We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camari Garden Apartments

Save Saved
You added Camari Garden Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camari Garden Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerani, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gerani
bradford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a lovely little gem. We only went for a relaxing week so didn't bother with a car and how relaxed we were! Lovely view, close to a lovely village and great staff at the apartments.
If we were ever to go for 2 week we would definitely hire a car but for our needs it was just fine without.
The food on the bar was fine and extremely cheap but the tavernas in the village were excellent and worth a visit or two.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    85
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
84
128
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A late booking for three of us at the end of August - didn't expect much from the accommodation as it was so reasonably priced. We were all pleasantly surprised by the spacious and clean rooms and the provision of clean towels and bed linen every few days. The town of Rethymnon is lovely and just 10 Euros by taxi or 1.50 euros by bus. Lots of restaurants and a lovely harbour. The fort is worth a visit for the views. Just a 15 minute bus ride from Gerani is the beautiful beach of Georgioupoli - lots of restaurants, sun beds and plenty of space on the beach. Clean sand and very friendly bar / beach staff. Take a ride on the little train from the beach front through the country side to the idyllic fresh water lake at Kournas - free sun beds, a chance to canoe or use a pedalo and maybe see some turtles. Stunningly beautiful backdrop of mountains and limpid blue lake.Only downside was the long transfer from airport - 2.5 hours. Can expect to halve that though if you have your own transport.

Overall would definitely recommend the apartments and the beautiful island and its people.

Room Tip: Despite the temperature being 29 deg had no need to use the a/c the rooms on the second floor are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel (11th to 25th Sept 2012). We had a great time. Our impressions were: 1) It looked really attractive 2) It is SO clean 3) It is friendly and efficient 4)The food is pretty good (some of the food is excellent) and very reasonably priced. This hotel, unlike many in Rethymno, is set on its own rather than amidst a string of hotels (thank goodness). It is located about 1 hours drive from Heraklion airport and easy to find off the main highway (look for the sign for Gerani off to the right). We had a sea view as do many of the rooms and all had balconeys.

It has a supermarket next door and It is a short stroll to a little shingle and sandy beach which has some quite nice snorkling as it is very rocky and the water is very clear. There is a Taverna by the beach which some people really rated (we didn't -but each to their own). Gerani village, set above the hotel - a short up hill walk) is great and the Tavernas there all do good local food at good prices (try the fava beans at the first cafe). The third cafe iin the village (it is all painted light orange so you can't miss it) is excellent and has quite a reputation with the locals who get take aways from there. The main Taverna there is more up market (but stll reasonable), lovely garden setting . All the wine is local so can be a bit rough but you get used to it!

Although only 10 minutes from Rethymno by car, it is remote (as other reviews have said) and a car is pretty essentail if you like to do more than sit by the pool. We left the hotel for 4 nights and went to the south beaches (easy to find accomadation for around E25), That was really nice and worthwhile although driving on Cretan roads is not relaxing. The drivers are crazy.They all tail gate to an inch of your car boot and overtake on tight bends especially on the highway. We did not see any accidents though. Amazing!

The hotel staff were very obliging. We asked for an extra pillow and more coat hangers and they were there an hour later. Someone had a problem with their shower head and it was replaced immediately. Sheets and towells were changed every 3 days at least and all bins emptied and, beds made/ room cleaned daily. It was spotless actually and the 2 swimming pools were lovely (though colder than the sea which was lovely and warm). There were plenty of beds by the pool with umbreallas but this was September and I wonder what it would be like in August. I also wonder if kids would get bored. It is also NOT the place to go if you are 20/ 30 something and looking for night life.

It is a peaceful and relaxing place and I would go back if I went to that part of Crete again. On the last day our flight was not until late evening and for E15 we were able to keep our room until we left at 18.00 hours which saved a lot of hassle - but of course depends on how full they are. Check out was not until 12.00 midday though.

There are 4 computers with internet access and computer games in the reception and people leave loads of books behind so you can swap your book for nothing. I liked that. We did not use the air con but it was only E5 per day. No mosquitoes either so could leave windows open. That was fine.
Just one point though- our room was self catering but you would have been hard pushed to do much cooking. There was a good sized fridge, a 2 ring hob, no grill or kettle and not much cooking gear. VERY basic - so we didn't do any. The food is so good in Crete though, you probably won't want to! Rooms are basic but who spends much time in their room on holiday?

Room Tip: Ask for sea view which and further away from bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Before going to the Camari Garden Apartments we had done a lot of research and had read all of the reveiws on TripAdvisor most of which were very favourable. Having just returned from a week's stay there I would agree with all of the good reviews. The apartments are very clean and well-kept, incredibly spacious and the whole resort is just lovely. Our one bedroom apartment had a very large sitting area with dining table, a lovely little kitchenette and good sized bathroom, and a very spacious double bedroom with plenty of storage. We also had two balconies both of which were generously sized. The back balcony overlooked the mountain and we could watch the goats and the various other animals. Our apartment was also cleaned every day and we were provided with fresh towels.

The staff were very helpful and incredibly friendly. The two pools were both lovely and very well kept. The views from the apartments over the hills were also amazing.

We regularly ate breakfast and/or lunch in the bar and all of the food was of a very high standard and incredibly reasonable. Drinks were also very cheap - always a bonus on holidays.

The apartments are a short distance from Rethymnon which is a beautiful town and definitely worth visiting.

Overall we had the perfect holiday and I would recommend these apartments to anyone!

Room Tip: We didn't see the smaller apartments but the one bedroom apartments are an excellent size and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Angela, Nico, George, Manolis and the rest of the staff go out of their way to make your holiday a happy one at the Camari Gardens. We stayed from the end of August for 2 weeks and enjoyed our holiday immensely. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that was kept spotlessly clean and had the usual Greek kitchenette of a fridge,worktop and a couple of hotplates. We thought that there were sufficient utensils to create simple meals. With the prices of eating out so comparatively low compared with other Mediterranean countries you didn't need to eat in much.
The apartments are sited about 5km outside Rethymnon, some 200 meters uphill from the main national road. At busy times there is a bit of road noise but barely. We didn't notice it and we're not city dwellers. You can catch a bus easily into Chania or Rethymnon, and tickets can be purchased from reception. To get the best from the island, though, car hire is recommended as the local beach (at the bottom of the hill) isn't fantastic and there are many places to visit. With the meltemi wind blowing quite strongly we found the Northern beaches quite windswept and the surf spectacular to look at but not to actually swim in. Far better were the beaches in the South, where you can swim in the Libyan Sea in more sheltered bays with excellent snorkelling and swimming.
The food at the Apartment taverna was good, especially when Angela cooked a "special" such as the Chicken with Lemon Potatoes, and it was more than fairly priced at 7 euros. This meant that you didn't have to venture further afield if you didn't want to. Food in the village centre, a 10 minute walk uphill, was also of a good standard. We enjoyed eating at Staras Traditional Sight and Food, in the village centre on the right, with its recreation of a period farmhouse and well-presented meals.
Pretty well wherever we ate out the food was good, with memorable lamb off the barbecue at Argyroupoli down by the waterfalls (don't miss the upper village with Roman remains, Byzantine Chapels and local museum), fish at a taverna right on the beach at Frangokastello (take the back road home from behind the resort that climbs precipitously up switchbacks for amazing views and the drive of your life, particularly for the passengers staring out over a 1500 foot drop!), and a memorable lunch at Taman, a former Turkish Haman or baths in the Old Town in Chania.
A fascinating island, which we intend to return to on a regular basis. The Camari Gardens offers a good base to explore the centre of the island and offers excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at camari garden from sept 7th and had a great time , myself and my family were really impressed with the friendliness and hard work that Angela and all of her family showed to make everyones stay a great one. I know that the apts are a bit isolated if you dont have transport but that should not distract in any way when you are decididing on holidaying here. Camari garden is a little gem of a place, George, nico and manos are great in the restaurant / taverna always willing to help you and serve in a really friendly manner , the food is very good and reasonably priced, Angela is always on hand to help with any enquiries , she will advise you on buses and also book taxis for you if needed approx 10 euro into rethymnon. we found the apts perfectly adequate and cleaners were always around doing there bit , a short walk up to the village will find you a lovely little bakery and well stocked supermarket , and a short walk down to the sea will lead you to a nice taverna by the sea ( beware of the geese there beaks are sharp ). All in all Camari garden is a great place to stay for a wonderfully relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: Try the specials in the restaurant they are all good especially the chicken with lemon potatoes and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We decided to travel to the West of Crete in early September (not as hot and less busy)This was a good move: it really is a truly wonderful place. Great sea (especially the south coast: frangokastello and loutro were amazing), mountains, and cities (chania and rethymnon notably pleasant and interesting). So we thought Camari would be a good base, within budget. That it most definitely was. Being close to the main road made it easy to travel around. Parking was ample and free. The village of Gerani up the road was charming. The little bay was pretty good, offering some nice relaxing swims (though the proximity of the motorway is an issue). The two sets of swimming pools were very nice and cleaned every day. It was ideal for our little toddler's first swims. Most of all the staff were hugely helpful, welcoming, and friendly. Most of the guests were british, with some german french and italian.There were some negative issues.
First of all, they did not accept card payments - this is rather irritating in a hotel. The food in the cafeteria above the pools was OK but not great. There were noise issues due to some power lines near our apartment, at the bottom of the property. (However to be fair the sea view was really nice !). The mattresses were a little hard. The biggest problem was the kitchen. Really poor cooking facilities (like a mini camping electric hob). The plug was damaged (electric risk? not nice when you have a baby in tow!). Very little kit in the kitchen (only 2 glasses and one mug ?!), And hardly any light to see what I was doing! So for cooking it was a total disaster.
But on the whole: for a budget, it is a pretty good option, and I would recommend it overall, apart from the caveats above.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camari Garden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camari Garden Apartments

Address: Gerani, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gerani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camari Garden Apartments 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this idyllic spot of Crete, just 6km west of Rethymnon, you will find the family owned Camari Garden Hotel. A modern complex of apartments with Greek, neo-classic elements in its architecture, overlooking the Cretan sea. This peaceful, village-like hotel, with its 66 apartments and studios, the comfortable and relaxing environment offers an ideal destination for families and couples. A cozy escape from the problems and worries of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Camari Garden Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camari Garden Apartments Hotel Gerani
Camari Garden Apartments Rethymnon
Camari Garden Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Camari Garden Apartments Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camari Garden Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.