We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RV Park Review - Nice Place for One Night Camp” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gold Mine

Crystal Gold Mine
Silver Valley Road, Kellogg, ID
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Kellogg
Type: Mines, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“RV Park Review - Nice Place for One Night Camp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a review of the Crystal Gold Mine and RV Park, specifically the RV park as that was our experience while passing through in May 2014. This was a great place to pull our RV in to spend the night. As they don't have any restrooms or showers, I don't believe I'd spend more than a night or two here, however, the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Great people and a really nice, quiet and comfortable RV campground. No TV antenna signal or cable available nor was there any WiFi available. No picnic table, but there was a fire-ring available and lots of free wood. Plenty of room between the spots and gold panning available if you'd like to try your luck! I'd stay here again while passing though the area.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“To Actually See the Gold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Yes, you actually see the gold and other minerals in the rock walls--very cool! This is not a typical gold mine in that it was "accidentally" found only about 20 years ago. I enjoyed the tour and panning experience, but mostly I liked the fact that this business is operated by one family of extremely nice and accommodating people! I would recommend this for all ages.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It was really fun just walking through the tunnel. I liked it because you actually got to go up to real gold and silver, and it painted a picture of what miners did the late 1800s and early 1900s. It was really fun.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Golden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ray and Sherry, owners of Crystal Gold Mine, were friendly and knowledgable. Ray gave us the tour through the mine. He was conscientious about our safety, knowledgable about mining and the area in general. His excitement about the relatively recent re-discovery of this mine was obvious. It was originally mined in the 1880's but was not discovered again until 1991. Their goal to keep the mine open for educational purposes, teaching children of the area and visitors traveling through about gold mining and local history, is admirable. Well worth a stop!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great, Educational, Interesting stop in North Idaho.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are RV'ing in Couer d' Alene, ID. and after a nice walk along the lake decide to visit a gold mine. We entered through the gift shop and were warmly greeted Sherry. We paid our fee and were introduced to our guide, Ray who was the owner along with Sherry of the mine. Ray took us on our tour of the real gold mine. He had a great knowledge of the history of mining in that area of Idaho. He grew up in a silver mining town and had been a silver miner. The insights he was able to give us made the tour unbelievably interesting. His demonstration of the darkness in the mine in the 1880's was amazing. We saw several families taking this tour and their kids were having as interesting time as we were. This is a must see stop for anybody visiting this area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Gold Mine also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gold Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.