We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad at all...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' del Moro Foresteria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' del Moro Foresteria to your Saves list
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Malamocco 83, Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not too bad at all...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I read reviews before going.....and was a bit worried, so here's a bit of peace of mind...

The 2 guys I had to deal with on Reception were both friendly and helfpul, guess you get back the attitude you give out!

The room was modern and basic, the bathroom was lovely...

The pool area was great.

Do not eat at the Poolbar Restaurant - it is not cheap and the food is absolutely awful.... couldn't eat it as it was that bad....take the bus and head to the main area of Lido, much better places to eat and only 10-12 mins away.

You need Bus A or B after getting off the Water bus then it's bus stop No. 4 of 5 Malamocco, the hotel is then on the left hand side of the road a couple of paces along.. It's easy to find... and the bus drivers are reasonably helpful despite language barriers.. Bus A or B gets you most places you want to go and the stops are a very short walk from the hotel..

Bit far out of Venice itself as it takes 15 to 25 minutes depending on which part you want to reach.

And make sure you buy a travel pass at the airport - it'll save you a fortune...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
72
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our Italia exploring trip and I must say we were very pleased. Upon check in the staff member was very friendly & dealt with us very quickly. We were based in room 104 which was very modern with good A/C, nice bathroom & a balcony. They have Sky in the room however they only have the basic package,therefore only the local channels, so you will have to watch the TV in Italian or with an open mind! The hotel has it's own pool (very nice), a bar restaurant (not too badly priced considering eating out in Venice is so expensive) & they even have tennis courts & football pitches on site. We stayed on a b&b basis which was a continental breakfast with lots to choose from. The hotel is situated on the Lido island just off the main Venice island, you will need to take the waterbus to get there. Now, to potential customers, when you arrive in Venice & take the waterbus you need to get off at the stop 'Lido SME' & the boats that go there are 5.1 & 5.2. You will then have to get on the local bus, either bus 'A' & 'B'. Take the bus to the stop 'Via Malamorca' and get off at stop 4/5, this is about 50m away from the hotel. We got very confused about the transport having never been to Venice before, however once you have been there once it becomes pretty simple. Overall, the hotel was nice, friendly staff & was very reasonably priced. Would defo stay there again! Thank you very much! Note: If you choose the pay the 1 euro per hour wi-fi service, it does not work for Android phone.

Room Tip: We have room 104 in Block B and i must say, no complaints! Even located near a vending machine (help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

to this hotel - reasonable rates, great pool, good restaurant. It's situated on a direct bus route to the centre of Lido (they run every 10 minutes) and the boat terminal (plus there is a free shuttle in the morning).

Staff are very friendly, breakfast is excellent and if you are sporty (we're not) there are tennis courts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for our few days long visit in the Venice.

This hotel is not direct in the Venice but on the Lido Island. Lido island is app 15 minutes distanced from San Marco square. But the boat station is app 5 - 8 km distanced from the hotel, so u have to use your own care or take a bus (app 20 minutes to the boat station). The hotel is situated on the other side of the island than the centre of this island and boat station.

The hotel is closed complex of several buildings, where it is possible to use the beautiful swimming pool, several tennis courts and fitness center and restaurant.

The rooms are smaller, simply furnished, the device is a bit worn, but clean.

f you want to use the Internet, you have to pay 1 euro per hour and must used it only in the lobby.

In to the hotel is able to take the dog with you, but you can not go after them with a hotel complex, the only one where you can walk the dog is a small parking place.

From my perspective, this accommodation is more suited to shorter and cheaper visit than a trip to Venice for a week vacation, etc..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This place was lovely and we will no doubt return. We are a couple in our 50's, and although fit we are not sporty so we made no use of any sporting facilities apart from the pool. Although the hotel was full, it never felt 'full' as it is over a large area and there was always space around the pool and enough (very good quality) sun beds available (you do have to pay 3 euros for the use of a towel though). Breakfast was very nice (fruit salad, croissants, bread rolls, cheese, ham, eggs) etc and again the room never felt crowded or had queues forming. From our hotel room to San Marco Square it took us 35 minutes only (that was first catching the local bus to the port and then the water bus, both run 24 hours and very frequently although that may change if you are out till the small hours!) The bar/restaurant situated by the pool is very nice and the food is good and reasonably priced (we drink beer rather than wine and that probably pushed the cost up a bit). All staff in every department of the hotel were very helpful and approachable, extremely friendly people. I would have no qualms in recommending this hotel to anyone of any age - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the second floor (it only has two) - the views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

After four nights in Venice, which is intence and busy, we moved hotels to the Lido, for a three night beach/pool break.

Lovely hotel, clean, great staff (especially on the bar). Breakfast had a good variety of foods, and lovely coffee.

Pool is fab, and not too busy.

If you decide to go to the beach, make sure its a public one :)

Room Tip: You can use your ACTV Boat tickets for the buses. The bus stop that you need is Via Malamocco 4/5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just spent a very pleasant short stay here, partly to escape the heat of Venice (we are staying in an apartment without AC and after a week we desperately needed cool air) and partly because I love to play tennis and found about about this place on trip advisor. The room was small, clean and very reasonable for a triple but minimalist - but you don't come here to stay in your room. That said, the AC worked great! You could hear the neighbors so the walls are thin but it was very quiet at night.

But I really want to talk about the facilities, especially the tennis which is the best in Venice and the Lido. 4 perfect clay courts, several covered courts with a fake grass surface (no AC but you don't get direct sun) and a few other courts. Must important, the teacher I had was superb if you can take a lesson in Italian. His name is Andrea and he is a former top player from the Veneto. Today with his partner Luca who also teaches there he is ranked in the top 5 doubles teams in Italy in the over 40 category. Suffice it to say that he is a superb player and an absolutely charming man. I enjoyed every minute of our grueling workouts (which last 45-50 minutes). He has been teaching there for over 20 years. And here is the best part - the lesson is only 30 euros including court time. Suffice it to say that it was the best tennis deal I've ever found.

After a grueling workout, you can cool yourself down in the huge pool or go to the well air conditioned gym which has a huge assortment of free weights and machines - its much better than the standard exercise room in even the best hotels because it's a free standing gym.

To get all of this with the price of the room I think is an amazing deal. On the downside, it is far away from the action at the heart of the Lido but very efficient buses which run every ten minutes and stop very close to the hotel will get you there in about 10 minutes. But you may decide you don't want to leave. Hope this helps any other fanatic tennis players planning a trip to the Serenissima. Btw, you don't have to stay at the hotel to take the lessons. If you do take a lesson with Andrea, tell him Guido from Manhattan sent you:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' del Moro Foresteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Moro Foresteria

Address: Via Malamocco 83, Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Moro Foresteria 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca'del Moro's Guest Quarters comprises lots of state-of-the-art sports facilities in a wide green area; here you can relax thanks to sun beds and benches around all around the garden and the swimming pool, usually opened from May to September. There are 8 Tennis Courts (2 of which indoors), 4 small football fields, a swimming pool with bar and a modern gym. Additionally, the Lido island offers a wide range of sports activities and nature excursions just a few minutes by boat from Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ca' del Moro Foresteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Del Moro Foresteria Hotel Venice
Ca Del Moro Venice
Ca' Del Moro Foresteria Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' del Moro Foresteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.