We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel West to your Saves list
Motel West
1540 W. Broadway, Idaho Falls, ID   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Goodyear, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After escaping a terrible storm in Pocatello, with the city a foot underwater, my plans of camping went nowhere, and I ended up in Idaho Falls.
Driving on Broadway,I found Motel West. The lady at the reception was extremly nice and helpful, the rooms clean and well stocked, TV, wi-fi, everything a traveler needs was there.
For an extra 3 Dollars, I had a freshly cooked (limited menue) breakfast at an independent Restaurant in the building of the office. You can't ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
34
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

You can tell the owner cares about his property...
Great surprise glad we skipped motel 6. Clean room good breakfast. Flat screen tv. And holy Mack granite as well all on the cheap...terrific deal.
Fresh baked white and dark chocolate cookies.Every morning

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, UT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way north to Glacier. The front desk staff were very friendly. For the money, this is a good choice. The rooms, and most importantly, the bed and bath linens were clean and fresh smelling. The room I had was fine; the air conditioner worked - kind of - if you like a really cold room, you won't find it here, but then, most of the motels I've stayed in don't have A/C units that get really cold. It gets the temp to were its comfortable/bearable. (Keep in mind, though, that I was there during a particularly hot July, with temps in or near triple digits. I'm sure the A/C would do better under more normal ambient conditions.)
I look for motels that charge a fair price for a decent room that offers cleanliness, quiet and security. I don't need or want to pay for a lot of fancy, unneeded "extras". This motel does a good job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

i ended up here for a night when everything else in town was full. Had to take a smoking as the non's were sold out. Overall it is about what I would expect in this price range ($50). I didn't stay for the breakfast. The pool/hot tub were ok. For an older property it is in decent repair. I would stay there again even if it was not my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

See my earlier review, it's still a great value, good people. We've done the continental breakfast both visits and there's enough variety for us, plus this time there was some fantastic homemade bread. The wifi is weak (we propped the door open and could get enough of a signal to check email), and this visit we didn't use the pool. This motel isn't luxurious but we haven't really had anything to gripe about. We'll stop here again and save the hassle of price-shopping and ...reading a lot of reviews. Maybe next time we'll try the restaurant too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fast forward to 2013 and we're no longer visiting family in Las Vegas; now we're making stops on the I-15 corridor in Idaho. Idaho Falls is a frequent destination and it's increasingly more difficult to find a simple, clean, affordable, non-smoking-smelling family stay. For realz, Idaho Falls; fix this. (Spoiler alert: don't expect much from an Idaho Labor Day weekend.)

This stop: Motel West in Idaho Falls. Our family is just at the awkward size where we can't stay in a two-queen room so we were pleasantly surprised to find a "three queen" room at the MW. Translation: "Three queen" = two adjoining rooms. Doable. Kids get Disney in one room, History Channel in the other. Convenient fridge (a little chilly on the top shelf; froze our vegetables) and restrooms. AC unit is a little loud but tolerable.

I'm not sure what "really great 3 star motel" Lyn2035 checked into, because her review certainly doesn't describe Motel West (fresh baked cookies? really?), but this is an affordable stay. If you're sensitive to cigarette smoke like I am (had a massive headache that evening), you absolutely must avoid the central building at the least, maybe try a stay up the street at most.

Room Tip: "Non-smoking" is a misnomer; if there's "smoking" anywhere, it's "s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped here as it was a convenient place on the road between Salt Lake City and yellowstone. We had a big room with 2 huge beds, there was a shower room, TV. There was also a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. There was also free wi-fi access. We thought that Motel West offered good value for money.The front desk was really pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel West

Address: 1540 W. Broadway, Idaho Falls, ID
Location: United States > Idaho > Idaho Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Motel West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.