We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phantom Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' del Moro Foresteria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' del Moro Foresteria to your Saves list
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Malamocco 83, Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phantom Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on Mon 1 October, tired and hungry, to find the hotel closed. We were then moved "to an equivalent, better hotel" - oh, was it now?! Unlike the modern ca del moro, the alternative was a decrepit, run down B&B with absolutely no facilities - it was rather like staying in a museum. As it was a Monday, there was nowhere open to eat and neither did this B&B have anything to offer. We politely kicked off in the morning and the owner lost his temper with us - he became very rude and aggressive. We were offered many explanations as to why the hotel was closed ranging from: bad storm knocking out the generator; earthquake in Bologna(?); the foundations were suspect and the Local Authority had closed it that afternoon (presumably because it was non-compliant in some way). Although none of these 'force majeure' incidents seemed to have affected any other hotels or buildings in the vicinity. After insisting on speaking to the manager of the ca del moro, we were moved to an alternative (sister) hotel later that morning. The staff at this hotel were very helpful and understanding but the hotel itself offered nothing in the way of facilities to enjoy - no pool; no garden; no snack bar, etc. And,surprise, surprise, we never saw the original manager again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    76
    42
    12
    10
See reviews for
40
86
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here as a family. It is great to be away from the bustle of Venice and have the joy of the vaporetto ride every day. Good beaches here too. The hotel has a great pool and poolside restaurant.
Breakfast is very functional and not for the gourmet eater... even the coffee is from a machine.
The rooms are basic but with balconies anr a quite large.
Great fish restaurant nearby too.
Be careful as there are mosquitos about.
A good family hotel not for romanting couples though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

You will need to take a bus from the Lido station but they frequent and run at night too. Lovely place to stay and staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were basic but still nicely decorated and we had a big balcony /roof terrace which was a bonus. Breakfast was basic but good and they offer a shuttle service to the station early morning that came in handy. Yes I would stay again and recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Cannot fault the hotel for the price paid and all of the staff were excellent from pre-arrival to check in to check out.
rooms simple but modern and a good power shower
Cleanliness excellent as well
Food in the restaurant is excellent for salads, pizza and pasta, along with the relaxed service so surprised to see some comments made.
Really enjoyed being out of the way a bit as we had 8 leisurely days to enjoy our trip.
All the basic expectations exceeded, excellent value for what we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed there for some days during a course I was taking in Lido. The hotel itself is not bad, even though the quality of sleep is not so good and there were ants in my bedroom. It's easy to reach the hotel by public transport and you can also rent a bike to go around Lido. The best thing of the hotel was breakfast, with a lot of different things to choose from and good croissants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Firstly you can get a waterbus from the airport straight to the Venice lido. Then catch the A or B Bus to the hotel. The Hotel is modern and stark but immaculate. Pool is beautiful and we enjoyed food at restaurant. You definetly need the weeks pass to cover all transpot. The buses run frequently either into the Lido on the right hand side of the road,bus stop about 150yds and supermarket 1/2 mile. Opposite side of the road going away from lido centre is bus to beach . Beaches by the Lido have to pay 20-25euros for beds and umbrellas.We went August was very hot about 30 deg but bearable but meant the pool was warm.A holiday which had a bit of everything and worked out reasonably priced...meals same price as English meals but drinks a bit price on the whole loved it..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I read reviews before going.....and was a bit worried, so here's a bit of peace of mind...

The 2 guys I had to deal with on Reception were both friendly and helfpul, guess you get back the attitude you give out!

The room was modern and basic, the bathroom was lovely...

The pool area was great.

Do not eat at the Poolbar Restaurant - it is not cheap and the food is absolutely awful.... couldn't eat it as it was that bad....take the bus and head to the main area of Lido, much better places to eat and only 10-12 mins away.

You need Bus A or B after getting off the Water bus then it's bus stop No. 4 of 5 Malamocco, the hotel is then on the left hand side of the road a couple of paces along.. It's easy to find... and the bus drivers are reasonably helpful despite language barriers.. Bus A or B gets you most places you want to go and the stops are a very short walk from the hotel..

Bit far out of Venice itself as it takes 15 to 25 minutes depending on which part you want to reach.

And make sure you buy a travel pass at the airport - it'll save you a fortune...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
3.4 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#8 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Ville del Lido Suite Residence
Le Ville del Lido Suite Residenc...
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Orio
Hotel Villa Orio
#22 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del Moro Foresteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Moro Foresteria

Address: Via Malamocco 83, Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Moro Foresteria 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca'del Moro's Guest Quarters comprises lots of state-of-the-art sports facilities in a wide green area; here you can relax thanks to sun beds and benches around all around the garden and the swimming pool, usually opened from May to September. There are 8 Tennis Courts (2 of which indoors), 4 small football fields, a swimming pool with bar and a modern gym. Additionally, the Lido island offers a wide range of sports activities and nature excursions just a few minutes by boat from Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ca' del Moro Foresteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Del Moro Foresteria Hotel Venice
Ca Del Moro Venice
Ca' Del Moro Foresteria Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' del Moro Foresteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.