We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved over the last 6 months” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Viejo

Rancho Viejo
8882 N Government Way, Hayden, ID 83835-9282
208-762-3310
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 32 Restaurants in Hayden
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Much improved over the last 6 months”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This place has taken over the Number 1 spot for Mexican eating for us---and we love Mexican cooking. The waiters were very attentive, the food was served promptly, and the HOT food was delicious. My previous rating was 3-stars and I am happy to give this place 5-stars now. We will be back!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A half step above Taco Bell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Most people eat here because of the continual barrage of coupons this place offers. I have eaten here several times and the food always struck be as having the texture and flavor of something that was dumped out of a can. I will admit that I am probally spoiled, as I grew up in New Mexico, so I do know how Mexican is supposed to be. For my money, Toro Viejo just up the street is a much better option for Mexican food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will probably not go back...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here because the location was good and they have outdoor seating option. The service was quite slow. They were friendly though. The drinks were good (magaritas) and the cabbage salsa was the only thing I found to be fresh and tasty. Ordered shredded beef taquitos which were what i would call flautas as they were flour tortillas not corn, and they were marginally crisp. The beef did have a good spicy kick. Also sampled the macho burrito and it was not good. A big mushy pile of meat, beans and rice. There was absolutely no varying texture within the burrito. I guess this mexican food is not my style. There are other local mexican restaurants (hayden, cda, post falls) that offer fresher, more flavorful options.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hayden's Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

A good place to eat when you want to skip cooking and dishes at home, BUT I have had better Mexican food in the Southwest. For Hayden, it is the best. Cheese enchiladas are my (vegitarian) favorite. The friendly manager "remembers your name".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Careywood, Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food-huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The ambiance and music of this place was authentic. The food selection was good and the items we selected were huge and tasty. The servers were very courteous and we were surprised when they brought us a dessert after the meal in the same way someplace else might give you a after dinner mint!! It was quite a surprise. Yes, we would recommend it. We were there for a lunch time meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Viejo also viewed

 

Been to Rancho Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.