We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Marconi, 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Opulence at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This is simply MAGNIFICENT
The Lido location is superb...quiet and discreet
Wonderful Venetian architecture and the rooms are like something out of a Moroccan movie.
Speaking of rooms.....they are HUGE !!!!!!!
The "wait staff" are extremely attentive and professional and all the amenities and facilities are "par excellence" extremely attentive, but then when you are staying at a "top flight" hotel in a location such as the Lido.......I would expect nothing less.
The "shuttle service" across to Piazza San Marco is a highlight in itself.
The whole place is opulent, romantic, magical, unforgettable...
This is a MUST on your European holiday planner

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the sea....but then any room within this Magnificent Property would be excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    139
    74
    42
    21
See reviews for
78
245
4
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised how beautiful the hotel was. We read some negative reviews and was worried about the hotel that our cruiseline booked us in. No worries as our room was an extra large room at the long of a long hallway on the 1st floor. We had an ocean/beach view from our balcony. Our room must have been an upgrade since we had 2 sofas and a dining table too. The bathroom was very large and there were many closets.

We checked in a quickly took the next hotel shuttle to San Marco square. The shuttle was a very nice ride and we were happy being away from the many tourists and tour groups in the center of Venice. We walked around, took pictures and had dinner in Venice. Was a nice evening.

The next morning, we had breakfast at the hotel ( was inclusive of our arrangements) and it was a very large and plentiful feast. If you didn't find something to eat, I'd be very surprised.

The only negative that we had was we wished we had come in at least another day earlier so that we could have enjoyed Venice more.

Room Tip: We just assumed that the shuttle ran on the half hour back, but didn't realized they have a dinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My wife and I got married at the Excelsior this summer in the Stucchi Ballroom and it exceeded our expectations. From the elegant look of the ballroom and how they'd set it up, to the sumptuous spread that the chef had laid out to the impeccable service provided, they delivered on all fronts and we would highly recommend it again. The rooms have been re-done and are comfortable, if a bit old-fashioned - eg not having standard plug points. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the staff were friendly and discreet as you would expect in a hotel of this caliber.
We also liked the Lido location away from the madness of St Marks Square, which other reviewers have noted as well.

Tip: Try Valentino restaurant for a quality dinner in a family-run place within 10 min walk from the hotel.

All in all, thanks to the entire Excelsior staff for making our wedding such a special and memorable occasion!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This classical Belle Epoque style hotel was opened in 1908. Its style and luxury is still a valid one, if you like this kind of hotels. Breakfast is very nice, at the same level as the sea. The upper level you have a terrace with sea view, with good choice of wines. Rooms are big enough and with perfect accessories, with Salvatore Ferragamo „Tuscan set” in the bathroom. Room service is excellent, they have everything you need, tooth kit or shaver kit including. One of the best thing of the hotel is its own taxi service to the town, you have every hour a boat to the town and the last is at midnight for coming back. You can rely on this service, very comfortable. Churchill was also a guest in this hotel several times. he met in this hotel with Orson Welles in 1949....Also, Callas liked this hotel....

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here in October. The shuttle service to St Marks Square was a big plus and I wouldn't stay here without it - it would be a tricky or expensive journey to the centre of Venice out of season otherwise.
The room was large and comfortable, the bed was super king size and nice and firm. The bathroom felt a little bit dated but didn't detract from the overall experience.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice including gluten-free options, and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
The room service and restaurant are very expensive, even for Venice, but there is a nice restaurant about 1 min walk from the hotel so use that instead.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was nice to get out of the chaos of the centre of Venice and to have a bit more space to enjoy the weather and the views.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

4 night trip with kids over half term. Chose The Lido as an alternative to being in the heart of Venice. Suited kids as Sightseeing in mornings and swimming in the huge heated hotel pool in the afternoon. Hotel staff extremely helpful and accommodating. Shuttle boat to Venice every hour so need to keep an eye on the clock but very quick shuttle. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Excelsior hotel for 4 nights. Everything about the hotel was top notch, and I really enjoyed staying on Lido away from the crowds. The complimentary water taxi couldn't have been any more convenient, and we felt it was really one of the key benefits of the hotel. Breakfast spread was awesome.

Apparently we were there during an unusual hot and humid period during the fall, and the mosquitos became quite bad again. We spent the extra $ to be on the top floor with a balcony, but were sad to learn that opening the door let in mosquitos that kept us up for hours the first two nights. We had many friends staying with us for an event that were just as surprised as we were. Apparently the air conditioning was turned off for the winter, so no one could open the windows to get fresh air without getting eaten alive during the night--buzzing in your ear as soon as the lights went off!

I would recommend that you ask about the mosquito situation when checking in (before you open the windows!), and that the hotel invest in either mosquito netting or screens. This would have made our experience more deserving of 5 stars.

Room Tip: If it is high mosquito season, skip the room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Lungomare Marconi, 41, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Venice Lido beach, the Hotel Excelsior is a masterpiece of Venetian architecture dating back to the early 1900. An exclusive 5 star Deluxe Resort, of Moorish style and recalling a fabulous Venetian Renaissance palace, the Hotel Excelsior is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways, conferences or special events in Venice.Stunning halls overlooking the sea, highly creative, contemporary Italian cuisine and competent, skilled staff, become ingredients of the hotel’s recognition and awareness among the best wedding and special events locations. Welcome to the Hotel Excelsior, for more than one century the best match of luxury, history, tradition with comfort and service, carefully built around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Excelsior Venice Lido Hotel
Westin Venice
Venice Westin
Hotel Excelsior Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.