We are so happy your Mother's Day was spent with us at the Tamarack Lodge. As you mentioned we are pet friendly and located right in the heart of it al in Sun Valley. We look forward to your next visit to Sun Valley.
Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
34
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Cant wait to go back tom wright was the best person to help us on our vacation he was the greatest. I hope he still works there. He made our trip that much better.great people and views such a good place to sit down and unwind.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Fernando,
I will be sure to tell Tom what an impact he had on your vacation. I am so pleased you had such a great experience staying at the Tamarack Lodge. We look forward to your return.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to stay right in the heart of Sun Valley within walking distance to coffee shops, art galleries, shopping and many many many restaurants - casual and fine dining. The rooms were comfortable, exceptionally clean, with mini fridge and microwave. I would definitely recommend the lodge and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Deni2626,
Thank you ver y much for your great review of the Tamarack Lodge. If location is what you are seeking then there is no better place to stay in Sun Valley. I appreciate you calling out all of the details that we work hard to provide during a stay with us.

Thanks again,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night and wished it could have been more. Beautiful room, comfortable bed, all the comforts of home plus a better TV. I probably can't add anything that hasn't already been said. Just go there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wingnutt2000,
Thank you very much for your review. It is really helpful to have a review this good from someone who is such a contributor on Trip Advisor. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here many times and we are always pleased with the very clean rooms and friendly staff! We were on the third floor and they do not have an elevator but Tom at the desk helped us with all our luggage. This is a lovely place, they couldn't have a better location. It's the only place to stay in Sun valley.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Snowbunny94,
Thank you for your repeat business. It means so much to us that you always stay with us at the Tamarack Lodge. We appreciate you saying we are the only place to stay inSun Valley. I'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Tom.
Thanks,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great deal in the heart of Ketchum. I've stayed in Ketchum/Sun valley area many times and the tamarack lodge is definitely where I will be staying from now on. I will be back very soon, Thanks Tom

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mountainmanbill,
Thank you for your kind review. We pride ourselves on being the best value in the Sun Valley area while providing a great clean room. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very convenient location I didn't have a vehicle and didn't need one. Great comfortable quit room I was in the king room on the 3rd floor loved it. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff Tom was vantastic. They also have free bike rentals to take advantage of and an indoor pool. If I ever come back to Sun valley I know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
AZcardinal78,
It really is true that you do not need a vehicle when you are staying at the Tamarack Lodge. Being located right in the heart of Ketchum it allows our guests the ability to walk to all of the grew spots in Sun Valley. Having a pool with a great view of the mountain is such a perk. We have also just redone the patio outside the hot tub with new pavers and new teak patio furniture. Its a great place to relax and enjoy the view. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sun Valley.
Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley-Ketchum > Ketchum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamarack Lodge looks forward to your visit to the Sun Valley area welcoming you with beautiful spacious rooms, comfort, unmatched hospitality, combined with unparalleled location all yours in the heart of downtown Ketchum, with all the comforts of home. The property also has a beautifully landscaped courtyard, a wonderfully relaxing outdoor hot tub with a great mountain view and a year-round indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum, Idaho
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.