We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' del Moro Foresteria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' del Moro Foresteria to your Saves list
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Malamocco 83, Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from 22nd Feb. At first we thought it would be difficult getting from the Airport to the hotel but it's very simple! All you need to do is get your airport bus return ticket on the day, then get a travel pass which covers the buses and waterbus and that's it! Very easy transport system, and very nice hotel. Although there wasn't any bar or food.. it was a great place to stay! Extremely pleased.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
72
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here during carnival weekend. Everywhere else was extremely expensive however the stay here for 3 nights was great value. We were a little worried about the location however really nicely suprised when we worked out how easy it was to get to and from Venice St Marks Square. All you need to do is get a day pass for the busses and water taxi's and it's about 15 minutes each way, no stress, no trouble and no waiting around for any of it. We are a young couple so was worried about getting home late at night but the the taxis run every 20 minutes during the later hours which we were pleased about. The staff were ok, they helped us out as much as they possibly could and even gave us a free lift back to the lido bay when we were leaving the hotel.
The room was fine, clean, spacious, there were two single beds pushed together and they we're comfy, but we weren't spending any time in the room so wasn't too bothered about it as long as it was clean and had the facilities we needed, which it did.
The only down side we found is that the breakfast choice wasn't great, but considering what we paid we wasn't expecting much more than what we paid for. Another down side was there was no bar, we couldn't have a glass of wine whilst getting ready for the evening or whatever which wasn't great.
Overall we had a fantastic trip and the place was very good. Lido town was very pretty and nice to look round however the area around the hotel there was nothing at all, but nothing a short bus journey can't sort out.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for carnival. Do not get deceived by the pictures. This hotel has no bar, food, or anything to offer. The rooms are terribly small and the television even smaller. My friends room even had mold growing in the bathroom. After a day out in Venice we decided to grab a bottle of wine and chat in the lobby. Well the manager of the hotel had other plans. She approached us as if we were children getting scolded by their mother. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here last August. and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
You get the waterbus straight from the airport to Venice Lido. Where you catch the bus to the hotel...ten minutes.
You have the best of both worlds here the lovely beaches of the Lido and the pretty centre with shops and restaurants.
With just a short lovely waterbus into Venice from centre, Buses go regulary left to a free beach and right to centre from hotel.
The hotel itself is modern and simple,but clean. The pool was lovely and warm being August and we enjoyed the meals at the pool restaurant.Not many hotels with pools.
Venice was beautiful and the ferry runs 24hrs, a must to go at night. it was nice though to escape the hustle and bustle and get back to the Lido.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

CA’ DE MORO
Rooms are modern, no frill’s, clean with small balcony.
Two single beds which can be pushed together, hanging space with shelf, TV, dressing table. Air-conditioning/heating
Bathroom has toilet ,wash basin, bidet, shower, hair dryer, small bottles of shampoo & body wash, bar of soap, shower cap & ‘personal’ wash. Rooms were made up & towels changed daily.
Breakfast is self-service in the main reception area which was continental with rolls, ham, cheese, cereal, fruit, cake, biscuits, juice/squash Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, hot milk.
Hotel provides a free shuttle mini bus to the water bus station in the morning from 8.30am to 10.30am; it only holds 6 people plus cases, we used it once but other nationalities do not understand first in line!
The complex has a vast amount of tennis courts, open air pool (during summer) with sunbeds & pool bar/restaurant, serving the usual pizza/pasta, we had two meals which were nice. Gym with all the usual equipment. Internet is one euro for one hour, hot spot in reception. There is no beach it is concrete breakwaters, if you want sand you need to go to the main town area & walk along the main road lined with restaurant’s walking away from the waterbus/road bus terminal.
To find Ca’ Del Moro – From the water bus – you will find the bus stops just outside the water bus station on the lido. Take either A or B bus, keep the water on your right hand side, journey will take about 7mins,( activate your ticket). The Lido bus route goes through areas, which have numbers ie 1 of 12 / 2 of 12. You will go through Via Sandro Gallo, will then enter Via Malamocco, get off at 4 of 5, walk in the same direction as the bus for about 60 yards, the hotel is a modern white building on the opposite side of the road a builders yard with paving slabs displayed against the fence is opposite hotel.
Take care on zebra crossings – they won’t stop!!
There is a Coop supermarket one bus stop back towards the town or you can walk it in 4 mins opposite a football ground (they are closed from 1pm -4pm & closes at 7.30pm. There is also a launderette next to Coop, and a small local bar serving snacks & burgers (6 euros & very nice) before you get to the supermarket it is set back with tables outside, they are very friendly, try the drink all the venetians drink, spritz.
MY TOP TIP – TAKE INSECT REPELLENT & DON’T GO OUT WITH OUT IT ON DAY & NIGHT!
Take a trip to Murano & Burano. Go to Fondamenta Nuovo then change, I would go to Burano first, wander around the pretty streets with colourful houses & its own leaning tower, there is a small market in the summer months. Murano have lots of glass blowing factories some charge to watch some are free, there is a very pretty church, doesn’t look much from the outside but the floor is mosaic & colourful glass font, it is close to the museum. If you need the loo it will cost 1.50 euro, check if there is a toilet on the boat.
All public toilets are E1.50 in Venice

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel before & after a cruise, both rooms were clean & comfortable with sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on Mon 1 October, tired and hungry, to find the hotel closed. We were then moved "to an equivalent, better hotel" - oh, was it now?! Unlike the modern ca del moro, the alternative was a decrepit, run down B&B with absolutely no facilities - it was rather like staying in a museum. As it was a Monday, there was nowhere open to eat and neither did this B&B have anything to offer. We politely kicked off in the morning and the owner lost his temper with us - he became very rude and aggressive. We were offered many explanations as to why the hotel was closed ranging from: bad storm knocking out the generator; earthquake in Bologna(?); the foundations were suspect and the Local Authority had closed it that afternoon (presumably because it was non-compliant in some way). Although none of these 'force majeure' incidents seemed to have affected any other hotels or buildings in the vicinity. After insisting on speaking to the manager of the ca del moro, we were moved to an alternative (sister) hotel later that morning. The staff at this hotel were very helpful and understanding but the hotel itself offered nothing in the way of facilities to enjoy - no pool; no garden; no snack bar, etc. And,surprise, surprise, we never saw the original manager again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' del Moro Foresteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Moro Foresteria

Address: Via Malamocco 83, Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Moro Foresteria 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca'del Moro's Guest Quarters comprises lots of state-of-the-art sports facilities in a wide green area; here you can relax thanks to sun beds and benches around all around the garden and the swimming pool, usually opened from May to September. There are 8 Tennis Courts (2 of which indoors), 4 small football fields, a swimming pool with bar and a modern gym. Additionally, the Lido island offers a wide range of sports activities and nature excursions just a few minutes by boat from Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ca' del Moro Foresteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Del Moro Foresteria Hotel Venice
Ca Del Moro Venice
Ca' Del Moro Foresteria Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' del Moro Foresteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.