We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Discovery

Dolphin Discovery
Beach Blowing Point PO Box 1472, Blowing Point AI-2640, Anguilla
1-866-393-5158
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$222*
and up
Anguilla Day Trip by Catamaran from St Maarten...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Amusement & theme parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The dolphinarium is located in Blowing Point beach, 50 meters from migration. There are two ways to reach the destination: From St. Maarten taking the boat in Marigot from the French side will take 20 minutes by Ferry or from the airport in the Dutch side will take 45 minutes by Ferry. Once the boat has stopped at Blowing Point, you will have to get to our offices by your own. From there we will take you by taxi (included) to the dolphinarium that is 500 meters from the Office.
Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“what a great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was a little leery..Love dolphins but not totally comfortable with the captivity thing. I am so glad we went. My hubby and I did the Royal Swim. The day we were scheduled was cold and rainy. When we asked to reschedule we were told "of course" come tomorrow when it is nicer. The dolphins were friendly and well treated and all born in captivity. It was so much fun and all the people and dolphins were wonderful.Even my hubby loved it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Dolphin Discovery, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello, thank you for visiting Dolphin Discovery Anguilla and taking time to share your experience with us and the travellers, we're glad to hear that you and your husband had a great time with dolphins, we hope that you and your husband come back to have another blast with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    27
    12
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ok...too rushed and crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked this trip as it was the one thing my aunt requested she do on vacation. It was ok. It was too crowded and they rushed through things. It's all about posing with the dolphins instead of experiencing them. It's also very hard to do things in the ocean on super low platform that is hard to stand on if you are short. Then the bus the masses to their tiny office to look through pictures which are expensive. They do package them up for you so if there are two people in the party you can get all the pictures of the two people and the random extra dolphin photos for a set price ( it's easiest that way if you can pay for it). My aunt enjoyed it but it was just ok for me.... I wouldn't too it again as it's way to pricy for what you get!!!! I have had better experiences, got more for my money also ! Really wouldn't recommend this adventure..... Luckily our booking company and their part of our trip was good!!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Dolphin Discovery, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello, thank you for visiting Dolphin Discovery Anguilla, About the pose for the pictures we just ask to our guests to smile for a few seconds for the camera in order to get great pictures and to have a nice memory of their experience, then they can continue with the program, we're going to let General Manager in Anguilla know about your comments in order to improve our service. Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a great day in the sun. The boat ride to the island was mostly smooth and offer great views of the island of St. Martin. The hands on experience with the dolphin was interesting and lasted over an hour as each group member interacted with our host.

The only thing to be aware of is the enclosure is in the open ocean and the waves will effect you. We experienced 3 to 5 foot waves and they will pick you up from the grating you are standing on and push you up against the chain link fence surrounding the enclosure.

Being tossed about be mother nature taken in to account I would still go back and do this again!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Mountain, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dolphin Discovery, Anguilla (St. Maartin/Cruise)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We returned to the Dolphin Discovery for a second time in 6 months since we were so impressed with our first visit back in December. Once again, this is a great experience with the dolphins in the ocean...great trainers and lots of time with the dolphins in the water. The staff was excellent and cared so much about us having another great experience. It is a "must do" if you are on a cruise ship stopping in St. Maartin and well worth the money. Don't expect to take your camera down in the water...it's not allowed but it would be very difficult to take your own photos. They take the pictures for you and they do a GREAT job....they too are worth the money! Don't miss it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Magic in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Dolphin Discovery was truly memorable! These lovely creatures are raised in sanctuary, and are more clever and friendly than one would imagine. The staff is friendly, courteous and extremely helpful, especially to those who are not great swimmers. Swim time with the dolphins is more than just a quick dip and pet - we got to 'dance' with me, kiss them, ride them by holding onto their fins, and boogie board with them pushing us through the water! Thrilling, exhilarating and unforgettable! Toss in a boat ride to and from St. Maarten, a couple of hours beachside on Anguilla, and lunch, and it's an afternoon adventure well worth your time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery also viewed

Shoal Bay Village, Anguilla
Anguilla, Caribbean
 
Anguilla, Caribbean
Long Bay Village, Anguilla
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Discovery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.