We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Family Reunions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawtelle Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sawtelle Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4133 Quakie Lane, Island Park, ID 83429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
“Perfect for Family Reunions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Tons to do, treated well, & 22 miles from Yellowstone. Bunk houses are awesome. Nice pavilion to use. Situated next to High Mountain Adventures, which was nice so we could rent Kayaks, ATV's, mountain bikes, etc.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    17
    14
    23
See reviews for
30
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We went to Island Park with grown children and our eight year old grandson to snowmobile and relax. We rented two of the condos (they have adjoining doors) even though one would have been enough as we wanted everyone to have plenty of privacy and convenience. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and left the following Wednesday. We took food to be able to 'eat in' after riding the snowmobiles each day. (There are a couple of nice restaurants nearby, but we preferred to not go out after riding all day.) The kitchens were very well arranged to be able to visit while getting meals ready and provided everything we needed in the way of appliances and utensils. The mountain motif of the rooms added to the fun of being in Island Park. The furniture and beds were all very comfortable, the hot tubs were a fun and welcome bit of relaxation after being in the snow all day, and the washer/dryers came in handy. We didn't watch much TV, but used one of them for our grandson's video games and the other to watch a movie we brought with us. However, there were a lot of channels available and the reception was good. The staff was friendly, readily available and provided excellent service. We found nothing lacking in our experience at Sawtelle Mountain Resort and plan to return for another family vacation next winter if everyone's schedule allows. For those looking for a quiet, informal and relaxed getaway, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I had a room at Sawtelle Mtn Resort the second week of October. I stayed in the hotel part of the complex. Nothing fancy, but it was a nice room and I was just there to fish, so spent little time at the complex. It was quite late in the season, so they were draining/cleaning the indoor pool.
This is in the West. It is not an adventureland type resort. More of a hotel/motel. So, it depends on your expectations. It is well located for those who want to enjoy the local fishing/hiking, etc. It is a short drive to Yellowstone Park.

There is a good restaurant within walking distance.

The staff was very friendly. I wanted to tie flies at night, so I asked if they had an extra lamp and they got one for me.

After viewing the bad comments, I considered canceling before I got there. I was quite satisfied!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

As stated before - The word RESORT is a JOKE - The office closed @ 8:30 - there is NO internet access after that and the Resturant wasn't even open at 8:30 A.M. when we were there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I didn't do my homework like I normally do when we select lodging. Lesson learned the hard way!

By the time we really looked at the room, my husband had carried heavy coolers & luggage up the stairs and he didn't want to move or I would have not stayed there.

The bedspread was obviously dirty - we left it on the floor. The bathroom - not clean - and the toilet was mounted on a board and it teetered horribly, and it also ran off & on which was noisy. The room was supplied with one tiny bar of soap. Obviously you need at least two - for sink and shower. There was only a small partial amont of TP left on the roll in the bathroom. The bed was very cheap and uncomfortable. When we decided to check out the indoor heated pool and hot tub - both still advertised on the website and on the sign at the entrance to the property - we found the pool to have filmy looking water in it. The hot tub was empty other than a small puddle at the bottom. We went to the desk to ask about the hot tub, hoping it can be filled upon demand. We were told that it was "kaput". We were told there is a hot tub on the deck behind the office. We went to look at it and again found water that looked less than clean. That hot tub was overed with a tarp which was held in place by a 2x4 board. There is a sign in the room that tells you not to try using the microwave, coffee maker and plug in a hair dryer at the same time. When we had asked for fresh towells, we were greeted with such an attitude that we decided to just go to the store and buy toilet paper and soap. We stayed there two nights and the morning after our first night our room was never cleaned. After two nights we decided to pack up and go home. What a lousy experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We have been traveling across America for 8 weeks and this was easily the worst place we have stayed!!! We have stayed in MUCH nice motels for half the price.
Firstly the door to the room did not lock from the outside, anyone could have walked in and stolen our belongings while we were not there, we even confirmed this with the staff, who was not ashamed to admit the fact.
Secondly, the room was located in what seemed to be a temporary structure.
The decor of the room looked like a ' mountain lodge' themed room you would find in a brothel in the 80's. The room was dusty and we ended up using our own sheets.
The advertised 'Cable TV' consisted of 5 snowy channels.
Generally poor, over-priced and would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

My husband and I chose this place due to the location to Yellowstone. The young gal at the front desk was the most pleasant part of our stay. We had a pet so this was another reason to stay here.
The room was small shower barely fits one person the TV didn’t work half the time when it did no cable or TV channels …. No wifi as promised.
I called the front desk (somebody) was working on this issues but 3 days later still no change.
The location to Yellowstone is 20 min away. There are a few restaurants around the hotel the one across the street treats you right.
This is No major hotel with 5 stars so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawtelle Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawtelle Mountain Resort

Address: 4133 Quakie Lane, Island Park, ID 83429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawtelle Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawtelle Mountain Resort offers room to fit any size and any budget. From a Single room to large 25 person groups. We have luxury family cabins for a party of 22 fully furnished. We have a large park for reunions with an indoor swimming pool, and spa. We have rentals of canoes and mountain bikes also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sawtelle Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawtelle Mountain Hotel Island Park
Sawtelle Mountain Resort Island Park, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawtelle Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.