We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Bit of Mexico

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Little Bit of Mexico
465 E Anderson St, Idaho Falls, ID 83401-2018
208-528-8185
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 177 restaurants in Idaho Falls
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

How one rates/reviews ethnic or regional food depends experience. E.g., if you are accustomed to SE, Southern California, or Tex-Mex Mexican food, this restaurant won't meet your expections. The recipes here are from the heartland of Mexico, a very different region from northern Mexico. When you pass thru the nondescript front, you enter into a bright, warm, richly decorated family restaurant. The food, even that from the standard "lunch menu," is a delightful mix of distinct flavors (not all run together or overwhelmed with jalapeño), & the mole' sauce is the best I've ever had, anywhere. And the de camerone recipes are wonderful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    6
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Favorite mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Love this little restaurant. The food is always of a consistently high standard- not your average Mexican restaurant. They use different spices that sets their dishes apart. The lunch chicken enchilada dish is my all time favorite!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, ID
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

With a significant Hispanic population, Idaho Falls has a nice array of Mexican restaurants ranging from the authentic to the Gringos doing a poor to decent job. If you want authentic Mexican food prepared by an authentic Mexican family then Little Bit of Mexico should be your destination.

This is a multigenerational family business with most of the food prepared according to Grandma's recipes. The matricarch of the family still oversees the kitchen, while her charming daughters serve as hostesses, and the grandchildren wait tables and provide other hospitality. We have never had a bad experience at LBoM and we have eaten there many times. The service is always good and the servers are some of the most gracious you will find anywhere.

The food is authentic and outstanding. Plan to share a meal with someone in your party or be prepared to take home leftovers because the servings are very generous. Our favorite is the seafood chimichanga. Another nice aspect of LBoM is their flexibility on preparing any kind of a dish to your particular likes.

The value here cannot beat. By far and away, Little Bit of Mexico is our favorite authentic Mexican restaurant in Idaho Falls.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
“Not the best Mexican food in Idaho Falls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This restaurant is average. The food is okay (sometimes good) and the people and atmosphere is nice, but in my opinion it is not even close to the "best" Mexican restaurant in Idaho Falls, like many reviewers claimed. I came here with my partner expecting something wonderful based on the rave reviews. We were both disappointed. Don't expect something that will amaze you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Outstanding enchiladas. The most authentic and best tasting Mexican food in Idaho Falls by far. No matter where I travel in the US, I no longer order enchiladas any where else because I am always disappointed with them in comparison to A Little Bit of Mexico's. All of there food is great and all in this family run business are friendly and welcoming.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bit of Mexico also viewed

 
Idaho Falls, ID
Idaho Falls, ID
 

Been to Little Bit of Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Bit of Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.