We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Casanova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Casanova to your Saves list
Villa Casanova
Via Orso Partecipazio, 9, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is such a welcoming and calm place to stay. This was our second visit to Venice and we wanted to stay on the Lido, away from the hurly-burly of the city. We arrived after 11 at night - this was no problem as we were shown our room and got sorted in the morning. The room was compact but clean, large enough and gratefully air-conditioned. Alessandro made us feel at home and we took up his offer of borrowing the cycles to tour the island. Breakfast was a lovely experience - coffee and a buffet, tables in the garden listening to the cicadas. We were sad to leave...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    66
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
77
198
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland,CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I'm sitting here in the breakfast room at Villa Casanova enjoying the quiet, the cool breeze, and resting my feet after a long day walking around Venice. What a nice respite from the crowds! As mentioned by other posters, Lido is only a 10-20 minute boat ride from St Mark's Square and maybe 10 mins more from Rialto Bridge. Villa Casanova is 4 short blocks from the vaporetto stop and 3-4 blks from the main drag n Lido. It's on a quiet street, has 3 floors and I think only 10 rooms. We're staying on the 3rd floor in a triple room (queen bed + single), very charming & rustic but modern bathroom facilities. Beamed ceilings, brick & stucco walls and A/C! Great for sweltering Venice summers. Everything other posters have said is true -- excellent breakfast with indoor or outdoor seating, wonderful hosts, great location, bicycles to use, homey feel. Wifi was spotty the first day but has been great since. A nice place to stay.

Room Tip: One of the few places you can actually get a room for three persons without getting a cot or rollawa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are just coming to the end of our holiday in Lido, Venice.
Villa Casanova has been a wonderful place to stay. Alessandro is extremely welcoming and helpful, always ready to answer questions and give good advice.
He gave very helpful email advice before we arrived and has been then ideal host throughout our stay and always cheerful.
There was always a plentiful supply of good quality food for breakfast. The homely atmosphere was added to by the availability of the kitchen for cups of tea in the evening. There was also the free availability of cycles and beach umbrellas.
We have had a marvelous holiday and would recommend Villa Casanova highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at Villa Casanova and didn't want to leave! The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room although small (we had an attic room) was very comfortable and clean, the location is brilliant - 5 minutes from the water bus station and main strip down to the beach. Our favourite part though was the breakfast! My boyfriend isn't a coffee drinker but he has now been converted thanks to Alessandro's cafe latte's! There was also juice, pastries, cereals, bread, prosciutto, mozzarella cheese and tomatoes - all fresh! :)

Will be recommending this place to anyone I know who is planning a trip to Venice.

The Lido also gives you the best of both worlds with Venice on your doorstep (15 minutes water bus) plus the glorious beach if you fancy a day sunbathing after walking around busy Venice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The attic rooms are just lovely with delightful, rustic decor, TV and aircon. There is plenty of space in the bathroom and a lovely powerful shower. The breakfasts were superb before but somehow Allesandro has managed to make them even better. My friend and I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else, especially after we had to have one night elsewhere 4 years ago thanks to air traffic controllers striking! On that occasion Allesandro found us a room when he had no space left so we really do have something to compare his quality to. This 'other' hotel was supposed to be better than Villa Casanova but believe me, it most certainly was not. As I say above, this was our 4th stay in Villa Casanova and it really is like coming home, so friendly and easy to stay in. The location of the villa to the vaparetto couldn't be better, being only about a 3 min walk away, but the villa is in a lovely quiet street. It was a really good day when we chose this as a place to stay and we recommend it to anyone we know who is talking of going to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

clean and neat rooms and very good breakfast. Alessandro is a very nice person ready to help at all times. He even arranged to pack a couple of personal stuff forgotten while we checked out and send them to our address! Thanks Alessandro, we had a wonderful time and will definitely book with you next time around.

Room Tip: any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked ourselves a 3-night stay at Villa Casanova on the island of Lido, for two couples.
Lido is an hour or so boat ride from Marco Polo airport and the return tickets cost €27 each.
We went with another couple (age range from 47-60!). It was friends of friends who had actually recommended this hotel to us and it turned out to be excellent advice.
You're far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle (and expense!) of staying in one of the city hotels (unless that's what you want of course!), but only a 20min ride on a vaporetti from Lido to San Marco. We bought ourselves 72hr travel passes (€35 each) and these were well worth it (€7 pp per trip otherwise).
Our host was Alessandro and I can't rate him highly enough as a hotelier. He has the knack of pitching himself just right, i.e. friendly but efficient, knowledgeable but not pushy, etc.. Great chap.
I asked Alessandro if he could recommend a particular Gondola route, which he did and it was spot on (depart just below Rialto). Some of the best advice for the trip came from the Gondolier, who said that the best way to explore Venice is to simply "walk lost". Couldn't put it better myself.
We went to all the obvious sites and it's all subjective so I'll not cover that here, other than to say that we went up the Campanile of San Giorgio di Maggiore instead of the one in St Mark's Sq, as you supposedly get a better perspective of Venice; we were very lucky with the weather and the view was indeed spectacular. Recommended. (€6 each).
It was our first visit to Italy and we were taken by the friendly nature of the people we encountered.
All in all a great trip, the foundation of which was our base at Villa Casanova - so a big thanks again to Alessandro. The only reason I knocked a mark off for the room was that we didn't have any tea or coffee making facilities, but for all I know that may be standard for Venice. Anyway it's a minor issue.
Could go on and on about all sorts of things, but my advice would be - JUST GO!
(By the way - take plenty of money - Venice is Expensive! Particularly for eating out during the evening....).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casanova

Address: Via Orso Partecipazio, 9, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Casanova Hotel Venice
Villa Casanova Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Casanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.