We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disregard the bad reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on the Falls to your Saves list
Hotel on the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 River Parkway, Idaho Falls, ID 83402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Hamilton, Montana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disregard the bad reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had read thoroughly reviews before I came. I did upgrade to the Tower, mostly for location. I have so many good things to say I hardly know where to begin. First, gorgeous property, gorgeous location, literally on the falls. Saw no signs of aging, many updates.Nathan at the front desk did a fine job, as did Michaela(or similar name starting with m)when she was deluged by customers.Best bath products I have seen in a long time. Beautiful restaurant area. Great bed, couch seemed very good for sleeping if needed. I have traveled a lot and worked in the travel industry and this place deserves every star it got, Do be warned that whatever Hotwire or Priceline might say, they don't have an airport shuttle, though they did pay for my taxi.

Room Tip: Tower, Tower, Tower! I did not see the poolside rooms, which are cheaoer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria W, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Carol P,

It was such a delight to have you at our hotel! I hope you were able to enjoy the concert while you were in town!

Thank you for your great review. We are definitely trying to ensure that each and every guest has the same wonderful experience you listed.

Have an undeniably fantastic autumn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    63
    36
    40
    43
See reviews for
81
60
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked my room through expedia.com. The online reservation stated it was a non smoking, king bed, pool side room for $75. Ok, pretty cheap and close to the freeway. I book online, when I arrive to my room (173) I find it is not in the main building but in a smaller adjacent building that resembles a motel. The room itself was small but had a couch, king size bed as advertised, microwave and fridge. I noticed first off that the comforter and blankets on the bed were tucked under the mattress in a spot and when I pulled the comforter back I found that the blanket and sheets were very wrinkled and crinkled up as if the bed had been remade with the dirty sheets still on it. My dog also discovered a dog bone under the bed and garbage under the couch, in addition the floor appeared to have not been vacuumed. I called the front desk and mentioned the rooms condition and the clerk immediately offered to put me in a room in the main tower. This room was much larger with two queen size beds. (279) When I came in I noticed the lamp by the bed would not work, I found it wasn't plugged in, and also the clock radio was sitting on top of the microwave unplugged with the cord wrapped around it. I also found a used coffee filter in the coffee pot and the floor was dirty and very stained. Also one of the beds sheets were loose and had appeared to of been sat on. I decided to just let it be despite this room also being unsatisfactory as I was pretty beat at this point. When I turned on the heater a very strong odor of burning hair came out, so strong it burned my eyes. Also I could not find the room service menu and discovered it under the bed where the lamp should have been plugged in. Even with that I was going to just stay in the room however, as I was leaving the desk clerk asked if the new room was better. I politely told her it wasn't much better and explained what I found, so then she offered to move me to a third room. (277) This room was better, everything was plugged in although the floor lamp by the doors bulb must have been burnt out as it did not work. Hoping to sit down and relax for a moment I searched for the tv remote for several minutes until I almost gave up, on a whim I looked under the bed and there it was! This room also had urine droplets on the toilet seat. The room also reeked like some kind of animal urine. I'm done requesting new rooms however, apparently they are all being cleaned by the same housekeeper. I have no quam staying in an old hotel/motel as long as it is clean! Being a housekeeper in the oncology department in a hospital for over 2 years I understand how difficult housekeeping can be, however I turned over patient hospital rooms in the same or less amount of time it takes to turn over a motel room, (most of the time with patients still in their rooms), and these rooms were almost STERILE! The only reason for a dirty room is the time isn't taken to clean it PROPERLY! Get a routine down with your housekeepers or hire new ones! All of these rooms I have been in do not face the water, but rather face the parking lots. Perhaps the rooms that face the falls are kept up better. I also discovered an additional charge to my debit card of $15 that I was not informed about and when I called I was told it was just a hold in case I ordered room service or any other additional expenses. Disappointed and exhausted to say the least! If I had the money to spare I would leave right now and stay at another Motel/Hotel. I must give my thanks to Amy from the front desk however, she did everything she could to make my stay better and I do greatly appreciate her help but I will not be staying here again. Some good points are the beds in the tower are fairly comfortable, never tried the one in poolside room, and the rooms are very large in the tower. Old furniture and fixtures doesn't bother me as long as everything works. The view of the Hampton Inn out of my window and the knowledge that I spent close to what I would have paid too stay there is just that much more salt in the wound. BEWARE!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the main tower, stay away from poolside rooms! Check your room first to make sure it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria W, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
firefox69_01,

I am unbelievably sorry about the several housekeeping issues that you encountered. That lack of cleanliness is the very antithesis of the high cleanliness standard of expectation that I have implemented since starting here a couple months ago. I have found the two different housekeepers responsible and spoken with each of them concerning their lack of quality for our guests. They join me in apologizing about your experience.

Please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durango,co
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in a tower room which was very large and quite nice. Not sure about the addition next door, probably wouldn't stay there (see other travelers' reviews). There were no noise problems except the AC was loud (which doesn't bother us, but might keep some people awake). The breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Stick to the tower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria W, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Durangojohn,
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our tower. I will pass your accolades for breakfast to our chef! He is always happy to hear when people enjoy his food.

Enjoy an incredible day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clontarf, Queensland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel turned out to be one of the best value places on our recent trip through the central US. Thank goodness (on this occasion), we didn't take too much notice of some of the recent (July) postings on TA. I presume some people will never be happy.

We arrived early but were booked in and given a lovely spacious room on about the fifth floor. It had a beautiful view from the balcony over the falls.The room had all we needed with a decent sitting area, fridge etc, etc and a wifi that worked well.

The breakfast was one of the best, it was buffet, it had variety and it was plentiful with friendly and attentive staff. There was also coffee always available in the lobby.

The hotel was located conveniently to the city center and everything was within walking distance, shops, bars and restaurants. If you have the inclination, I would recommend a small bar/restaurant across the railroad in town called D'railed, it was great, perhaps have a look at it on TA.

There is also a nice walk by the river if you turn left out of the hotel and follow the path.

I don't think any one could be disappointed with the value the hotel on the falls affords. I gave it a mark of four because it was obvious the decor did need a revamp, but that didn't detract from the nice stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the round building and it looks the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria W, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Steve P,

Thank you! We love your review. I am so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your experience despite your worries coming in because of some of the reviews. We are working diligently to make this the best place possible within the perimeters we are given.

We hope to see you here again! I wish you the most amazing autumn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful location. It is on the edge of the falls, right in the downtown and walking distance to anything. It is really great location but the hotel is so outdated and the rooms are so tired that I would not stay here again. They advertise the round building but it is a small old tired room in the back in a two-story concrete building that you get by the pool with very low end tenants staying in the neighboring room. This is as bad as a low-end Motel 6. Holy cow, the bathroom is at least 25 or 30 years old, and shows every minute. The front desk staff is mostly teenagers with no responsibility nor respect for the guests. Noise from the room for both nights we stayed there was very loud and raucous. Breakfast, however, was spectacular with eggs and bacon and grits, and as nice as you will find anywhere. Maybe the brown building rooms were nicer? C- is a kind rating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria W, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
DavidPlate,

I am so sorry to hear that you had concerns during your stay! Unfortunately not all of our rooms have been renovated yet (there are three still slated for the upgrade). It sounds like you had one of those. I do apologize for the imperfect, older room. We definitely like to provide our newer, fresher, and more inviting rooms every instance possible.

The noise should have been kept at a minimum, so I sincerely apologize about the lack of follow through about enforcing that. Our desk agents are a bit younger, but they are learning splendidly and constantly are improving.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is always helpful to hear from our guests so we can continually work toward improving to be the best out there. Please do not hesitate to call me if there is anything I can do for you.

Enjoy a brilliant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This is in a great location just off the freeway and walking distance to restaurants and across the street from the river and falls. Walking trails along the river and great views overlooking the river

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria W, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Colin66Herriman,

Thank you for your short and sweet review! We are truly lucky to have such a wonderful location next to the falls and beautiful walking area. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Have an utterly fantastic week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms and beds were amazing. Water pressure off the charts. Staff helpful and cheerful! Manager Tom treated us Tennessee folk very well! Thank you for an amazing experience. Right across from the beautiful falls. Paid $90 after taxes for the room. What a steal!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria W, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
PuroKelli-

I am so glad to hear you loved your stay! Tom is pretty great. We are so fortunate to have him on our team. I am happy to hear he was able to make your stay memorable.

I wish you the most outstanding autumn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Falls

Address: 475 River Parkway, Idaho Falls, ID 83402
Location: United States > Idaho > Idaho Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Snake River, the Hotel on the Falls is minutes from the Museum of Idaho, Eagle Rock Art Guild, Tauphaus Park Zoo, University Place at Idaho Falls, Idaho Falls Regional Airport, Downtown Idaho Falls, is an hour's drive from Craters of the Moon National Monument and 2 hour's away from Yellowstone National Park. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers first class amenities including, hot tub, fitness facilities, free wireless internet access, and pets are welcome at a minimal fee. ADA services are also available. All rooms feature free wireless internet access, cable TV, Closed Caption available, air conditioning, alarm clock / radio, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, and iron and board. Stay in our Premium Tower Rooms and enjoy our view of the Snake River and Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel on the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idaho Falls Red Lion
Red Lion Idaho Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.