We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real outdoors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drift Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Drift Lodge to your Saves list
The Drift Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Drift Lodge
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   4771 N Hwy 20, Island Park, ID 83429   |  
Hotel amenities
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The real outdoors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

You have to research this before you book as it may not be for you. If you want the pool, the restaurant and shops and people then look elsewhere. You don't need GPS to find it, it's not remote at all, it's on the main highway and a short drive to Yellowstone. We only booked one night and wished we'd booked more to do a spot of fishing in the nearby lake. The cabin was an older style but had been redone inside to a very good standard. The furnishings were all in a charming rustic/cabin fashion with full kitchen facilities. The beds and bathroom were spotless, it was one of the best nights sleep with fantastic views in the morning. There was nothing better than having a steak and a beer on the veranda and looking at the stars. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I rated a lodging place. This is in Idaho, in a country side, in a residential area combined with commercial. The rooms are decent to be fair to the owners. But looking for this place using GPS, map quest, yahoo map, google wasi impossible. We found the place after on our way back to the town. There are no pathway lights and have a dog that is unleashed. Very dissapointing. I told booking.com to take this out of their list of hotels; security, accessibility, customer service are all sub-par.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Ranches, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel was a group of cabins. We got there late and left early so we basically used it as a place to sleep and not more. I don't believe there were any amenities other than just the lodging (no pool or restaurant that I saw) We got through yellowstone late and called to let them know that we were on the way. They told us the office closed at 7 but they would be there 'til 9. As a result we had to hurry down there to check in and then go have dinner after that. The room had a futon, a twin over full bunk and a separate bedroom with a queen bed, which was very comfortable. The accomodations were comfortable. There was a full sized refridgerator and a microwave which was a plus because we were travelling with small kids. However, the microwave wasn't clean. When we told the proprietor she got a little defensive that she had cleaned the place herself. I didn't like that the towels were all different colors. I prefer white towels in a hotel where you can tell that they are really clean. I saw a coffee pot but didn't see coffee supplies. In the end, it served our purpose. The cabin slept 7 and was $139/night which was a good deal and far less expensive than West Yellowstone. Its about half an hour from the entrance of Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night before heading into Yellowstone the next day. We had a queen cabin. Although the cabin itself is obviously quite old, it was completely redone on the inside just recently. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on! The cabin had a fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. Also had Direct TV. This was by far the cheapest price I found in the Yellowstone area, and it was an absolute gem. I would stay here again without question. Probably about 15 minutes from the West entrance to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Cabin A rocked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Drift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drift Lodge

Address: 4771 N Hwy 20, Island Park, ID 83429
Location: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty lodging in Island Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Drift Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins with Beautiful views on the Mountains included Kitchenettes and Linen that sleep up to 7. All Cabins are located on ATV & Snowmobile Trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drift Lodge Island Park, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drift Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.