We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming gem in a small town setting, 100m from the beach, close to Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quattro Fontane Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quattro Fontane Hotel to your Saves list
Quattro Fontane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Quattro Fontane 16, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A charming gem in a small town setting, 100m from the beach, close to Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

The location of this hotel allows you to have both a beach holiday - a clear warm sea and freshly raked sand every morning, free showers and great food at the beach - and a classic Venetian holiday - combined. The beach is featured in 'Death in Venice'. We ate at the hotel each evening, and the food and service was wonderful - remember to leave room for dessert! All meals are served in the garden if you wish and the weather is good, but beware the biting, but otherwise harmless, mosquitoes. The hotel is filled with eccentric artefacts which add to its charm.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    13
    9
    1
See reviews for
23
63
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

This old hotel is an anachronism living on past glory. It is internally spotlessly clean and filled with antiques and old artifacts . The two buildings that make up the hotel are incongruous together. The main building looks like a Swiss/ German Chalet hotel that you see in the Alps. The other more modern Finnish construction is peculiar with weird staircases and shaped windows that I found very ugly. There is no elevator.
The bath in our annexe bedroom was extremely narrow and worn with a very rough enamel surface. The surrounding area had worn paint work that needed a make over. A flexible shower hose was connected but it was impossible to have a stand up shower as there wasn't a shower enclosure.
Although clean the premises was tired looking and the gardens were very overgrown and untidy allowing insects to thrive and bite!
The menu is frightfully expensive and very limited as is the charge to use the beach. 71 Euro per day for a cabin and chairs is absolute extortion ,especially on top of the substantial charge for staying in the Quattro Fontane . We ate once in the restaurant on arrival and were served by an extremely old waiter who literally chucked the cutlery and napkins in front of us. The service took forever.
Please note that the Lido's greatest asset is the shell beaches. They are a complete disgrace and very dangerous, littered with great heaps of wooden flotsum and industrial detritus swept in from the sea. Huge whole trees had been washed up and were either teathered to poles in the water or left on the water margin. I have only ever seen such a mess on one other beach in Mexico. The shoreline on the Lido is highly dangerous especially for young children. Considering the status of this island it is unacceptable that it should be kept in this condition. It is also a very big insult to tourists who have an expectation of staying somewhere lovely

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I recently stayed at Quattro Fontane with my family, this was our first trip to Italy! This hotel gives you a true feeling of being in Venice. Although the hotel is a little bit away from the main island in Venice, the service and surrounding was amazing. Each morning we would wake up to the breeze of the tree's in our window, we had a beautiful courtyard view. The breakfast was very fun and unique with the delicious homemade milk chocolate/hot chocolate, fresh cheese, fruits and bread. The service was amazing at the hotel, the staff always wanted to help us. Massimo and the front desk attendant were always so accomodating and suggesting things for us to do being it was our first time in Venice. The only thing that I would change would be to have a shower curtain for our shower. This will always be a very memorable trip thanks to this hotel and my surprise engagement!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed in the family suite and thought this hotel was great. Rooms were large and clean. The hotel staff were very friendly, spoke very good english and were professional but relaxed. There are buses every 10 minutes on the main road which take you the vaporetto stop and from there you can hop on the boat to Venice. There are no kettles in the rooms so bring your own if you want to make a cup of tea. Perhaps the best feature is the large garden where you can eat breakfast or have a drink in the shade. Breakfast includes bacon and eggs so you can fuel up.

Deserves it's four stars, not the cheapest but you have to pay for quality. Also it's much better to stay on Lido than Venice; it's more spacious, greener, quieter and only 15mins away on the vaporetto.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

firstly i have to say that, the holiday in lido was one of my best summer holidays. if you are looking for a peaceful and quiet time to relax lido could be a choice. albergo quattro fontane is a really cute and beautiful hotel. i loved the atmosfair, food and room. breakfast in garden was really nice and all staff were really friendly. another good thing is many of them could speak english well so we didnt have any problem in communication. plus we got some tip on how to travel around and renting cabana.(there were really nice beach cabanas:) ) also hotel has boats to near islands like murano-burano. that hotel would be a great choice for lovers, married couples, families with children. but im not sure for families with a teenager. teens may get bored. to sum up if you want to have a relaxing and romantic beach holiday in a great island near a perfect historical place like venice albergo quattro fontane could be a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Stayed here as part of a tour group and was my favourite hotel of the tour. The ambience is truly old school charm with vintage decor throughout the hotel (note: no lifts). As I was travelling alone I stayed in a single room which was adequately spacious, complete with a balcony overlooking the gardens. Service was personal and warm; staff are extremely accommodating eventhough we were part of a tour group. There is wifi throughout the hotel for a competitive fee and I would recommend spending some time in the lovely recreation/library with a cup of tea (which is served on a lovely tray with complimentary cookies!). The hotel is an easy walk to the pier from which you can catch a vaporetto to Venice. Alternatively there is a bus (C) which stops somewhat close by. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

A perfect location for visiting Venice with children. The rooms were very good (we stayed in adjoining rooms on the top floor) and the service excellent with very friendly and helpful staff. The Water Bus to St marks square is only 50m away and provides a fabntastic view of Venice - the route is a bit of a 'branch line' so never busy (Beeching would have axed it years ago!).

We were able to visit Venice by day and retreat to the Lido in the mid afternoon to spend some time on the beach (a very short walk from the hotel). Go on the hotel arranged trip to the glass factory - it is the cheapest way to get the kids a ride on a water taxi at speed!

The only down side is that the restaurant is very expensive (even though very good). better to walk into the centre of the Lido and eat at one of the restaurants there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quattro Fontane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quattro Fontane Hotel

Address: Via Quattro Fontane 16, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quattro Fontane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in a countryhouse villa amidst lovely gardens with restaurant offering outdoor dining; located one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quattro Fontane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quattro Fontane
Albergo Quattro Fontane
Quattro Fontane Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quattro Fontane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.