We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, lovely staff and fantastic breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Pannonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Pannonia to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Pannonia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Doge Domenico Michiel 48, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect hotel, lovely staff and fantastic breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I travelled to Venice with my boyfriend on 2-5 April and we decided to stay on Lido after reading that it was quite hectic in Venice and Lido was a nice retreat. Also Lido was supposed to be cheaper for food etc.

We landed in Treviso and found it really easy to get our bus ticket for the ATVO bus which took you straight to the Piazzle Roma where you can pretty much get a boat anywhere in Venice. We'd bought a pass for 33 Euro for 3 days from Venice Connected and I can't recommend this enough. Them money you will save is astounding.

We hopped on the Number 1 which was quite a slow ride if you're wanting to get to Lido fast but it goes down the Grand Canal so you get to see the best bits of Venice.

About 40mins later we got to Lido. As soon as you leave the vaparetto station go straight up the main street that you'll see infront of you, keep on the right hand pavement and walk up the road until you get to a very large, beautiful hotel with all kinds of artwork on it. Turn right at that hotel then left and you will see the Hotel Villa Pannonia on the right hand side.

Check in was very swift, the lady on reception was absolutely lovely and spoke English very well! The rooms were a perfect size for the 2 of us and the bathroom was lovely! The shower was the best I've used in Europe and only coming second to a shower in Lake Tahoe.

We arrived around lunchtime so decided to explore the island. We walked for ages and got a bit lost but it was all part of the fun and we easily found our way back to the front of the island again. I'd recommend going for a leisurely stroll, it's a much cleaner place to 'get lost' than Venice in my opinion.

The food was a LOT cheaper than Venice and was lovely. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the Pizzeria's on the main street are the best!

Venice is definitely a place to see but be cautious, unless of course you're prepared from previous trips, to pay over the odds at a lot of places. We went for a drink and pizza at a cafe on the front and ended up paying 43 Euros for 2 mini pizzas, a beer and a campari cocktail. Luckily we just found it funny but my boyfriend drew the line at sitting in St Mark's Square and paying 8 Euros 80c for a bottle of water plus 6 Euros each for the music cover charge!

The Villa Pannonia was an excellent base for our stay, yes the breakfast was the same everyday but the selection was so varied you could stay a full week and not repeat yourself! I had croissants, proscuitto, ham and cheese with a glass of orange and a cup of green tea everyday. They had yoghurts, cereal, fruit, crackers, bread rools, Philly Cheese, Nutella, Honey, Jam, the list goes on! It filled us both until past lunchtime each day.

On the last night we had dinner on Lido and the weather took an awful turn and started to thunder, lighten and rain so we retreated back to the hotel bar and we wished we'd done this every night. The lady on reception was so accomodating, explained to me what a Spritz was and when the barman left she even came and poured more drinks for us and topped up our bar snacks.

And added bonus, the wifi, although I receievd a username and password on a piece of paper saying it would be 20 euros for 24 hours (broken down not just 1 day), was free!

I cannot recommend this hotel or compliment their staff enough. If we come back to Venice we will be sure to stay on Lido and return to the Hotel Villa Pannonia. I know this is a very long review but I had so many nice things to say!

Room Tip: The hotel bar is perfect on a night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    61
    19
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
92
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Venice is busy, crowded, and very happening. To sleep in a hotel *in* Venice would be challenging, I'm sure, not to mention expensive. Venice is more expensive than Florence. Also, the more tourist centric a city, the less hygiene is followed in hotels. Fact.

Lido is a 20 minutes ferry ride away from Venice. The ferry stops a 5 to 10 minutes walk away from Hotel Pannonia. The hotel is lovely. Lido is quieter and cleaner, and also very lovely. The hotel rooms are very modern and clean with lots of space, the bathroom has a clean shower (no tub, hurrah! [do you want to lie in a tub a million strangers before you have shared?]) and nice soaps etc. Overall, the hotel is perfect. The staff was very very friendly and sweet to us. The breakfast was in a big room and full of people in the morning (evidently, despite seemingly quiet and exclusive, the hotel is quite popular). We were received at check-in by a very sweet lady and an adorable young man who were incredibly helpful with what to do in Venice, the ferry ride, etc.

My only concern in hotels, no matter how perfect and charming, is hygiene. We were on a Europe trip and in every hotel we stayed in, the bedsheets had evidence of not being 100% clean. In Pannonia, there was small hair on the sheets. However, you can stay in a palace that is also a hotel, and you will encounter the same issue. Perhaps housekeeping in Europe is not paid or trained well? I recommend taking 1 bedsheet with you to lie / sleep on.

Room Tip: Ask for big bathroom. Emphasize on cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

My husband and I spent our last 2 nights in Italy (of an 8 day trip) at Villa Pannonia. It was so refreshing to stay in a modern, clean, and spa-like hotel. Our room was on the attic floor, which was about average size with a soft and cushy bed. The bathroom, however was quite spacious with a shower that was like heaven compared to the other hotels on our trip. The breakfast was wonderful with fresh pastries, meats, cheeses, and an assortment of juices.

The location is on the island of Lido, which is only a 10 minute boat ride to St. Mark's Square. When we arrived at the train station in Venice, we immediately boarded the #1 vaparetto and toured the Grand Canal. Lido is the last stop from this boat and from the dock, it was less than a
5 minute walk to the hotel. It was very easy to find.

While people may be hesitant to stay away from the main tourist attractions, don't be because the crowds in main Venice were unbearable. It was great to see the sites, return to Lido, and then return back to St. Mark's Square for dinner after the day trippers have left. Lido was great to hang out in and of itself. The hotel is located near a pedestrian area with shops, bars, cafes, and also the beach. We spent 2 nights at Villa Pannonia and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

First time to Venice, which probably accounts for the fact that i booked something on the Lido as opposed to Venice itself. The Lido is across the water - a further 10 mins by boat than Venice itself. Its a quiet largey residential suburb, as opposed to venice itself which is thrumming with activity. character and things to do. People retire to the Lido which says a lot. On the other hand, its yes quiet, quite convenient and not at all disagreeable if you need to get a nights sleep etc. As for the Hotel it is tucked away off the main road, again guaranteeing quiet. On entering one imagines one has been catapultued into something that looks like a set for Woody Allen's Sleeper and a neo-modernist reprise of Art Deco. Its rather peculiar: white and black with strange ambient lighting. If you have come for Olde Venice, then this is not for you. On the other hand the rooms are gigantic - mine must have been 30 square metres. It was impeccable, though continued the extraordinaryily modernist decor. Best of all is the bathroom. If life is impoverished without a real power shower, then this is the place to stay. All completely refurbished, sparkling clean and highly agreeable. Breakfast is a slightly perfunctory affair. While they have a fantastic looking barista machine coffee actually comes out of a little turgid electronic number. there are croissants etc, but nothing much to write home about. Service? Friendly enough, without being obsequious or intrusive. They are there if you need them. all in all? functional, business like, efficient. Not enough perhaps for those in search of charm, ambience and character - but enough for the budget business travellor for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We have nothing but praise for this little gem of a hotel. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Our room was spacious and modern. The shower was a little tricky but we fiqured it out. Breakfast was adequate - maybe a little more attention could be directed towards a variation of the selections.
Do not stay in Venice if you don't have to. Lido is quiet, relaxing and has a wonderful feel about it. Swim in the Adriatic Sea like the locals, eat in a outdoor cafe, watch street performers, and best of all indulge in gelato. Your Euro/dollar will go futher in Lido.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

As my first time in Venice, I wasn't aware that Venice is formed by several islands, and that the main one, is the one that everybody knows. When I booked this hotel, I choose it mainly because it was one of the few that could accommodate my family of four in one room, and because it looked nice and had good reviews. Well, to my surprise, Lido is so beautiful, that we almost didn't want to go to the main island. We had a great time there, the hotel is charming, it is a remodeled summer house of a noble European family, it has a combination of old world charm with contemporary touches. We were given an "attic" room that was spacious and clean, the bathroom was not huge but ok, very nice gardens, breakfast was standard, and good service. Overall we had a very good experience. But the great thing is Lido itself. It has a nice beach, you can rent bikes and ride around town, lots of restaurants and cafes, beautiful gardens, this place is worth staying here, so you can "visit" Venice and go back to your hotel in Lido to rest and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

All the people in the frontdesk are great, and the manager is a nice and helpful lady. The room is very comfortable, and the bathroom is spotless. Even the free shampoo is quite good. The lobby for breakfast is well-decorated, elegant and artistic. During our stay there was a gallery exhibition in the lobby, although we missed it but it should be quite nice. However, besides all the facilities, what was best was its crew, they couldn't be more helpful to us! I will definitely recommend this hotel. Yet it would have been even better if it had free internet connection within the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Pannonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Pannonia

Address: Via Doge Domenico Michiel 48, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#6 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Pannonia 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditions and modernity harmonise in Hotel Villa Pannonia, Venice Lido Italy; the classic setting enhances the innovation and design which abounds in the avant-garde atmosphere, furniture and objects have been created by famous designers.Within the hotel, a continuous and stimulating art exhibition has been dedicated to contemporary artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Pannonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pannonia Hotel Venice
Hotel Villa Pannonia Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Pannonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.